We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Cornwall”
Review of Surfside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfside Hotel
Ranked #97 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
“Holiday in Cornwall”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Have just had a great few days at the hotel, Food good and plenty of it.
The hotel has stunning views over Fistral beach and the golf course
Staff are friendly and very accommodating,nothing is too much trouble.
The room was clean bright and tidy and the shower was a power shower.
A good base for seeing the sights of Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    9
    15
    30
See reviews for
39
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

decided to take my family for a last min holiday to newquay and found surfside hotel. must say it was FANTASTIC, amazing veiws, really friendley staff,we had a family room whitch was perfect for us, the food was of good quality, fresh, the veiws are to die for. And best of all for me a fully stocked bar!!! we have stayed if a few hotels in newquay but none as good as this. we are planing a trip back in september and wecant wait.

Room Tip: try to get a sea view room you cant beat the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Yes the location is very nice, however that is the only positive of this run-down, overpriced hotel. Very disappointed with room, basic mismatched furniture, small shower room with temperamental shower (hot? cold?) disgraceful breakfast, sold as continental??? cereal and toast!! The room and stairway smelled of something which I can't describe.
We have stayed at Hilton Hotels for the same price and the standards are just worlds apart. If you are thinking of staying in Newquay please look elesewhere, especially if you have children. I cannot rate this hotel at all.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank gls1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Such a pity that this little hotel is so run down as the location is right on the beach's edge.
Very tacky decor (nothing matched). Small rooms and very tight staircase. Showers trickled water. No ventilation in the rooms or the entire hotel. Breakfast very substandard; basically cereals!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachhunter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel after myself and 5 others decided to book a last minute trip to Newquay for New Years eve. I was slightly worried by the prevouis reviews so went with an open mind.

I was very pleased to say that it was cleaning and the reception and bar area has been done up with a modern come seaside touch and it was lovely all sitting in the bar with the log burner on before we went out. The views from this hotel are amazing and although like some of the prevouis reviews state some of the furniture in the bedrooms is slightly tried I could not fault the cleanliness of our room and bedding.

I would also like to thank the owner of the Surfside hotel as she was very welcoming. She also bought us extra cups to our room, arranged for an extra bed to be put in the room and called for a taxi for us both in the day and eveining. We also went to the bar in the evening and met a few of the locals who must also like it there and both owners were very polite and we all had a good time.

Thank you Surfside we will see you at Easter

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdev0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The hotel is in an amazing location on Fistral Beach, which is why it is such a shame the hotel was VERY SUBSTANDARD. The rooms were extremely tired looking, which we don't mind but the shower was like being sneezed on, very underpowered, and the handles were broken on it, making it very painful to turn the shower on and off, especially when wet. The door to the shower was so close to the wall that my boyfirnd trapped his fingers painfully between the wall and shower door. There was no soap supplied meaning you could not wash your hands after using the toilet without unpacking your own shower gel. The room smelt very musky but one of the windows was jammed shut so we couldn't air the room. The fan in the 'ensuite' toilet did not work. The 'continental breakfast' was nothing more than a joke, served begrudgingly by a very very surly woman who I assumed was the owner. There was a small selection of empty cereal boxes and the milk had not been refilled. I was snapped at when I asked for some toast. All in all I was very disappointed with this hotel, felt like a pain to the owners for being there and will not be returning. For the price I paid for the room I would expect much more, yes the view was amazing but i could have found hotels with equally amazing views who would have been glad to have us. Myself and my boyfriend have stayed in many hotels in many countries including cheap hostels and this was without a doubt the worse hotel I have stayed not to mention the most unwelcoming.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazzie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Trip to newquay with partner - i was expecting alot more than what i got for the 'reduced price' in september. This is not a hotel but a cheap surf lodge that is trying to be a hotel. It is over priced purely due to the location. The carpet in the room was disgusting, we could feel every spring in the mattress, the ensuite you could barely turn around in, the tiny cupboard in the bathroom fell off the wall, we opened the curtain and had the view of the hotel next door 3 metres away with a dead space in between. The curtains barely covered the windows. If we are paying so much for such a small room with appalling ensuite, why hasn't there been a lick of paint or a new carpet since the 70's???? Dirty woodchip wallpaper..... REALLY? I have stayed in better surf lodges in newquay for £12-15 four to eight yrs ago and one for 20 pound last year. Having paid £140 for 2 nights purely because we were shattered and not thinking straight we woke up, ate breakfast, asked for a refund (i regret only for the night we didn't stay) and then stayed in an actually hotel with sea views, amazing bar/brasserie, pool, sauna, gym, jacuzzi, an ensuite you could swing a cat in which was friendly, updated, spacious and only £10 dearer than the surfside and then we finally relaxed and enjoyed our trip to newquay. I would never recommend this 'hotel' to anyone but will absolutely be staying at the other gem i discovered which i just checked an is unbelievably slightly cheaper at present for a double room!!!!

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnstaple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel

Property: Surfside Hotel
Address: 12 Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay beachfront hotel with stunning views over Fistral Beach. Small family-run hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing