We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Hotel
Ranked #101 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

wouldnt stay here again, bedroom was a like charity shop furniture toom, nothing matched unconfortable bed, moldy windows really not nice. bathroom sink had a crack it in harbouring germs i can only guess. ramdom hooks on walls over bed but nothing hanging on them, hooks for tie backs for curtains but no tie backs!! only saw the owner the eveing we checked in, she wasnt even around in the morning for breakfast.

the breakfast was ment to be a continetal breakfast which to my knowledge means cereals,crossiants fresh fruit yoghurts and toast, this is not what we were greeted with had 3 choices of cereals which were in massive family size boxes value orange juice and apple juice and toast that was it!!!

hotel needs alot of work, owners seen more interested in running there bar than looking after the guests staying at there hotel. not quite sure why there have a bamboo bar doesnt really co inside with the surfing theme they have in games room

if we were checked in for longer than 3 night we would of found some where else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missymoouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    9
    15
    30
See reviews for
39
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I've been visiting Newquay for the last 8 years and keep returning to the surfside for its unrivalled location and friendly hosts. It's not The Ritz but you get what you pay for with clean, simple rooms and the owners Paul and Janine can't do enough for you. The beach is literally across the road and the outside decking is perfectly placed to watch the sun set over the sea, glass of wine in hand! The bar's been recently renovated, is family friendly and has one or two colourful local characters that will help make your stay that little bit special. I'm booked to go back in September, can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicksidwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Surfside Hotel, for a couple of days! Apart from the stunning views of Fistral Bay, this beachside hotel offers clean and cosy rooms combined with good food and warm and friendly service. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel highly and above all wouldnt hesitate to return for another visit very soon.!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinekriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Lovely friendly family run buisness, Amazing views from the conservatory overlooking Fistral Beach and the Golf Course, Food is good and rooms are bright and clean.. Its within walking distance to Newquay town which is a hub of activity. Thoroughly emjoyed my stay and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Front rooms have best view
See more room tips
Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank susdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Cleverly the owner takes the money when you arrive as the rooms are horrendous when you see them. Owner seems to believe the cliffhead beach location gives her the right to overcharge customers who have been used to better quality than Surfside offers. Reading other reviews we should have taken advice as Owner seems to charge people who arrive and leave immediately when they find it to be sub-standard. This Hotel is making a fortune from walk-offs with her No-Refund No Complaints Policy!

We politely asked owner if she could clean the windows as they were filthy and seaview couldnt be seen. She took the unprofessional standpoint of being moody & offended with our honesty.......this made us feel unwelcome in the bar & communal area and so we chose not to spend time at the hotel we spent nearly £200 at for 2 nights.

The windows werent cleaned for 24hrs and then they left our room windows open beside a rooftop window so anyone could have helped themselves to all our possessions. Rooms are basically decorated from a charity shop with scratchy artex walls and sink is in bedroom as you go in which you must squeeze by with your luggage. Ensuite is a cupboard and shower runs freezing/scalding which would be dangerous for people showering children.

Ruined our romantic holiday and was 30mins brisk walk from centre and not the 15mins stated online. Will never go back and would only recommend to teenagers who wont sleep much and have zero expectations!

Room Tip: Book another Hotel.....Best room was still basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSteveMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southfistral, Owner at Surfside Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
They also failed to mention they complained that the TV was broken until we pointed out it had been turned off stand by.
They also mentioned they did not like the short walk into town because they thought it was too far. " a brisk 30 min minute walk " we are less than 1km from town.
When it was mentioned to us that the window was dirty it was explained to them about strong winds and offered to clean them in the morning. Neither was I offended or moody.
The window was cleaned the following morning, if the wind is strong it causes sand to blast against the window we are a beach front hotel.
The shower is a mira 2 power shower which does not not run hot and cold as with all mira showers it is thermostatically controlled to stop it running too hot to stop it being dangerous.
There is an area in the room to leave luggage if you wish to leave it there.
At no point did anyone in the hotel make them feel unwelcome. We pride ourselves in making everybody welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Somerset, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I've stayed in a lot of chain hotels and so-called premier hotels and they've all become rather bland and homogenous - Surfside Hotel Newquay was such a change becuase it was friendly, relaxed and a little bit quirky ... and as for those views over Fistral Bay! My daughters and I booked a day before our 2 day stay and nothing was too much trouble for them at Surfside and it felt as if we were guests in someone else's home. That may not suit everyone but it was a delightful experience and we had a great time. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation - unless you like bland.

Room Tip: Also recommend the Indian Summer restaurant in New
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi-gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Found hotel when searching the internet, found this one which looked like it was in a great location and looked nice. We were very happy when we arrived, the location was perfect! THe hotel was very nice, clean and great owners who were very helpful and keen to give advice on places to go etc. Would definitely recommend and wold definitely visit again when we next venture this way. Thanks again Janine & Peter

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammyamfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel

Property: Surfside Hotel
Address: 12 Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay beachfront hotel with stunning views over Fistral Beach. Small family-run hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Surfside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing