We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely mini-break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensalda Guest House

Pensalda Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensalda Guest House
Ranked #65 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely mini-break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a lovely couple of nights at Pensalda. Karen and John were really friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious! We could walk into town from the B&B in about ten minutes so it was very convenient, and the South West Coast Path is just up the road too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We found our greting fantastic, friendly and warm.
The rooms are very clean well layed out, comfortable bed and the breakfast each morning(bacon,egg, sausages, baked beans & toast) a great start to the day.
Could not have better hosts than John & Karen. Genuinely interested in our holiday.
The pre arrival detail was excellent.
Would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend the Pensalda Guest house to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rooms were immaculately clean and of a good size. Breakfast was good and of a high standard . Owners John and Karen were very welcoming and accommodating. On site parking was good and the Bed and Breakfast was only a few minutes from the town and beach, so a very good location for all amenities. I wish to highlight how immaculately clean this establishment was, John and Karen must work exceptionally hard to keep up such high standards. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Pensalda to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0wrinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

It was last minute booking for 3 days during Easter weekend. The owners are chatty, friendly but you need to stick to the timelines. Check in latest by 9 p.m and same English breakfast is served all days strictly between 8.15 - 9:00. The rooms are small but very clean though. You can't carry food inside your room, which makes sense but gives you less flexibility. Free wifi available. Can be a good last minute alternative. From this place you can drive down to all major tourist points of Cornwall in an hour.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mohanlath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

It is surprising that not many of the tourists who stayed in this place provided any review here, but there are plenty of good reviews on actual booking sites so anyone planning to stay at Newquay, this place is worth considering. We did have to pay 30% of the total bill as we were staying for five nights, but the payment process was smooth. The owners Karen and John are very amicable and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive there. After settling the balance amount, we were our room; we stayed in room 1 which is located on first floor, overlooking the back garden. The room is very nice and tastefully decorated and it also has en-suite shower and toilet. Note that the wifi access is given for a one off payment of £2, so in case you want wifi, it's better to ask for it when you arrive and settle the balance payment. The breakfast is served between 8:15 and 9:00 although you can sit in the dining area after 9:00. Although we did find the timing was a bit early, it worked out better for us, leaving the entire day for us to look around. We did like the breakfast times when all the guests have breakfast pretty much at the same time and it adds a personal touch to your stay chatting to people staying at the B&B. Once you specify what you are having at breakfast, you are served the same food and quantity during your stay, which is the only point they can improve upon by asking everyday after breakfast is finished. The rooms are tidied every day so after you come back, you'll always find that the bed is made and cups washed, rubbish cleared. The room has a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities as well. There are five parking spaces at the front of the house but there must be other places if there were more than 5 cars. It is not allowed to bring takeaway food inside the room which is quite understandable. The B&B is located at a convenient location, about 5 min walk from the coastline and about 1 mile from Newquay town centre. On al days we stayed there, we walked to Newquay. Also, the Porth beach is less than 5 mins away, which is an added advantage. To summarise, we definitely liked our stay in Pensalda and the company of the owners, and we will be going back there when we go back to Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepjuillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and we agree with previous reviews that it is a very clean B+B with comfy beds. However a few things made us feel uncomfortable. When we first arrived we were seen as an inconvenience as we arrived 30 mins early. At the 1st breakfast we were made to feel embarrassed for wearing our pyjamas. At the 2nd breakfast we arrived at 8.30 and were told there were no full English breakfasts available. Then on checkout day at 10.04 we had a knock on the door to make sure we were checking out. A more relaxed atmosphere would make this B+B more appealing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Willows1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
who knows uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Myself and my Fiancee stayed here for the weekend recently, the owners are both very pleasant.

Our room was quite small but fine for our short stay, the room was very clean and tidy with a modern wall mounted tv.The room also had tea and coffee facilities and a clean ensuite with shower.

The breakfast each morning was nice although not massive. You also have the option of extra toast and cereals which make up for this.

Location is about 20 mins walk from Newquay centre, this was fine for us as we dont mind walking and weather was great. Also a taxi was only £4 .

There is also free parking here.

All in all we had a nice stay and would definitely stay again and for the price we paid we got great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
4.0 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensalda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensalda Guest House

Property: Pensalda Guest House
Address: 98 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensalda Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Newquay’s main access roads, out of the hustle and bustle of the town centre yet close to Porth and Lusty Glaze beaches and within easy walking distance of Newquay town centre and all its amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pensalda Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing