We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the stay!”
Review of Milber Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milber Guest House
Ranked #68 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friends and I stayed at Milber for 4 nights and were given a nice reception at first. The room was ok, except the sliding door to the extremely small en-suite didn't lock and you could see through a gap. The owner was a strange woman and seemed cold hearted. Breakfast was ok apart from being rushed in ordering and a very limited amount of choice. One morning we were offered a choice of cereal and I asked for muesli and got given rice crispies! My partner was offered full English and said no, and yet the owner said 'ok full English' and rushed into the kitchen to make it, I then had to go and pop my head into the kitchen and say that he didn't want it.
The towels were far too small and thin and we kept having to ask for clean ones each day ( surely if you have booked to stay for more than one night you should be given clean towels each day when the room is cleaned). I kept having to ask for more sachets of milk because given only a couple and we had to ask the owner to change our kettle because it stopped working!
Also didn't appreciate being told that our money was cheap people's money because it was given in 5vers. Moneys money when you are paying £100 for 4 nights per person.
I appreciate the rooms were resonable size and clean but the owner wasn't a nice person and always seemed to be in a rush and never asked us once how our stay was! Full English breakfast was very small and the pot of tea was only enough for 3 small cups ( there was 4 of us). I would not go here again, sorry Milber, very poor and disappointing stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin-Mysticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, your kettle broke but it was promptly replaced, The complementary tea tray was refreshed every day and more supplied when asked for. The towels were replaced when they were in the room, but as you took them to the beach along with the sheets off the bed we replaced them with older towels. We had complaints about you from other guests staying and it did cause an atmosphere when I told you about your unacceptable behaviour. Breakfast is a busy time but if I got your order wrong it would have been no trouble to correct that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Milber has everything you need and expect from a small b&b it clean and , breakfast was great. If you need anything just ask. It's location is great and we can't wait to return :) roz and James skinner. I'm also of the opinion that the bad reviews on here are from people with deloisons of grandger, Milber is a nice b&b resonibly priced and worth every penny. Thank you Susan :) see you this time next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselynsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your review Roz and James, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year!! sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Milber immensely. Everything including and especially the breakfast was very, very good. Brilliant location, lovely friendly people in the B&B, and a lovely room.
We will come again soon... and will recommend to anyone and everyone. Just a brilliant week thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your review so glad you had a great time and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Could not fault this guest house, the room was lovely very comfortable. The location was excellent so close to the town centre but far enough so you had a good nights sleep. The owner was lovely very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great too. Me and my partner loved it so much we are already talking about when we could come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckylouj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your review, your remarks are what make it all worth while. I hope you can get more time off soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Susan the guest house manager was very polite at first appearance but soon turned strange because she wanted our money straight away without seen the room .This has never happened before in b&bs .And now we know why ... What a small ,dull , porky room .The worst thing was the shared toilet next to my room . Will not return and not recommend , sorry Milber .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I am dissapointed at your comments, it isn't weird to ask for payment on arrival and is standard practice if you don't have the facility to take credit cards. If you had wanted to change rooms, it would have be possible. but you didn't ask. I don't know why the shared bathroom affected you as you had your own en-suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

a nice clean place to stay,good friendly bed and breakfast, owners friendly and really helpfull,.. breakfast was freshly cooked, and plenty of different options, and served at a reasonable time (between 8+9) .great location, ritght near main strip. only a five minute walk to all shops, pubs and restaraunts. a good, enjoyable three night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very clean rooms, Good breakfast and very nice owner. Great location, close to the town centre. We would recommend , just a shame about the weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALPATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, wish I could do something about the weather this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#53 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milber Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milber Guest House

Property: Milber Guest House
Address: 11 Mitchell Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milber is a small and freindly, licensened, 3star A.A.rated guest house in the centre of Newquay. All rooms have colour t.v. tea/coffee making, hair dryers. En-suites available. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milber Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milber Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing