We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately in need of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avondale Guesthouse
Ranked #96 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Desperately in need of maintenance”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I recently visited Avondale and was disappointed to find this was a run down establishment in much need of some refurbishment. Whilst the general cleanliness of the room was ok the fixtures and fittings were in need of replacement as was the bed where the mattress was approximately 3 feet off the ground. It looked like a divan had been placed on already high bedframe and I can think of various family members who would have been unable to get in and out.

The grout in the shower was mouldy, and brass/gold plated taps and light fittings so tarnished they were green. The wall bracket holding the shower head in place. At some point this was chrome plated but this was peeling off and as with much of the room needed replacement. Finally, the towels we were provided were once white but now an off grey colour and washed far too many times. This is completely unacceptable and there is no excuse as towels are clearly something which can be replaced for little money or time/effort.

We stayed in Room 3 (family room with sea view although we requested a double from Expedia) and were informed that only one other couple was staying. As the hotel was near empty and we could have been given the best quality room Avondale had I can only presume the standard of this room was typical across the guesthouse.

As we were using this very much as a base only (we were out from approx. 9am - 10pm both days) and had paid in advance I chose not complain to the hotel owner. This was preferable to pointing out the failings of this hotel but it should be noted that I cannot comment on what remedial action would have been suggested.

Although a central location I would not recommend this guesthouse to others and do not feel this was value for money at £70 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Have stayed here a few times actualy over the years and would recommend it to anybody,It is situated just five minutes of the town centre,The owner can not do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable,The rooms are always very clean the room i had this time was number 7 which overlooked the town centre and beaches,The breakfasts are plentyful with enough orange juice that just keeps coming the owner always asks if there is anything you need wether we come with our familys or the usual lads holidays ( Stag Does ) he just lets you get on with things no bother all in all a really nice place to stay with off road parking round the back of the guest house park the car up and forget it.

Room Tip: Well i would say number 7 for the views nice to sit by the window with a cup of tea or coffee which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here in August. The owner was very helpful and we could use the free off- road parking provided. The property is easy to find but located on a fairly busy road on a steep hill. This means extra traffic noise as there are traffic lights at the end of the road. This means cars have to stop and then pull away up the hill. I would imagine this is only the case if you stay at the front of the guesthouse though. Bear in mind that this hill is steep if you are not that able bodied. Two doors along is a building that will be demolished and regenerated. This does not look nice but does not impact on your stay nor can the owner do anything about this.
Our room was small and in need of a refurb. The ceiling had been repaired badly after a water leak and not painted white. The cupboard over the stairs door had a big repair on it as it had been split before.
The biggest problem was that this room has a macerator. This particular one was extremely noisy. Every time it started working it made us jump. This means that during the night we could not flush the toilet as we would have woken the whole hotel up. There was at least one other room with a macerator as we could hear it.
The shower was electric and old but it did work. We had tea and coffee making facilities.
The breakfast was good. Good size portions. Fresh coffee, cereals marmalade and jam available. The owner even provided berries to sprinkle on your cereals should you so wish.
There were some other people at breakfast and they had been there a few days. Some had been there before.
We paid £70 for one night. I think that is a little much for our room but saying that, Newquay is a popular place and other establishments charge similar or more. There are budged places around but they specialize in providing a place to sleep for surfers on a budget.
To sum up a good place to stay if you do not insist on 5*.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter and probably will have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and really liked it. The guest house was full of antiques but very clean and tidy. We stayed in room 8 which was quite small for a double room but adequate. The bathroom was clean and although the shower area could do with refreshing was still in working order. The only 2 problems we had was 1. that there were pigeons nesting in the eaves of the roof next door and made a racket everytime they entered or left the nest and 2. the guesthouse is situated up quite a steep hill. All in all good location,owner was very friendly and the lady that served the breakfast was polite. Breakfast was very good with plenty of orange juice. Would recomment to friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panther14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot_Holtz, Owner at Avondale Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Just to say... the pigeons nesting in the eaves of the neighbour's property were indeed quite close to this bedroom's window. I have been asking the neighbour to seal off the hole, and I am pleased to report that he has now done so. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, despite this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Avondale was perfect for my extended get away to relax and write. I stayed 3 weeks & enjoyed the blustery cliff tops, white stretches of sandy beach of Newquay as well as the nearby towns of Mawgan Porth & St Ives where I went to The Tate and Barbara Hepworth sculpture garden. Cornwall is fantastic for creative inspiration & just to relax and unwind. My room at Avondale provided me a lovely view of the coastline, a comfortable bed with ensuite & tv. Elliot is very helpful & approachable & does everything he can to assist guests, from extra towels to local knowledge, he's your man!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaJaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

i realy like the avondale, its different, generally clean, comfy beds, good choice of breaksfast, elliot is very helpful and chatty, will be asking for the back bedroom next time thought as can be quite noisy on a sat night due t the clubbers coming home not quietly lol ,otherwise lovely stay and would def rate it , mrs g

Room Tip: prob not the fron room on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsg005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and two teenage sons spent 6 nights at Avondale and found it an excellent base to see the sites of Newquay and surrounding Cornwall. The breakfasts were excellent and were tailored to the different requirements of a hearty or healthy breakfast. and could be varied day to day. The mattresses were one of the most comfortable I've encoutered and even the seagulls had difficuly waking me. Elliiot our host gave sound advice as to the best places to eat for to meet the needs for what ever the day involved. He was also able to direct us to the quiter less touristy attractions around Newquay. Free access to Wi Fi pleased my two sons and the use of the television for entertainment also included a wide range of DVDs to borrow , the television also doubling up as a computer. The loungewre also had a variety of family freindly games (pass the bomb is highly recommended!). When we next go to Cornwall Avondale will be the first place we contact for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#8 of 37 in Newquay
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pengilley Guest House
Pengilley Guest House
#66 of 107 in Newquay
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#54 of 107 in Newquay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AbreakAway
AbreakAway
#61 of 78 in Newquay
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
the quies
the quies
#7 of 107 in Newquay
512 reviews
1.8 mi away
Porth Beach Hotel
Porth Beach Hotel
#29 of 107 in Newquay
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guesthouse

Property: Avondale Guesthouse
Address: 28 St. Georges Road, Newquay TR7 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avondale is an 8-bedroom guesthouse situated near the centre of Newquay. The town centre is a 4-minute walk away, and the beach within an 8-minute walk. Our facilities include a lounge-bar, plasma TV, PC/Internet, patio and car park. We offer 'Full English' and vegetarian breakfasts. Bedrooms are traditionally furnished, with TV/freeview. Most have sea-views and all but one have en-suites. A warm welcome and a friendly, relaxing atmosphere await you at the Avondale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avondale Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing