We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Stop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfside Stop
Ranked #26 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Surfside Stop for 3 nights. The b&b is clean and comfortable and we had an ensuite room that looked out over the coast. Although check-in wasnt until mid-afternoon, Dan was very welcoming and allowed us access to our room from noon. The room was lovely and quiet so we never heard a peep from any of the other guests. Dan makes a mean cooked breakfast which we devoured to overcome our hangover each morning.

Surfside Stop is centrally located so it is perfect for the beach, pubs, shops, well everything that Newquay has to offer. It's easy to get to without driving through the town centre traffic and there was a car parking space with our name on it upon arrival.

We would look to stay at Surfside Stop if we go back next summer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights the minute we drove onto car park Dan came out to greet us and from then till we said goodbye was most helpful and friendly. Place is a short walk to Newquay town and harbour. Breakfast was GR8 and just a perfect to start the day.
Place was clean comfortable and hit all the right spots, a GR8 B+B at a GOOD price.
WILL stay their on our next holiday to Cornwall.

Room Tip: Book on their website and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this B & B. Made to feel really welcome from the word go. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and tidy with a wonderful sea view. Amenities were very close by with just a small walk down to the sea front. Would definately return and recommend this little Jewel. Thank you to all the staff for your hospitality. Simon & Michelle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here this weekend for two nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location literally right behind the main road where all the shops, restaurants, bars and beaches are. There isn't much parking space at the rear however there is plenty if you drive up past the side of the hotel towards the houses on a residential road.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming and made us feel comfortable and settled. Our room was lovely with a great en suite, it was very clean and comfortable and spacious for the two of us.
Included in our room price was breakfast which was also fantastic ! We chose to have a full English both mornings and it was served very promptly, piping hot and freshly cooked. There was also a selection of cereals and juice.
We intend to visit Newquay again in the near future and this will be our first port of call .
A Fantastic hotel, great service and great location .
Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were welcomed by the very friendly staff who were helpful, approachable and friendly at all times, despite being a hen party of varying ages it wasn't a problem. It was considerate when on the first morning they didn't have brown bread but made sure there was some served the following morning, the breakfast was needed and spot on.

If I was going to be fussy then the bedrooms need a freshen up but they were spotlessly clean and tidy. Although we only stayed 2 nights we even got clean towels on the second night.

Cheers, would come back if ever back in Newquay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

stopped for 2 nights. ....the room was fine had a shower, tv, tea tray. Ideal location for town and beach. Nice breakfast the full english was cooked to perfection. The owners we're very welcoming and helpful. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank samanda1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed as the group of girls, although a more mature member, What a lovely place to stay, Room clean very good quality bed linen, breakfast made to your preference nothing to much trouble, Owners went the extra mile to ensure my friend had a lovely birthday breakfast, decorated tables for us. I will definately return when next visiting the area. Rooms have tea and coffee making facility hair dryer ironing board on landing, even a nice touch soap and shower gel. Fantastic value for money. Thanks again for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 344sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregella Hotel Newquay
Tregella Hotel Newquay
#27 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#8 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Stop

Property: Surfside Stop
Address: 35 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Stop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Stop is in a central location. 2 Mins walk to the shops, bars, restaurants, clubs and pubs.Beaches, Towan, Great western ,and Tolcarne, are all within 3-5 minutes walking distance. FREE residents Car Park, and free street parking.All rooms en suite, some with great sea views.Safe Storage for Surf boards. Bicycles, gig oars and even canoes.Children of all ages are very welcome. Cots and high chairs provided.Open all year (excluding Christmas).No stag parties.Hen parties welcome by arrangement.The owners have more than 35 years experience in the hospitality trade and aim to make visitors feel very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Stop Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing