We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommended,clean and comfortable”
Review of Milber Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milber Guest House
Ranked #61 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly reccommended,clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the accommodation was was very good, spotless throughout with comfortable beds and a great breakfast.

Perfect position

We will have no hesitation in returning again and certainly recommend friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We arrived for a 3 night stay but after 1 nigh we left. The room was very small but very dirty, it had obviously not had a thorough clean for a LONG time. When we complained to the owner she never apologised and did not seem very concerned. In addition the breakfast was awful and she brought us the wrong thiongs and was very displeased about changing them. We are retired and travel a lot and this is definitely the worst place we have ever stayed. To be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbeardow45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

we went there for 4 nights, to celebrate new year, room was reasonably clean, although the units were a bit dusty, the bathroom door obviously wasnt meant for that space as it was a sliding door, with gaps all the way round when you shut the door, The room was very small, I banged my leg trying to get round the bed, (I,m a size 12,and just under 5ft, )so I,m not a big lady.and I came home with a lovely black bruise on my leg from it.
The bed was very comfortable though, reasonably hard,ideal for my husband who has a bad back,
The lady who runs the guesthouse is pleasant enough. but at £240 for 4 nights, and quite a small breakfast, you think they could leave the heating on in the afternoon, it was 2 degrees outside.
we went back to the room,one afternoon as it was too cold to be outside, and our room was freezing cold, we stayed under the quilt fully dressed to stay warm, I,ve been to a few hotels and have NEVER needed to do that, our hands and faces were very cold, it was rediculous, and only 2 cartons of milk provided ,with 2 sachets of coffee, daily,we went and bought powdered milk,and a small jar of coffee.
will we go back, probably not, unfortunately, as it was an ideal location for the centre of Newquay.but it seems they want the money from you,and providing very little in return.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heatherp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milber, owner at Milber Guest House, responded to this review, 13 April 2009
We are always grateful for feed back and the comment about the door has been noted and rectified. Tea/coffee making facilities are free and always replenished, and more available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I stayed there just one night, but it was ok. The room was a little small like the ensuite bathroom, but it was clean even if the door didn't close properly and you can see inside between the slit of the door.

Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 105 in Newquay
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milber Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milber Guest House

Property: Milber Guest House
Address: 11 Mitchell Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milber is a small and freindly, licensened, 3star A.A.rated guest house in the centre of Newquay. All rooms have colour t.v. tea/coffee making, hair dryers. En-suites available. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Milber Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milber Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing