We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time camper”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treloy Touring Park
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was the first time we had been camping and we were very apprehensive about it.
We arrived about 18.30ish and booking in was easy. The man on the quad then escorted us to our pitch. He told us it was a good spot and protected from wind. He was right.
The site was well cared for. There is a swimming pool and club on site and although they seemed well used, we never used them ourselves so I can not comment on these facilities.
The showers and toilet areas were clean and well maintained. Plenty of hot water. There is an indoor washing up area, which again is clean and well maintained. This is housed in the launderette area. Have pound coins and plenty of 20p if you use this facility. Also, there are 2 ironing boards and irons free to use in there aswell.
The shop has a few of the essentials but not overly stocked.
There is a café on site. The food is really good and reasonably priced aswell. The couple who run this facility are very nice people aswell.
Over all, I really enjoyed my first camping experience and will definitely be returning to this site again.
Be aware though, that you are close to the air-port and also I think there is an RAF base very close aswell.
Excellent position for commuting to Newquay (about 5mins drive away)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyT561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our stay in July was our first visit to Treloy for many years having had many happy stays at the site with our young family. I can say the site is better than ever; Richard the owner and his team have created a beautiful site. The pitches are generous in size, well turfed with fields divided by trees, flowers and bush borders maintained to a high standard. The toilets, showers and washing facilities were immaculate with loads of hot water all included in the very reasonable camp site fees.

We watched magnificent kestrels patrolling the woods at the site which form part of an interesting nature trail/dog walking area. Other facilities include swimming pool, children's play area and games room all are well kept.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and all in all first class would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ratso8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful touring park set just outside Newquay, near RAF St Mawgan (not that you would know). My partner and I stayed here for the bank holiday weekend in August with our friends and their 2 young boys and had a fab weekend! One of the few parks that wasn't taking advantage of people by charging a fortune for camping on the bank holiday weekend, very reasonable. Never had to queue for toilets or showers, or even for the washing up sinks :o) Lovely park and swimming pool on site and a good size bar too, providing daily entertainment for the children! Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked a week for a caravan pitch with electric hook up for a party of 3 adults, 1 child and an infant for 7 nights commencing 25thAugust, we were quoted a price of £167.00 which I found to be very reasonable and duly paid over the phone using card, although there is a £1.00 fee for paying in this manner which I thought was reasonable.
Finding the site is really easy and is very well sign posted from the main A road, on arrival checking in was seamless and we were guided to our pitch by Richard on his quad bike which we found really helpful, no blind trawling round a new campsite looking for your pitch number!! Richard even offered his help to get the caravan on the pitch which we declined but it was a nice touch.
The pitch itself was on “Squirrels” and was all grass and slightly sloping, it was easy to maneuverer the caravan onto and there was plenty of room to set up the awning and park the car alongside, electric hook up was within 10m and kicked out 16 Amps so no problem with power, all water and waste was close by and we were set up nicely with our first cuppa within an hour awning included!
The site itself is very well maintained and there are site staff constantly tending to their daily duties and everything is spick and span, there are plenty of facilities to keep most entertained, whether it be a nice quite night by the van chatting with new neighbours or having a sing song (If that’s your bag) at the karaoke in the club house!! There were a few bands etc. whilst we were there which were ok, nothing to knock your socks off just adequate. There were children’s entertainers too, I took my 5 year old Grand Daughter to see her very 1st Punch & Judy Show, she absolutely loved it, there was a little magic show to begin with by the same entertainer (Bit of a filler really) with some simple little tricks but the kids loved it, the Punch & Judy Show itself is a far cry from the ones I remember as a child and has gone VERY PC, then again I don’t suppose advocating beating your wife with a stick leaves a very good impression! However, what was put on show really worked with the kids and it went down a storm.
Sticking with the children theme the Play Parks were well used and our 5 year old and indeed our 20 month old had a lovely time and always wanted to be there! Splitting the park by age ranges really worked with the little one content to play in the sand were as the elder loved whizzing down the slide. We found all the facilities from the Club House to Swimming Pool and even the onsite Café to be very functional, clean, tidy and all the staff to be really friendly and helpful, never too busy for a bit of natter even if they were indeed busy.
The Toilets and Showers we found to be very clean, water to be warm and we never waited once to use them, although, admittedly we didn’t use them at peak morning time so can’t comment about that time.
The Park Wi-Fi system worked ok, a bit slow but adequate, it cost £12.00 for the week which I thought was ok, another nice touch is the Reception insist you go to your pitch to make sure you have a signal you are happy with before purchasing, which is opposed to how I have had it sold to me on previously where you can only use it in a “Hot Spot” or it has rubbish coverage and its like it or lump it. Well done Treloy!
The Park is situated quite close to Newquay Airport and indeed St Mawgan RAF Base but it really never bothered us, Newquay Airport certainly ain’t Heathrow!! We did see a bit of Helicopter action from the RAF Base but if anything I found it quite interesting! Nothing that is going to spoil your time, in regards to location it is central to LOADS of beaches and the town of Newquay itself whether by car or public transport there’s lots going on and we had many very enjoyable day out.
In summary we found the Park to be Lovely with lots of nice touches even the Chemical Disposal had a sanitary spray to cleanse your hands once you had finished which I have never come across before! I will wholeheartedly recommend this park for families with children, it’s not massive, so if you are used to a “Haven” type experience then this may not be your thing, however, if you appreciate fantastic customer service, a superb location, close to all that is great in Cornwall and fantastic value for money get yourself to Treloy, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our first time camping at this site & can recommend it very highly, the staff were friendly and helpfull, had good knowledge of the surrounding area, the pitches were flat, clean & well maintained. The toilets & shower block were modern and kept very clean & tidy. Nice to have a shop & cafe on site with the stuff you actually need. Catering mainly for families so no noisy groups. Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was our first time on the campsite and we absolutely loved it! The pitches are a good size with plenty of room, the toilets were clean and tidy all though the showers would be better not on a timer but they was nice and warm which is rare on most campsites Ive been to. The pool is nice but can get a bit crammed when the weathers nice which is understandable. The bar is good, get served really quick and the staff are polite, they have different things on each night but would be much better if there was more room as we struggled for seats if we didn't get there early. The shop is good and has all the handy little bits we needed while camping, and the cafe was the best bit of the holiday. The staff were great in there and the food was spot on!

We will definitely be going back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BGnandt94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for a week camping at the Treloy and thoroughly enjoyed it, pitch size was very good not crammed together ! It is very well looked after ! Amenities were more than adequate and toilet/shower blocks very clean ! My children loved the park ! The pool area was lovely and pool always warm (but we did have excellent weather) ! Entertainment was good but I felt there could be a bit more going on for the kids but that's my own personal opinion ! Over all this is a lovely well kept campsite and would return and recommend to friends/family

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmalou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.4 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloy Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloy Touring Park

Address: Trebarber Cross, Newquay TR8 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Treloy Touring Park Hotel Newquay
Treloy Touring Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing