We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and location but CAUTION”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of AbreakAway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AbreakAway
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and location but CAUTION”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great staff and the manager was great,
Location was ideal for the group of lads I was with

However I want anyone planning on going here know that the rooms were ridden with bed bugs so until this issue has been resolved I was recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

PJ and Vanessa were both very welcoming when we arrived. Rooms weren't ready as we arrived early so they found a place for us to put our bags so we could take a look around the town. Our room was fairly spacious and more than big enough for the 6 of us. The space pods were a great place for young people (especially if you get to know the people in the other rooms). The location was second to none, a few minutes from the town centre, and a few more to the beach. PJ was the funniest guy and was always there to help - a true host. The staff I came across were also very friendly.

It was a little disappointing at the end as we were charged for a "missing" key, that we're adamant was handed in. In future I'd suggest that you get a receipt for the keys you hand in at the end.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanJames96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for young people looking for a good time. the staff are extremely competent and helpful, whilst also being relaxed and flexible. We broke the toilet seat one night and were not even charged as it was attributed to wear and tear. Our room was clean pleasant and spacious, the staff were always helpful and friendly whenever there was a problem. I would say that the staff are perfect at their job, and would recommend this hotel with all my heart and soul.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and around 30'of my friends rented out rooms in this hotel, and it was everything we needed, PJ was a real lovely guy who always had time to chat and recommend what to do in Newquay. The rooms were everything we needed, comfortable and well kept. Overall a fantastic week, and thankyou PJ!

Hope to return again one day!
T

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

An amazing weekend at Abreakaway with the Hen and her 10 chicks. Spacious rooms, comfy beds, spotlessly clean bedding and accommodation, en-suite shower rooms, fridge, microwave, kettle and mugs just some of the facilities provided. PJ and Vanessa were extremely accommodating, attending to our every need and were extremely knowledgeable about Newquay. Very convenient location with a short walk to shops, night life and beach :-)

This accommodation comes highly recommended and we will be back at Abreakaway next year on an annual girlie get together!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My 16 year old son and 5 of his mates have just returned from a long weekend break here. As parents sending there kids on there first holiday without us we were slightly worried. I rang several hotels in Newquay before deciding on this one. I picked purely on the conversation I had with PJ who put me at ease immediately. There was really no need to have any concerns as this accommodation was exceptionally well run. The boys were left to do there own thing but knew there was an adult to help if it was needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I'm pretty sure we will be rebooking for next year.
Thanks again PJ and Venessa

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My son and his 5 mates all being 16 had the time of there life they found the staff very helpful and nice and said that accommodation was just what they wanted and near to all the beaches . They are already planning there next visit so thank you to pj and Vanessa for making it so special for them

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh0060159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 73 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 73 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#2 of 73 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#7 of 73 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AbreakAway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AbreakAway

Property: AbreakAway
Address: 16 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AbreakAway 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic accommodation options for groups, singles, couples, families, students and young adults over 3 great locations in Newquay. Better value than most hotels and offering you more than our similarly priced competitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your AbreakAway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abreakaway Hotel Newquay
AbreakAway Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing