We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked last minute”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked last minute”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile


We booked last minute and this was the cheapest place we could find.it was a couple of hundred pounds cheaper than most caravans.we were very happy with the accommodation and the park as a whole as it had everything you need with the exception of a shop.the location could be a bit better but overall good value for money.sure it was not the best place I have stayed at in Cornwall but we enjoyed it as did our six year old son

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gapmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
This is always greatly appreciated as we are continuously trying to improve the resort.
We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic and as existing customers would offer you our best rate for which ever point you would like to return.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries or would like me to check availability.
Call Lindsey on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    211
    88
    48
    37
See reviews for
395
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from Atlantic Reach, booked last minute into a 4 bed, 3 bath villa......Arrived at 12pm thinking check in was 5pm...But the villa was ready.....so we were given the keys early? The villa was really nice, furnished comfortably with everything that a family needs?

The facilities are wonderful; the staff are really helpful and friendly! Bars are not overpriced surprisingly, no more than your local pub. The restaurant is OK, limited menu for supper but nice. Lunch menu is ace.

In all a great place and a terrific base for a break in the UK, with good quality accommodation, excellent facilities and professional staff that care. A must – The Boathouse Restaurant, Newquay Harbour........it’s AWESOME!!

Also Mousehole, its 40 mins drive...........wow

Room Tip: 4 Bed Villas - Awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
Were absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic and as existing customers would offer you our best rate for whenever you wish to return.
If there are any dates I can check for you please do not hesitate to contact me on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
I hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the luxury 2 bed house for 4 nights. The house was completely refurbished to a modern decor and the rooms were hygenic and clean. The house we stayed in was in a terrace and the blocks of terraces are quite close to each other so there is no real outdoor privacy. On site facilities are ok (2 swimming pools) plus there are activities for kids. The indigo spa was a relaxing way to unwind after an exhausting day on the surf! All in all a good quality of family accommodation and base to visit Cornwall (the Atlantic Reach resort is located about 8 miles outside Newquay town centre.

Room Tip: Choose the upgraded accommodation. The resort is 8 miles outside of Newquay so will need transport t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Atlantic Reach.
We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic and as existing customers will offer you our best rate for which ever dates you wish to return.
If there are any dates I can check for you please do not hesitate to contact me.
Call Lindsey on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at house 68, a 4 bed, which is privately owned. There were 5 adults, 1 x 12 year old, 1 x 7 year old, 1 x 4 year old and an infant. Our first impressions were not good, a broken, dangerous picnik bench and a used, uncleaned barbecue were outside the rear entrance along with some discarded cardboard and other rubbish. Inside was not much better with rubbish inside drawer units in the bedrooms one item of which was a sanitary towel, unused but unpleasant. The upstairs sleeping arrangements were satisfactory but the ground floor bedroom was supposed to be a double and was not large enough for 2 adults to sleep in, I ended up using the pull out bed. The rubbish bin was broken, the toaster only worked on one side, the dishwasher didn't work and the tap head came off in the upstairs bathroom. The house itself is timber framed and every inch of it creaks. The upstairs floor made so much noise it was impossible to get to sleep until everybody else had laid down in their beds. If anyone got up during the night it woke the people sleeping downstairs.
The furniture was very old and covered with stains, the carpet underneath had not seen a vacuum cleaner for a long time. The TV was ridiculously small, I have bigger in my bedroom at home and this was supposed to provide viewing for 8 people. The fridge freezer had a door shelf missing, meant for bottles etc, which was inconvenient. The ground floor toilet is very badly laid out, the pan is so close to the radiator that if it had been on would have burnt your leg, I could see no reason for it to be in this position. There are no towel rails at all, as they do not supply towels perhaps they thought they wouldn't be needed. The kitchen was satisfactory other that no handle for the grill pan. The smoke alarm worked, we heard it each time the toaster was used even though the toast was not burnt.
We had some of these faults rectified which included a new toaster, repairs to the bench and a new rubbish bin plus monetary compensation but only after we phoned the owner to complain.
We chose this place from the pictures shown on the Atlantic Reach web site but I can assure you No 68 is nothing like that shown, inside or outside. The whole house needs to be updated and may I suggest, new furniture, a decent sized TV, A normal sized double bed in the ground floor bedroom, towel rails in all the bathrooms, adjustments to all room door locks and latches, full exterior decoration, new picnic bench, new cutlery including kitchen knifes that actually cut, Sky TV with broadband would be a bonus but a necessity in the 21st century I think.
On Atlantic Reach's facilities; the Internet connection, which can only be accessed in the bar or reception, is not high speed, with high speed 'streaming' is possible, this was not the case here and checking email was painfully slow, so they are lying. The only 'free' inclusions I could see was the use of the swimming pools and evening entertainment, every thing else had to be paid for. The 'entertainment' was carried out in a 'tent' which we were not comfortable with so didn't attend. We had a few games of pool in the reception area and at £1 a game was, to my mind, extortionate.
At the end of May this year we rented a private house a few miles away which included a TV in each bedroom, tea & coffee making in bedrooms, a large TV in the very comfortable lounge and broadband internet. We had a much more enjoyable/cheaper stay there than we did at Atlantic Reach. The fact that we went out every day made our holiday, we were expecting Atlantic Reach to do that for us but they failed miserably.

Room Tip: Find another location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDeenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
The particular lodge you stayed in is one that is privately owned and they have there own housekeeping and maintenance team.
I am sure you have already spoken to them about some of the issues you had as you said a replacement toaster had been organised etc.
Our marquee was a temporary measure for this year and we are continuing to improve the resort. We have big plans for next year and the entertainment venue will be very different.
I am confident that if you were to return to Atlantic you would have a very different experience.
I would happily offer you our best rate if you would like to return to us and you are more than welcome to contact me if you have any further queries.
Call Lindsey on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Like any UK holiday weather is a main factor but in visiting Cornwall you can have the best of both with many things to do in the wet. We were fortunate to have temperatures reaching 26°C which meant we got to see the famous beaches & none of them dissappointed. As this was our first family holiday to Cornwall we wanted to make it special & locating the base camp at Atlantic Reach gave us the opportunity to visit Newquay, Perranporth, Porth & venture South to Falmouth & Mevagissey. However, if the weather had been inclement there is still plenty to see & do around Cornwall so always be prepared. We stayed in a two bed property that was clean & tidy providing the essentials with access to a first class gym, swimming pool & spa facilities. In addition to this there is a very good restaurant that will cater for your needs, all you need to do is ask, & evening entertainment. What is key to Atlantic Reach are the staff who are welcoming, warm & very friendly. From this experiance our aim is to go back in the very near future......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57GSBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Atlantic Reach.
We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic and as existing customers we will offer you our best rate for which ever dates you would like to return.
If you have any dates you would like me to check for you please do not hesitate to contact me on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well we stumbled across atlantic reach whilst on holiday in Cornwall in the rain looking for a soft play centre for my daughter and she had a great time. Whilst there we got chatting about staying in the summer and were shown round happily by one of the reception team to all three classes of properties and very openly and honestly told about each type. We opted for the 2 bed garden apartment, mid priced and you could never be disappointed by it.

What people seem to fail to realise is that it's a family resort. Yes there are knocks here and there but that's what you get with kids and the holiday was for the kids. But the apartment was spotlessly clean, everything you could wish for to live let alone cope for a week!!!

We arrived very late at 21.00 on the first day. We were called at 20.30 to ensure all was ok and if we were going to be later where our keys would be left - a very nice touch and on request told that although the restaurant officially closes at 21.09, they were expecting us and would wait to feed us. After travelling for 4-5 hours with two hungry young boys this was a god send that stopped us hunting for food late at night!

The food is absolutely great. Good range, freshly prepared salad and good value. No it's not gourmet Michelin star but neither are the prices!!! And again it's a family resort.

My two sons 7 & 5 loved every minute of their holiday. From free family sessions every morning and afternoon, a very reasonably priced kids club that they adored, free swimming, free tennis, park, trampolines, golf, soft play, pool, table tennis - they were in their element. There weren't enough hours in the day for them. Everything was clean and of good quality in all aspects. The evening entertainment for children was first class and of course everyone loves pirate Pete!!!

But all the staff were great. Reception couldn't do enough to help in any way no matter how great or small, and i have no doubt that if we had of had any problems as occasionally happen, they would have been dealt with immediately. kids club were brilliant with my initially shy son, every member of staff was open to have a laugh and fun with you whilst still being professional. Even the new bar man who was getting very very uncalled for abuse as he was learning still smiled at the rude customers, I'm afraid I wouldn't have had the restraint he had!!!

We didn't actually leave the resort but from knowledge know that the location is great. Close enough to enjoy Newquay but far enough to get away from it too!

We really couldn't fault anything at all for our stay other than there didn't seem as many hours in the day as at home because they flew by too quickly!!!

Can't wait to confirm our trip next year, look forward to seeing everyone again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Atlantic Reach.
We would love to welcome your family back to Atlantic so listen to the kids! We will happily offer you our best rate as your existing customers.
If you would like me to check any dates for you please do not hesitate to contact me.
Call Lindsey on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked our holiday home through Holiday Lettings and dealt directly with the owner of the property. The transaction was cheaper than going direct to the holiday park itself and dealing with the owner was easy as he was always prompt in his replies and friendly.

The accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable. There were four bedrooms, more than enough to accommodate 4 adults and 3 children. The home had three bathrooms including a whirlpool bath. There was a dishwasher, microwave, fridge freezer and large LCD TV. Also provided was an iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner and mop.

The site is really nice and very family friendly. The indoor and outdoor pools are great for the kids especially the outdoor pool if the weather is nice. The restaurant serves lovely food at very reasonable prices. We did not use the gym but this seemed very busy most of the time. The site has activity days for the children which we used and our kids thoroughly enjoyed and whilst they were playing we were in the spa relaxing the day away.

The site is located not far from Newquay itself, just a short drive away. It is close to most of what Cornwall has to offer, including some great beaches and areas to fish. I would definitely recommend a stay here and better still book direct with the owner through Holiday Lettings, you will save a penny or two!!

Big thanks to the owner Sean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, General Manager at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Its really appreciated.
We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic - its always worth checking prices with us as well as the agents we use.
If you would like me to check any dates or quote a price for you please do not hesitate to contact me on 01726 860775 or email lindsey@atlanticreach.co.uk
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
906 reviews
4.5 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Property: Atlantic Reach
Address: Atlantic Reach Atlantic REACH, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing