We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great site for you and a group of friends. Not for fussy people!”
Review of Rosecliston Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosecliston Park
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at rose cliston in august during the boardmasters festival. The site was perfect for us as its only two miles to newquay centre. We had the choice of this and smugglers which I have heard numerous bad things about. Had a bit of trouble booking the place as we booked for myself and partner i a camper van and another 8 people in tents. We were told that electric was fine for us and we would all be pitched together. However when my partner rang again just to confirm things they said it would be a problem and just made everything feel a big hassle to them. On arrival some members of staff seemed quite pushy and were very particular about how and where we pitched (we were all together and had electric in the end). It all seemed a bit serious but now I see that they need to be to keep a campsite aimed at groups undercontrol which it was!
The site has a convenient small shop witch sells quick take away food. The shop sells cheap supermarket food at massive prices though so beware.
The bar was good to have but it was empty....
Now the worst part.
The toilet block was absolutely awful at all times. For 2 whole days the sink in the men's was filled with sick! They stank and were never cleaned and there was rarely toilet paper.
The shower block was also very dirty. Mud and grass everywhere and in the cubicles there were empty beer cans haha. There is really no point going to this site unless you are group camping in my opinion as there are plenty of sites near by that far exceed this.
However for a good time with mates and if you don't mind roughing it a little bit in the toilets and showers then the site is overall a relaxed, convinient and good value for money campsite.
I will be back for boardmasters next year

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

August 2013 . Sons stag weekend . Group of 14 . What a blast . Good site with no negatives . Excelent pitch and good facilities . Shop and clubhouse good . Staff friendly and efficient . Mini bus a definate bonus . Yeah it has rules but no issues with any of them and 20p for 3 mins in shower is very doable . Wouldn't bring the other half or the kids as its aimed more at groups but wouldn't hesitate using it again . Well done Rosecliston as its a good en .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Wires66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed in August 2013. On arrival felt it was very efficient because staff were expecting us (a mixed group of young 20 year olds). Based on what I read on here I felt that this could pose as a problem but felt that the issues mentioned (rudeness, hostility ect) never showed up in the staff as they seemed welcoming and open. We were showed our pitch and everything around the site and I personally felt that if I had any questions I could ask them without hesitating. When pitching one of our tents tho a pole had broken and so some of us went to the shop on site to see if it was replaceable. The guy was very helpful and we were able to get a new one with no problems. Over the course of our stay we used the shop and the guy was extremely helpful and friendly, especially when it rained and one of tents leaked. The campsite was excellent when this happened offering us tents on loan for free!! Until we found a new one that was suitable. The bus driver as well always so happy couldn't do enough for you, and never once grumbled even when asked if he could pick me up from the docks in Newquay! Couldn't have asked for better service very helpful and friendly the whole time, even when big events like boardmasters was on. It could have been a nightmare then but we arrived the day it finished and only had that one night of drunk happy people on site (this was to be expected tho as your only young once!) Not sure what I was worrying about! Would defiantly go back and would really recommend it to young people in large mixed groups.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starhatt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

All the staff on this campsite was so friendly and helpful. This is the second year I have come back and have enjoyed it both times. The taxi service on site as well is very good! Nigel the driver deserves a medal! The only downside to this campsite was the showers which you have to pay 20p for 3 minutes. But overlooking that I would come here everytime I visit Newquay. Me and the girls have already said we plan to come back same time next year!
Thanks Rosecliston!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrixo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have camped at Rosecliston for a few years now and love it! The staff are extremely friendly and the atmosphere at the park is very laid back and relaxed. The shuttle bus is really cheap and will take you into Newquay at any time during the day (and till late at night!) The shop is very useful and you can get drinks and food on site which is great. The campsite is kept very tidy and there are a few facilities blocks which are always clean.
We have had many great holidays and surfing trips based at Rosecliston and look forward to coming again soon :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Don't be put off by the 'young groups' mentioned o the site. We have been a couple of times and had a great time. Good pitch, staff & great clubhouse. So you get a few late returners a little worse for wear....so what...the staff soon shut them up and we found it quite a giggle actually and it far out weighs the positives of the site. I am returning soon with my daughter as its the best place to camp near Newquay as far as we are concerned whether goups, couples or a couple of adults

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BONJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Went to Newquay on the August Bank holiday and satyed at Rose Cliston. It happened to be the worst weekend for weather. The staff there were so sweet and really nice. We popped out one day to visit St Ives, and when we came back we were flagged down by the manager explaining our tent had blown away.... But him and his team had caught it and re pegged for us and made sure all our belongings were safe.

Great place to stay if you are young and are up for fun. Great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Well its tent.... make sure you have a waterproof one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fannyanna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.0 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosecliston Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosecliston Park

Address: | Trevemper, Newquay TR8 5JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosecliston Park is an adult only campsite offering a unique type of outdoor accommodation. From rustic traditional camping, pre-pitched bell tents with electric, to our modern Carapod with all the creature comforts of a hotel room, we have a mix of options for your outdoor retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosecliston Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Rosecliston Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing