We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Avalon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #41 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Warm welcome, lovely cooked breakfast, clean room, just minutes walk from town centre, plenty to do in and around newquay. Have been four times and will be back again this year!

Room Tip: We like the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 540Helen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is our second year staying at the avalon guest house , we will also be returning next year, we as a family loved it, its very clean and rick and jan are very friendly the cooked breakfast is excellent . It is in a great location for Newquay's attractions and beaches. The small car park is very useful and saves a lot of parking fees. Jan and rick have a very realxed and flexible approach to their guests, and make you feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My parents, from Malaysia, were back in the UK for the first time in 30 years and we took them to this wonderful guesthouse. The owners were so accommodating and nice (providing my Dad with a teapot for his daily chinese tea!). The rooms were very nice and spacious, all with a flat screen tv which has all the digital tv channels and the ensuite bathrooms were a good size too (be sure to ask for the room with the balcony facing the front!) The hotel is on the quiet part of Newquay but literally is 5 mins walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the bars and 'happening' areas of Newquay town. Bonus was there is space for parking in front of the Hotel (But be sure to let the owners know your travelling by car and need parking when your booking your rooms!)

All in all a lovely holiday with the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarylCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Mt friend and I stayed here over the weekend and it was absolutely perfect. We had a lovely double room with flat screen television and a big ensuite bathroom. The location is brilliant - it's at the nice quiet end of town but only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre. The beaches are on your doorstep. It has parking (brilliant considering how expensive it is to park in town) and the owners Jan and Rick are so lovely and friendly. It just feels like home. They have a lovely sunny breakfast room and we were served a full english breakfast each morning.

Really can't fault it at all, i would recommend it to anyone and definitely come back. Excellent value for money at a charming guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

If you are looking for good quality guest house accomodation in a central location for the beach, a short walk into Newquay, near the rail station and close a bus stop to many other parts of Cornwall then stay here. Good size rooms in a quiet street almost on to Tolcarne beach, great breakfast, clean bathroom and bedroom.
If you want to know where to visit (especially in London,hehehe) eateries etc then tourist information is available.............. seriously, a fine guest house to base a holiday in Newquay, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noggin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Myself and my husband have stayed here several times, we have had several different rooms and have never been disappointed. Jan and Rick are very friendly and always make us welcome. The breakfast is tasty and ample. I have in the past and would in the future recommend this guest house to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michden20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

lovely time spent with jan & rik made me feel very welcome. got the impression its more than just a job 2 them they love what they do & it shows cos they do it so well keep up the good work hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank busybee057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Harrington Guest House
Harrington Guest House
#35 of 105 in Newquay
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 4 Edgcumbe Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing