We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of the same !!!!”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Once again I must comment on this hotel , this was our 5th visit and once again Jason and the team did not disappoint we had our usual room no 56 with splendid views. The staff were their usual friendly selves which is why we keep returning, altho we must give a special mention to Tracy our dining room waitress who was exceptional , nothing was too much trouble for her she always had a cheery smile and a cheeky chuckle and looked after us extremely well ....... thanks Tracy.
The entertainment was also good with Adam Fox a great guitarist and Steve [comedian/singer] and a very funny magician who's name escapes me. The bar staff are also very friendly so thanks to all of them especially Diane.
This hotel is in a great position overlooking tolcarne beach and a 10 minute walk from town with good shops or you can take the coastal path and enjoy the wonderful scenery and watch the surfers.
We are looking forward to our 6th visit at the end of the year for more of the same !!!

Room Tip: room 56 has lovlely views of the beach and over to the headland and good for watching the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

It was great to see you back again, thanks for your lovely comments as usual. The name of the magician was Gary Mac!!

I will pass on your compliments to the staff and particularly Tracy when she returnfs from her Holiday.

I think the views from room 56 and indeed the rest of our sea view rooms are amazing its a view you just never get tired off.

Myself and the staff look forward to seeing you again at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Shame the decor so tired and tatty. Staff are very good, food good, location brilliant. bedroom ok, beds very clean but the bathroom although clean was very shabby, the staff obviously do a wonderful job with the tools given. went with National, the journey was very good but the driver grumpy and obviously didn't want to be there.

Room Tip: Sea view room 32 very nice, but no shower only a scruffy bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186411Kazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your comments, I totally agree that we provide good value for money, we do re-invest money into the hotel regularly in order to modernise our rooms and improve guest satisfaction on a continual basis.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff I agree that they do a fantastic job and help our guests as much as possible to enjoy their holiday experience.

Hopefully we will see you here again at some point in the future or one of our many other hotels throughout the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Hi,just returned from a weekend with national holidays,everything about hotel was excellent,paid extra for sea view room(52) well worth it,big picture window overlooking Tolcarne beach,room nice and warm and very comfortable,food was varied and tasty,no complaints whatsoever.staff very friendly,will be going again,highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 52 excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eltelMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments as other guests have also stated the views across Tolcarne Beach are wonderful and I agree that they are good value.

Hopefully on your return visit we will put you in the same room! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff also.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We traveled with National holidays on 19th November for Monday - Friday stay.
Long drive down from Lancashire, but worth the trip.
Staff were very efficient, check in completed rapidly on arrival.
The food was lovely.Plenty of choice, cooked beautifully, and brought to the table very quickly.
The entertainment was very good too.
Our room was fine, quite spacious, but to be honest, though spotlessly clean it was a little bit "tired".
However the lovely sea view made up that.
Tea and coffee facilities in our room were great with no limit to the amount of tea coffee, sugar and milk.
The excursions were good, our driver was a local Cornish man who was very informative about the area.
Would I go to this hotel again?
Yes I would, but next time I would stay for a week!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 19Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel I will be sure to pass on your comments on to the staff.

I totally agree that longer is needed to explore the area which has so much to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Arrived Monday 26 November with National Holidays to see a very nice looking hotel. Room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean - thanks Amber our friendly room attendant. I have to say that we have no compaints at all re food which was really good; and the waiters/waitresses rush around to serve everyone so that there is little waiting inbetween courses. Entertainment was more for the older person - we are early 40s and 50s, but I guess you have to cater for the majority.
View from the room was of scaffolding, but come on this is a budget break and very good value. The staff clearly make the effort to attain a certain standard and have achieved!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, I can only apologise about the scaffolding which was on the hotel next to us as. I will pass on your comments to Amber and all the other staff at the Hotel.

We hope to see you again here in Newquay at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

staff & food first class. owners take note - rooms in need of an update .beds, floorboards and doors NOISY.no shower in our room ( front of hotel seaview )
overall we had a VERY good time & would recommend a stay

Room Tip: seaview is good but ask for one with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards the updating of the Hotel we are making improvements where possible to increase the satisfaction of the guests by improving rooms on a rolling basis.

I am pleased you would recommend the hotel to others and hopefully we can look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

On arrival it seemed a very nice hotel , then we went to our room and was astounded to find the wash basin in the room . So after going to the toilet we had to cross the bedroom to wash our hands then cross again to get a towel to dry them. the room seemed to have been just thrown in and where things landed they stayed . Next to the bed on one side was a wardrobe so you had nowhere to put a bedside drink and there was no light on that side either.I know every body is saving on power but the lighting was very poor to read in bed by.
We were also put off by the celebration of christmas day surely you could of had your pink day on another day . We cant really see where the Xmas day came in.
To get back to the hotel we would love to go back for it is a lovely welcoming place and all the staff were wonderful . They seemed short staffed at some meals but you didn't have to wait very long between courses and the food arrived with a smile

Room Tip: dont take room 38 with a great sea view -wash basin in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vintage36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards the basin in the room unfortunately we do have a couple of rooms that due to the size and age of them are like this however as we constantly seek to upgrade we will be rectifying this issue.

We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing