We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excelllent value with a smile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excelllent value with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a 5 day holiday through National Holidays 27.07.12 and we really enjoyed the holiday.Yes,there may be the old style small T V in the room but it was clean and very warm.Food,staff and entertainment was very good.Like most hotels I stay at with National Holidays it needs a bit of TLC but had nothing to complaine about.The coach driver,Eric was great and helped me,when I was ill on the ferry to the Scillies.Would recomend this hotel,if you are looking for a clean,friendly,warm hotel with good food. There is no lift but you can ask for help.Hotel is high up from the beach but a wonderful view and a short walk into the town and quay.I visited the Eden Prodgect and the Scillies ,and they were fantastic

Room Tip: Only problem is that there is no lift,but if you ask ,you can get help.Front rooms have a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marielisa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your comments I am pleased you had a lovely time with us, as you say the views from the front of the Hotel are wonderful and we constantly get comments on this as you can imagine. The Scilly Isles is a verty popular trip and even though its a long day the majority of our guests have said its worth it and a great day out.

I will pass on your comments to our staff and I hope we shall see you return at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    157
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
61
171
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We just got back last night from a 5 day break to the Marina with National.We really enjoyed ourselves,the food was very good and our waitress Shirley was a delight.The hotel is clean,warm and welcoming,probably in need of a little TLC,but I appreciate that in these economic restraints its hard.The plumbing left a bit to be desired,the shower was an experience,ran hot one miute ,cold the next ,but we managed.The days out were really good and our driver Wayne was a credit to National Holidays.We felt newquay had got a bit run down and seedy ,we would return to Cornwall like a shot but probably stay in another resort

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have problems with stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spexMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your comments I will pass on your compliments to Shirley! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you do decide to return to Cornwall then we have some lovely hotels in different resorts such as St Ives and St Mawes well worth visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I both enjoyed our trip with National Holidays. The hotel and room was clean. The food was spot on and the entertainment on all nights was very good. The staff were very good and friendly, nothing was a bother to them.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room, it was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Its always pleasent to read guests positive comments on their holiday I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

I agree that the sea view rooms are worth it, the views across Tolcarne Beach and the bay are truly amazing and after 5 years I still do not get bored of it!

I will pass on your comments to the staff here at the Hotel and hope that you will visit us again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We Travelled to the marina hotel with national travel on the 20/05/2012 and had a great week there.But the hotel was very tired and needed some T.L.C The shower in our room did not work so i reported this and it was fixed strait away.Our room was number 49.Now the good part The staff where the best i have come across,Tracy our waitress was fantastic she couldnt do enough for us thanks Tracy love ya Also the bar staff where great and the entertainment i loved and found it refreshing at the effort put in by the, sorry cant remember her name,Dancer and bingo caller she was great as where all of them.if this hotel was brought upto date there would not be another hotel to touch it.great work staff you where all great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments I will pass on your remarks to all the staff in particular Kath the girl whose name you didnt remember lol, will also pass on to Tracey your comments. I agree we do have a really fantastic team here at the Hotel they thoroughly enjoy working with the guests and I think that definitely shows.

We are in the process of redecorating where possible and a number of rooms should be completed within the near future as we are dedicated to making improvements within the hotel wherever we can.

Myself and all the staff here at the Marina Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We went with National holidays on 5 day trip, had 2 three quarter hour stops and got there about 4.45 pm. The lady at hotel came to meet us and explained what would happen in reception and about our free drinks vouchers, got in reception, and it only took a couple of minutes to get our key and we were on 2nd floor so not too bad without lifts. We didnt have a sea view but our room was clean and lovely crisp white sheets with matching throw and curtains. The bathroom was nice and clean with white triangular tiles and shower over bath which was nice with a fast flow. Landing was clean but wallpaper could have had a lick of paint and was ripped wouldnt have cost a lot to put right but i think they were doing it up bit by bit as different areas had new decor and lounge was newly decorated. Entertainment wasnt our cup of tea, but 50,s night was not too bad and the last night was keyboard with singing, he was a good singer but more for older generation, i think we were youngest there, we went to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary on the 28th, but i dont think staff knew although we did open our cards at the dinner table and were dressed accordingly, it would have been nice for a complimentry drink, lol, the night before at entertainment , the entertainee asked if anybody was here celebrating and we said we were but no drink, lol, also told the young barman , but anyway we did get 4 drink vouchers included with holiday so that was about enough. 2 trips out were ok, but not long enough, left at 3 pm each day when we thought we were having a full day out, and only took less than an hour back to hotel so had to wait 2 anda half hours for evening meal when we got back, but the meals worth waiting for, nice 3 choice , 3 course, so was never hungry afterwards, sea right on front and only 10 minute walk to town centre, enjoyed our holiday and was thinking of extending our holiday but i had to think of my little seedlings back home shrivelling up in the heat, would go again, good staff and cheerful. Also would just like to add, tea and coffee in rooms were plentiful, always topped up and was real tetley tea bags and dowie egburt coffee, excuse the coffee spelling, and you got a lovely large mug instead of dainty little cup, just like home.

Room Tip: you have to pay for sea view but we had back room , was noisy in morning from bin collection and del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy42-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our Hotel its always great to hear feedback from our guests and I am really pleased you enjoyed yourselves whilst with us. I feel that as you said the sea view rooms are worth the extra cost as the view from the front of the Hotel is gorgeous in particular the sunsets across the bay.

It was particularly nice that you noticed we were redecorating the hotel in various locations bit by bit as you can imagine its an ongoing event and we are always seeking to make as many improvements as we can where possible.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Marina Hotel in the future, once again a big thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a great holiday at the Marina Hotel with National Holidays the staff were very helpful the food was excellent the public areas of the hotel were very clean. But room number 11 oh dear the room was damp and smelt very musty and the bathroom had black mould on tiles and shower cublicle and was in need of T L C. I would be quite happy to stop in the Marina hotel again but not in room number 11

Room Tip: If offered room number 11 politely refuse
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your recent comments I am glad you enjoyed yourself whilst with us. We are constantly looking to improve areas within the Hotel and I would be happy to show you the improvements made to Room 11 if you return. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff at our next monthly meeting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel, staff 1st class. Food was good and service was good. I was a single traveller so I had a single room which was cleaned every morning and clean towels left.The only thing wrong with the room was you have to be a size 12 to squeeze into the shower a tight fit. Plus to fill up your kettle you had to use a glass to fill it as kettle wouldn't fit under taps. Don't let these small things put you off though,entertainment in the evening was good. So just have a good holiday.

Room Tip: Bottom floor no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kentmere042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
thanks for your positive feedback I am really glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you found the entertainment enjoyable, we pass on all comments to the staff and I am sure they will be delighted to hear how you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#23 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing