We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best of the best!”
Review of Beaches at Newquay

Beaches at Newquay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaches at Newquay
Ranked #62 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easily the best of the best!”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Ok we are fussy, and to be honest quite picky when we want to be......however i have been blown away by "BEACHES". The reviews are right, this is one of the B&B that i have stayed in. Met late on a friday with a log fire and a smiling face, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We had booked a local resteraunt in the evening, and upon asking for a local taxi, the host kindly offered to run us to the resteraunt! The rooms are immaculate, comfy, stylish and so cosy. The best linen, and photos of the rooms do not do them justice......in short if its availible, book it! Breakfast all local & home made, if anything this place is too cheap............how anywhere else in Newquay competes i will never know.......thank you Kim.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Was down in Newquay for a golf/stag weekend and I didn't fancy staying in the hotel that many of the younger lads had chosen so decided to book Beaches

From the moment I arrived until the time that I checked out our hosts could not have tried harder to make our stay better.

From the immaculate bedrooms to the hearty breakfast as well as complimentery beverages and a free taxi service both nights into Newquay this was good old fashioned hospitality as it should be,but rarely find/receive when travelling in this country.

The difference in price to stay here against the hovel that many of our party stayed at was very very small and I would recommend this establishment without hesitation.

I travel extensively around the country/world and would say that their eagerness to make your stay perfect will ensure they stay at the top end of Boutique Bed & Breakfasts in Newquay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Beaches at Newquay, while walking the Coast of Cornwall Path. On our arrival we were met by our Host Kim, and welcomed into her home. What can I say..... We were treated like family. My wife and I were overwhelmed by her hospitality. Our room was fresh, clean, well decorated and spacious. Everyday Kim invites her guests down to her main living area for a glass of wine or a tea. We really enjoyed her company and had an opportunity to meet many of her other guests. Kim has a special sense of humour and there is nothing this lady will not do to make your visit memorable. We also met her husband/partner Dave and had the rare opportunity to go for dinner with them to one of their favourite restaurants. What a great time; definitely one of the most enjoyable evenings of our vacation.
Breakfast was first class with plenty of choices and excellent food. We loved this B&B and would go back again in a minute. Thanks and Cheers

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34961Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This was the second time that we have stayed at Beaches in Newquay and it was still as excellent as before. It was great to see Kim and Dave again and they were even more welcoming this time round - if that was possible!! Breakfast was up to its usual high standard and the rooms looked exactly the same, very clean and fresh.

Can't wait to stay again for a third time! and fourth!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnawalker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We arrived at "Beaches" to find a very warm welcome. We had never stayed at a 'Boutique Bed and Breakfast' before and we were very impressed. Our room was lovely. Kim and Dave, our hosts were such fun and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was delicious. We loved the fact that "Beaches" was in a nice quite area and the beautiful Fistral Beach was 'just over the road'. We will definately stay there again and next time we will take our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBevington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

You just can't give this place enough praise, my wife and I have stayed in plenty of B&B's in our time together but The Beaches is certainly number one. We stayed for four nights at the beginning of September and from the moment we met Kim and later Dave we felt like old friends, welcomed into their home.

Nothing at all was too much trouble, the room was spotlessly clean and very spacious, with an equally roomy and clean bathroom, the shower was fantastic! Breakfast was a relaxed and leisurely affair, cooked to order with some of the finest ingredients Cornwall has to offer and keeps you going until the late afternoon.

But it is the little extras and hospitality of Kim and Dave that really set this place apart. From the cup of tea the moment we arrived, the bottles of water in our room (replaced everyday), the advice of places to see, to the glass or two or three of wine before our nights out, even a lift to the restaurant. All these things made our holiday just that little more special. So much so that we are already planning our stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This was our second visit and nothing had changed. Kim was as ever very hospitable, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are huge and really keep you going all day. Both Kim and Dave are extremely pleasant people who make you feel very welcome, it’s a real shame when you have to go as you fell you are leaving a part of your family behind.

We flew into Newquay and took the bus into town which only takes around 15-20mins. If you are planning on using the bus I would recommend you purchase the cheaper day ticket which we were not aware of until we decided to venture out later on the same the day and had to pay another £6 or £7 for a return trip to Padstow whereas, the all day unlimited travel ticket was only £7 per day which covers the whole area.

If you are stuck for places to visit or eat just ask as both Kim and Dave have great local knowledge and can point in you the right direction, too be honest every place they have recommended we were not disappointed with.

We attended the annual fish festival held in Newquay Harbour as recommended by Kim on our last visit, it was good fun. There are many places to visit around this coast; Padstow is just a few miles away which is well worth a visit especially if you are a Rick Stein fan! We went by bus which took rather a long time as it takes the scenic route but well worth it. Jamie Oliver’s "15" is just around the next bay which is also worth a visit, as it St Ives. We hired a car for the last couple of days as we wanted to visit St Ives on the Saturday but for some strange reason both buses and trains do not run to St Ives on this particular day! We were recommended to drive to Lelant Saltings and go by train into St Ives as the roads are very narrow, congested and parking is difficult to find. We were glad we took this option as the train journey was only 10mins long and runs along the coastline.

If you thinking of visiting this part of the country you will not be disappointed especially if you are staying at the beaches, looking forward to our return trip very soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peircey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches at Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches at Newquay

Property: Beaches at Newquay
Address: 33 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique style bed and breakfast situated only a 2 minute walk from Fistral Beach and a 15 minute walk to Newquay town centre. All rooms very well appointed and all en-suite. Secure on site car parking. We provide a Full Cornish breakfast with locally sourced produce wherever possible. Late check out if required. Most major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaches At Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing