We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, awesome view”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, awesome view”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent a 5 day National break here; the hotel could probably do with a refurb but our room was large, the beds were comfy and clean, the bathroom was fine though we only had a shower cubicle and anyone of slightly larger frame than normal would have struggled! And as mentioned in other reviews there is no lift and our room on the top floor meant 5 small flights and 3 fire doors to maneouvre.

We took other reviewers' advice and paid for a sea view and it was well worth it. The only down side of the view is that it came with a noisy road too - but if you're tired (and you will be after a day's sight seeing with National) then you'll sleep. The food was good with plenty of choice and our waitress (Stacey) was a real tornado so you never waited for long - she even made sure that a teenage lad saw the evening menu at breakfast to make sure there was something on it he liked, if not she came up with an alternative for him. Good service. In fact the staff are the thing you will remember from this hotel from the manager, reception staff, bar staff and waiters their friendliness, helpfulness and general chat makes your time here enjoyable.

Newquay itself has lots of bars but if you want a local place turn right out of the hotel, first right and continue along the road to the Lanherne - might be sponsored by Miracle Grow they have so many flowers in baskets!

Also, if you go to Healey's Farm then order one cream tea between two - they are very filling!

Room Tip: A sea view is spectacular and worth the extra if you can put up with the traffice noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
It was lovely to read your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I will pass on your compliments to the tornado otherwise known as Stacey and indeed all the other members of staff.

I hope to see you return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    169
    76
    20
    14
See reviews for
64
182
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Caledonian travel last week. Hotel. food. staff. bar package e first class, Would have rated this hotel 5 star except for two problems, Stay clear of room 23<< noise and lack of privacy from adjoining hotel very bad. Also the arrangement to get you cases up to your room a nightmare (no lift in hotel).Said we would get assistance but none arrived very poor arrangement.

Room Tip: steer clear of room 23! you will have a long long wait to get help with your cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xorbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I was sorry to here of your problems with room 23 and the noise from the hotel next door, unfortunately this is out of our control, the room is used regularly and we have not had any previous issues so I can only assume this was an isolated incident.

With regards cases on arrival day we do not provide this unles asked for and as you can imagine on a busyt arrival there is sometimes a delay in receiving cases which we try to do as quickly as possible.

I am pleased though that the rest of your holiday experience was enjoyable, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just arrived home from our stay at the Marina Hotel in Newquay on a holiday with National Coaches. We had a nice room, 41, which is a large twin room, Ok, it looks out onto the car park but you can still see the bay, but we dont go on holiday to sit in a bed room, the lounge and the seating at the front of the hotel provide a good sea view. The food was well prepared and the service good, Shirley served our table, she seems to be everywhere from breakfast to dinner and then evening. All in all we had a good stay and would recomend it to anyone

Billy and Sheila. H.

Room Tip: Room 41, it is a large room with a good sized bathroom, the shower is in the bath but is quite adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass on your compliments to Shirley and the kitchen staff as well.

I agree that the lounges offer a superb view out of the front of the hotel and its lovely to just sit and relax whilst taking in the view.

We hope to see you return to us here at the Marina Hotel at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We journeyed with Caledonian Travel (Scottish arm of National Holidays) from Glasgow for a week in July. Hotel right on the front and for a small supplement we got a cracking bay view window room that made you feel we were on the beautiful beach. The hotel was no Savoy nor Dorchester but very clean and the beds were changed while you were at breakfast every day! Food VG and a good choice of dishes. Staff terrific - always smiling - and nothing too much trouble. Entertainment EVERY night and four free drinks EVERY day. Excellent value for money.

B.P. Glasgow

Room Tip: Ask your travel agent for a seaview room request - and phone hotel too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us I agree that we offer great value for money. The view from the front is amazing something you dont get tired of looking at and I think well worth the supplement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

the good, most of the staff work so hard,our waitress on table 20 Shirley,was excellent,nothing was too mutch trouble,great service at breakfast and dinner,then back at night helping with the bingo,carnt praise this lady enough,alex in the bar was also very good at his job,nice also to see Jason the boss man helping out in the bar on a busy charity night, the bad, no lifts make it very difficult for us not in the best of health,maybe more help could be made available on arrival days, the ugly, we paid extra for a sea view room,we got the sea view room,what we also got was a very very small shower cubicle,the wash basin is so close to the shower I could only just get in,getting out was worse,i was lucky we had friends with us,so I used there shower after the first night,and the ceiling in the shower room was on the verge of falling down,room 37 is not what you expect to find when you pay extra money. on the brighter side we had 5 days lovely meals,very good weather and enjoyed ourselves very mutch,we were there from the 6th july to the 10, only problem in the resteraunt was stacy(she is a bully she beat me up every mealtime),only kidding she is a lovely girl and very good fun. ken and marion,wakefield,

Room Tip: we paid extra for sea view room,but it could have been better,so no garrentees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us I will pass on your compliments to the staff and will speak to Stacy too! Unfortunately we do not have alift in the hotel however we do provide a cse boy on arrival to help with luggage if required.

We have looked at the roof above the shower and this has been rectified I can only apoligise about this.

We look forward to seeing you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay with National Holidays. Hotel was clean, beds comfy, entertainment was very good as was the food and staff very friendly and helpful overall had a great stay and would stay again if I was to return to Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jubileeendeavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your recent review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at some point in the future if not here but at one of our many other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having just returned from 7 day holiday with National Holidays I would like to thank the Hotel for a wonderful holiday. Sea view,good entertainment food and staff excellent very helpful and pleasant.
Will return again next year. Just a few decor issues to see to lounges could do with curtains up to make it a bit more welcoming and carpets a little worn on stairs so not much to complain about really. Thanks to everyone for a making a very good holiday would recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Request sea view at little extra cost well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary_W263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves whilst you were here. I will pass on your remarks to the staff at our next meeting.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing