We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring lots of warm clothes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring lots of warm clothes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel badly needs a makeover. Went just before xmas (5days) and total lack of xmas cheer when we pulled up outside. First thought that the hotel was shut. On two days running we had no heat or hot water. They said they were having problems with boiler but i wonder if it was just shut down to save money. Food ok if a little oversalted and entertainment ok. Value for money on a National coach trip though. The two problems were the aforesaid lack of heating and the speed of service inbetween food courses. You are still chewing the last of yr main course when they put your dessert down! A 3 course dinner over in 20 mins. Would not be returning here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lancashirass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I would like to state with regards the issue with the heating, this was an unfortunate problem with the boiler, however we are not in the habit of turning it off to save money it was an electrical fault since rectified.

The hotel does have plans in place to invest money on the décor and hopefully if you do return you will notice this.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    157
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
61
171
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Wow, we've just returned from our pre Christmas break and have loved our experience. We had a lovely room with a sea view, the bed was comfortable and the heating adjustable. There was a good choice at breakfast and evening meals with fabulous service. Evening entertainment was brilliant and we didn't have to leave our hotel in the evening with the inclusive drinks it was excellent value for money. The hotel is situated in a central area so you don't have to wander far to enjoy the rest of Newquay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff and they are a really professional and friendly team. The only downside was that we thought that it could do with a refurb as the decor is a little dated but it was clean and tidy and that's what counts as we would definitely like to return. Also the national holiday trips aren't all oldies, we're early forties and had a fantastic time

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TWatson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, as others have stated I do feel that we offer exceptional value for money, with regards the décor we do have plans in place to invest money within the coming year and hopefully this will reflect on your next visit.

I will pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting I do agree that they offer a very friendly yet efficient service and they are always pleased to have that recognized.

Hope to see you again at some future point here in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break in Marina Hotel Newquay, with National Holidays, we arrived on Monday 16 December, at 4-35 pm. we were asked to stay on the coach while we were welcomed by Jason and the adorable Tyler,(his little boy)
We were given room 48 on the first floor, the room had 3 single beds, and was a spacious room, with a shower toilet and washbasin.
The food was served quickly by all the staff, and the all inclusive drinks offer was very good, we can't comment on the entertainment as we were in our room before it started. but others enjoyed the Bingo, quiz and singers.
there was a nice quiet lounge suitable for reading sea facing. and a large tv and games room,
It was the second visit to this hotel and the staff are all excellent nothing is too much trouble for them.
They even served us with drinks at lunchtime, on my birthday as the weather was too bad to go out, and the bar doesn't open until 5-30 pm.
The decor is looking a little tired, but that didn't spoil our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: No lift, ask for a ground floor room if you are unable to climb stairs, or first floor if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday here with us at the Marina Hotel and that you had such a lovely time with us.

We are always pleased to see returning guests at the hotel and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Have just arrived back from a 5 day National Holidays break at the Marina Hotel and would like to extend a big thank you to Jason and his staff for the very warm welcome we received. Although we were a coach party we were all treated as individuals and given personal and friendly attention. The decor was tired and dated in places but this was unimportant compared to the hospitality. We enjoyed all our meals and the service was very efficient. Our bedroom was clean, warm, comfortable and well equipped.
The hotel is in an excellent position, overlooking the sea and with a bus stop outside.
I agree with one of the other reviewers that this is probably the best National Holidays break we have ever had.
As a bonus we even had excellent weather for the time if year!

Room Tip: As there is no lift I would advise persons with mobility problems to ask for a ground floor or first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblingramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It was lovely to read your review I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting. We do pride ourselves on the service we provide which is reflected on the many comments we receive.

We look forward to seeing you return to us or one of our many other hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Having just returned from a National Holiday was surprised how they can offer so much value for such a little price.. Hotel very tired as also with rooms, however the rooms are clean and the hospitality is second to none... The Restaurant staff were very efficient.. Well done... I will definitely be booking another National Hoiday in the near future.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us I totally agree that we do indeed offer excellent value for money.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff and hopefully we will see you return and visit us again at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I visited this hotel with National Holidays for a 4 day break. The Hotel is well situated right on the sea front overlooking the beach which is accessible either by either stairs or road.
We were made welcome by the General Manager who appears to be a jack of All Trades covering reception and bar service, nothing being too much bother.
I was in a single room (40) which was comfortable and adequate but very hot as the heating appears to be controlled from reception.
I still cannot understand why it is necessary to pay a single supplement when using a single room, I could understand it if occupying a twin or double room, thus under occupying it?
The Hotel is very clean but badly in need of some TLC with worn wallpaper and ceiling peeling in the bathroom. The food was very good and the service excellent.
There does appear to be a shortage of staff in the hotel (cut backs)? and it would have been nice if there had been table cloths on the badly scratched and worn tables in the dining room.
I found all the staff to be friendly and help full, I would only voice one concern and that was shared by other guests not on the 'Drinks Package' and that was the price of drinks, I consider that £3.60 for a pint of Beer Shandy to be excessive.

Room Tip: It might be worthwhile paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, with regards the comments on TLC we are looking at investing into the hotel in the first part of the new year by redecorating some guest rooms and bathrooms.

I will pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting, hopefully we shall see you return to the hotel at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I echo other reviews. The hotel is in great need of renovation. Having said that it was the nicest national holiday we have had mainly due to the staff at the hotel and the entertainment. A small hotel which led to the friendliness of the staff, the service in the dining room was excellent, food was nice but I would say average.
The 'gems' of this hotel are the staff and yes I would stay here again. Stayed in room 34 wonderful view.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments its always nice to be able to pass on guests compliments to the staff I think they do a wonderful job and will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Hope to see you again here at the Marina Hotel in the future or one of our many other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#15 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing