We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow what a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“wow what a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

stayed here as part of a National Holiday package .Hotel a bit tired looking but clean. Staff were very good and the food was great.The all inclusive idea is great as it included a free 3 hour bar.We had a sea view room and the view was brilliant. Entertainment every night was good .We would stay there again and would recommend this trip to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a beautiful sea view and as there is no lift choose a first floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lyndablyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us I would totally agree with you that the sea view is brilliant the views across Tolcarne Beach are amazing. Our chef has been with us for a number of years and gets positive comments on the food prepared. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    157
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
61
171
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wingate, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Hotel was as people have stated, tired, basic, old fashioned, but clean, friendly, comfy.
It is a 2 star hotel, and this is reflected in the standard of food, its ok but you get what you paid for, even though the waiters do their best, the food is basic, breakfast, no hash browns ,fried bread,black pudding, mushrooms, etc as in other hotels, poor coffee,just poor standard, small portions.
The evening meals, once again small portions,poor standard, but edible!!
Our room was clean, but basic, small shower, heating not regulated.Tiny portable t.v., (was it from a boot sale) or charity shop? Wood chip on the wall paper!!
Entertainment was ok, all inc bar, ok, spirits usual house brand standard, although the lager was good!
Still , we only paid £119 each with National Hols, so cant grumble really!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

long jurney with national coaches. all inclusive is an exerlent idea. as prev. mentioned hotel a little tired but clean. room good food great and we liked the idea of having the same table all week. entertainment every night excerlent. staff very pleasent and helpful.we boarded the coach at sunderland and only wish the hotel was nearer home we would book this trip again and again. only one complaint nation take you to wonderful places to see, however 3 hours is a long time to spend in one place when it is tipping down with rain. this is the only thing we could find wrong with this trip.would recommend this trip and hotel to any one. thanks again for a good holiday

Room Tip: all room seemed to be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margaret227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Its wonderful that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us at the Hotel and I am pleased that everything was to your satisfaction during your stay. It is always nice to receive feedback for us to act upon and the fact that you would recommend us to friends is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

we went to the marina holiday in august with national holidays for 5 days , newquay itself is a great place to stay ,the hotel was right across the road from the beach but access to the beach is down quite a few steps, ok going down but a nightmare walking back up , if you have walking difficuiltys i suggest you walk to the other beach 5 to 10 min walk , the shops are great in newquay and everyone seems freindly , great to watch the surfers on the beach , the marina hotel is quite tired apart from the dining room , and reception, and bar which is nice ,the staff at the hotel are all polite and they work very hard to ensure you have a great stay ,food was allso great, and the waiting on staff are brilliant, as soon as you sit down your meal is there within 2 mins , the rooms are very clean , but the hotel does need a good lick of paint i would stay here again and the atmosphere makes up for the decor in some of the bedrooms

Room Tip: choose a room at the front with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carole817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
I am pleased your stay with us was a happy one, I agree that those stairs down to the beach seem never-ending, but worth it. The sea views are amazing a great place to just sit and watch the world go by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Travelled with National Coaches from Manchester, good comfortable journey. Hotel accomodation was clean but very tired, sea view room was quite large, bathroom large but in need of refurbishment, ceiling paper coming off and floor covering lifting. Service was excellent in the restaurant, breakfast we couln't fault, evening meal was hot but very basic. For what we paid it was alright, not as bad as we expected. Fabulous base location for visiting many other interesting and beautiful sites in Cornwall, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: pay the extra £18 pp for a sea view, I think these were the better rooms, but still in need of refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teddychester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday with us here at the Marina Hotel as you say it is an ideal base to explore this lovely part of the country. Our restaurant staff have been with us for some time and its always nice to pass on positive feedback to them. We hope to see you back with us here in Newquay at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Got back on Sunday from the Marina Hotel, my friend and I decided on a National Holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it, as has been said before the hotel is tired, but having said that the rooms are clean the beds are clean the food is excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The entertainment was really good and we laughed until our sides ached, we were very lucky to meet up with a good crowd of people who had a similar sense of humour to us . We had a good journey both ways and our driver Mike was lovely! all in all very good value for money and we will be going again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Looking forward to seeing you when you return! I am pleased that you found the entertainment such fun we do have a good team here and especially when they have such a good rapport with the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Me and my daughter had a great time,the hotel wasn`t 5 star but it was what we expected.we had a room with sea view which was great,the room was comfortable.
When we arrived the t v wasn`t working but it was fixed straight away.the food was spot on with a good choice each evening,so was breakfast,i certainly had my five a day!
the entertainment was a bit hit and miss but we enjoyed doing the quizzes and bingo.
The free bar was good with no long queues,i had the wine(they were all good)
If you have children waterworld is only 15 min walk(next to zoo) with water slides etc.
we met some really nice people and staff and would recommend this trip

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jdavies187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing