We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life of grime”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Smugglers Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smugglers Rest
Ranked #33 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Bargoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Life of grime”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at this guest house for a weekend and was bitterly disappointed, after reading good views on trip adviser, what we experienced could have been far from it. As soon as we arrived, we was summoned to the lounge, to which, we was given a lecture by the hotel owner, who was very partonising, with there being a group of young boys (aged 16/17) staying in the hotel, we was told to 'leave them alone' as if we was going to pester them and seeing as we was a large party, they were not of any interest to us. The room was drab and dirty and it was obvious that the room could have done with a clean by the layer of dust sitting on the mirror. There was a also a distinct smell of dog in the hall way, to which the owner stated that they had 3 dogs, this was not mentioned when booking. The smell hit you like a sledge hammer when you came through the front door.

After our lecture, we was given keys to the rooms, there was 2 rooms of 4 and a room of 6. There was no mention of any bunk beds in the hotel and seeing as 3 of our party was over the age of 70, we thought this was very unsuitable, luckily, no one had to clamber up to the top bunk due to a spare bed in their room, however, this is something that should have been mentioned when booking the accommodation. On closer inspection of our room, the bathroom was disgusting, the rim of the toilet was layered in a layer of grime, the unit had black marks on the top, there was a layer of dust on the hand towel rail, the grouting was grey and the towels were filthy, to which, we went out and bought cheap beach towels to use. Our room, had 4 beds in it, two beds and a set of bunk beds but the room was clearly too small for 4 of us as there was no room for us to get ready or even have a proper shower due to how small the shower was. luckily, we used one of the other showers in the other rooms. On the ceiling, there was cob webs, spiders and a huge water mark above the television.

The other room which was allocated was much the same, the bathroom was foul and covered and dirt and dust, the towels were disgusting and it wasn't until leaving morning that on one of the beds that we discovered a number of huge stains, if we had seen this upon arriving, we would not have slept in the bed. None of the bedding was ironed in any of the rooms and it wasn't even matching the colour on the wall or fittings, sounds picky but seeing as we'd paid a lot of money, you'd expect your bedding to be ironed.

In the third room, the bathroom was one of the worst, the grouting had been painted black to hide the dirt, the toilet brush had dried toilet roll and excrement visable to the eye as well as all the other problems mentioned above. One of the bedding had blood on it and the netting in the curtain was dangling on string. Frankly, the room was not suitable for 6 adults as there was only one shower and one toilet between 6.

In the breakfast room, the first morning, the smell of dog was so strong in the hallway it was unbearable on times, there was dead flies on the window sill which was enough to put you off your breakfast, the glasses weren't clean and we wiped all the cutlery with serviettes before using them. The breakfast was nothing special but when your feeling awful and need something greasy, it sufficed but even then, we was dabbing the egg to remove some excess grease as it was covered in fat. When leaving the breakfast room, we could see into the kitchen and there was more dirt evident.

We was given a pass code to open the security pad for coming into the guest house during the night, the one night, the lock wasn't even on and it was early in the mornings when we returned, this did not make us feel safe as we all had a lot of possessions with us and it was clear, any body could walk in to the guest house. The dogs were free to walk around the hall way which I thought was inappropriate especially if your not an animal lover, no matter how friendly the dogs are.

Overall, I would not recommend this guest house to anyone, it did not meet the standards expected or what we had paid for and it re-remarkably different to all the other reviews but I would never recommend it to anyone or make a return to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    13
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

20 girls on a hen do weekend....Ellen and John the owners were wonderful from the minute we arrived, to the minute we left. catering for the vegans and wheat free needs of our group, answering a thousand and one questions, serving up a feast of a breakfast in the morning and all with a smile? They have three dogs who are very friendly and will literally wag there tails off for a fuss. The b & b is perfectly central for all the shops and clubs, and is in a quiet road. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay, thanks to Ellen and John for being so accommodating for our hen do weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Just stayed at the guest for a short break very friendly owners who made me feel right at home. The rooms were nice and clean with plenty of space. I've stayed in guest houses before where the rooms are full of bunk beds. It was a pleasant surprise to find a guest that had less beds to actually give you room to move around. Breakfast was huge and really nicely cooked.
With everything being so close to the guest house, this place is real value for money.
Ill be booking a room here for my next visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostcogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Nice rooms, very clean. HUGE breakfast, and great customer service :-) Very close to the town, shopping, restaurants, bars and easy to find. Helpful hosts, who even put up with hen and stag do's!! Friendly and always willing to help and advise on the area. And 3 incredibly cute dogs live here :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Fantastic location walking distance to everything right in the centre of Newquay. The owners are so welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is great and the rooms are big and bright and the ones at the front have a view of the sea.
I would really recommend it if you are looking for a B&B in Newquay especially if you are organising a hen or stag party as John is so helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_sayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Wonderful place to stay, enjoyed it immensely.

Rooms were clean, very pleasant. Breakfast was tasty and filling, customer service was brilliant. literally 1 minute if not less to the town center and all the shops. supermarkets and restaurants neraby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrymagpie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

If you're looking for a really good bed and breakfast hotel in Newquay look no further than the Smugglers Rest on Seymour Avenue. The hotel is situated close to the centre of Newquay and is a good base to explore the town. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning is to die for; you have a choice of cereals, fruit juices and a full English breakfast to follow washed down with a choice of either tea or coffee. The hosts are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet, very friendly and approachable and always eager to help. The prices are extremely reasonable and represent great value for money. This is the first time I have stayed at the Smugglers Rest - it definitely won't be the last!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topdog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#44 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy Waves
Lazy Waves
#34 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Griffin
The Griffin
#28 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
AbreakAway
AbreakAway
#36 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Rest

Property: Smugglers Rest
Address: 1 Seymour Avenue, Newquay TR7 1BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run guest house sited in the centre of Newquay, minutes away from the clubs and beaches. All groups are catered for and cared for. Please feel free to mail or call any time as we are open all year round. Regards John & Ellen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing