We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of problems”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We booked because of the gym and it was cheap, but wouldn't go anywhere to save money again. The staff were very friendly and apologetic but any interaction we had with the resort seemed problematic and made us wish we hadn't. As we arrived we saw our accommodation was grubby looking. Old stained throws were over our sofas, looked like a student flat. We stayed in a 2 bed garden terrace. The 4 bed places were much bigger, newer and looked cleaner looked much nicer. We went for dinner in the hotel restaurant as we had a long drive and just wanted to relax. It's the first time I can remember being unable to eat a meal, I had a pepperoni pizza it was so greasy it was untrue. My girlfriend had a steak wrap, it was 50/50 steak and fat. The steak was untrimmed and was so chewy with fat she too had to leave her dinner. The waitress was apologetic and took off the price of the pizza. Good service from the staff. Then we went to the cafe to get internet, the cafe had just closed a hour early because of a rush in the restaurant. We had just left there and there was a table of 10, a table of 4 and us!! There must be seats for 100 people indoor, in the marquee and on the benches outside. The table of 10 were already seated when we left, they were just been given a run down of all the food options they had run out of. The resort is a 15-20 minute drive to Newquay about £12-£15 in a cab each way. There are no walkways or cycle paths to get there. The internet was 50/50 if it worked or not the first few days we had no luck at all, (McDonalds is a 10 minute drive with free wifi) the last few days were better. A management type told us it was a "intermittent fault", I felt the younger worker summed it up more truthfully when he described it as "dodgy". It was cheap we paid £55 pound a night for 10 nights, the gym was well equipped and clean. The staff were friendly but our memories of here will be of the problems not what u want from a holiday destination

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wiggsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a weekend with friends and family to celebrate a birthday and I must say for a 2 night stay wherein you're allowed to check-in at 5pm and must check-out by 10 am on your day of departure otherwise pay a £20 / 30 minute overstay, this place is a bit on the expensive side. We decided to share the property with another family as £375 for less than 48 hours stay is impractical.

Looking from the outside, the place looks a bit rundown especially the first few units that will greet you when you come in to the grounds. Inside theres a double bedroom on the ground floor, a shower and toilet facility and a spacious living area with good sized sofas and an open plan kitchen. You have everything you need for cooking meals. On the first floor there's 3 double sized bedrooms. ne room has two single beds, another room has a double bed next next to a good sized bathroom with a shower cubicle and jacuzzi bathtub. The last room has an en-suite bathroom with shower cubicle and a built-in wardrobe. You will feel that they (owner or company) have made every effort to make the place feel like you are just at home. Very cozy and comfortable.

The place has an indoor pool and apparently an outdoor pool which I didn't see. A fitness gym with some of the weight machines needing a bit of sprucing up, a childrens soft play area and a spa centre where you get discounted treatments as long as you're a guest of Atlantic Reach.

I love Cornwall and would keep coming back but would think twice about staying in Atlantic Reach again as there other accommodations with the same facilities this place has to offer but on a less expensive price. We stayed from 27th to the 29th of Hune.

Room Tip: Units 1-11 are in the quieter area. Make sure you count the plates, cups, etc before leaving as thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirvana231976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Atlantic Reach. It is great to hear your comments about the spacious and comfortable nature of the accommodation. We have 230 properties at Atlantic Reach and so there will always be a few that are next for a paint and spruce up on the outside – it is a very important part of our continuous maintenance schedule.

I can confirm that we do have a 25m outdoor pool which is open in July and August. It is adjacent to The Manor House and our large outdoor play areas. We do always keep our prices as competitive as possible, and we are confident that we always offer excellent value for money when comparing the quality accommodation and facilities to the rest of Cornwall. It would be great to welcome you back to Atlantic Reach in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a lovely 4 night break last week. Cottage perfect and beautifully clean. Rooms really comfortable and spacious. Staff friendly and chatty. Great location for days out. Shall definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guests, thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your holiday we are very pleased to hear your positive comments about the staff and accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The Atlantic Reach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very clean, excellent facilities for young families, pool, games room, park, two swimming pools, gym, classes, spa - everything was perfect and we went low-season so it was very quiet. Nearby beaches beautiful. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Bring a stair gate if you have babies or toddlers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback on Atlantic Reach. We are really please to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and your comments on the facilities are great to hear. You haven't mentioned it, but I hope the kids got to visit Pirate Pete's soft play centre as well whilst you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon - please make sure you mention you are a returning guest. The Atlantic Reach Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in mid-June 2014 in a 4 bed with hot tub and had a great time.
From our arrival we knew that we were in for a good week - the staff at reception were both helpful & cheerful (we later found this to be the case with all staff). Our 'house' was very spacious with a massive tv & dvd player and comfy leather sofa's.
What was useful was the fact that there were two good sized shower rooms/toilets in addition to the 'family' bathroom with Jacuzzi as well as a shower cubicle.
The only downside was that the floorboards upstairs were extremely squeaky!
Because we had a hot tub we also had a fenced off & decked rear garden rather than the open plan gardens everyone else had.
The hot tub itself was fantastic (and was well used during our week there!). We were particularly impressed with the fact that water samples were taken & checked twice a day - the member of staff doing this was quick, quiet, discrete and very friendly.
The facilities were great - 5 of us had treatments at Indigo Spa and we were extremely impressed with the gym (and the cider from the CAFe bar - I wish I could remember what it was called so I could try to get some at home).
It was a great base to tour Cornwall from with the A30 being nearby although every day we looked forward to getting back and hopping into the tub.
All in all, a great week & we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We saw the website and thought what a lovely place. We arrived late and were greeted by 2 Eastern european staff members having the mother of all rows in the carpark. Having been very disappointed with the fousty smeling very basic apartment, I took my dog for a stroll to familiarise myself with the site in the morning and I was horrified at the dumped mattresses, an abundance of rubbish , peeling paintwork and altogether shabbyness (not in any sense shabby chic) of the place. On arriving at the bar later that evening (we had stayed on the beach as long as possible to avoid going back), we were told although the restaurant was advertised as staying open until 9pm (it was 2030 when we got there), the chef had had a very busy shift and decided to call it a day! Which was fab as there are no other restaurants for 5 miles! The service is terrible, the place is awful and we would never go back. After several conversations in the bar with like mineed people I suggest that Atlantic Reach really takes a long hard look at itself as the place is a complete let down. The positive side is the weather was fab and the glorious Cornish beaches would rival anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you want to pay the extortionate prices for the large units but the place is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodserviceisal... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest. I would be grateful if you could contact Henry or Michaela on guestrelations@atlanticreach.co.uk. I am not sure that your comments provide a fair representation of Atlantic Reach as we work very hard to ensure the standards of our site are maintained at all times. We would always encourage our visitors to bring any concerns to the attention of the reception team as it can help us ensure problems are resolved fast. We have noted your comments on The Manor House opening times and I have passed these on to the catering team.

I am glad however that you were able to enjoy the fantastic weather we have been having.

Kind Regards, Henry at Atlantic Reach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Atlantic Reach.. we stayed in a four bedroom apartment as there were 5 adults and 2 children in our group. Unfortunately the shower in the master bedroom did not work,reception sent maintenance round,we were told that it couldn't be fixed and a part would need to be ordered! This was annoying as with as many people who were staying the shower was needed. I felt that this is so something that should have been checked and fixed before guests arrived.
The second big issue was the jacuzzi bath.. After it had been used the water left horrible sludgy brown marks all round bath.. as the bath as being used for my children I was not happy at all. Again maintenance came round and told us he had fixed it by running the taps for 10 minute's!! We tried the bath again the next day to have the brown sludgy water again.. Reception offered to move us but with one baby one child 5 adults and 2 dogs this wasn't practical.. All I hope is these issues are checked and fixed before the next family stay I room 26

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank amy8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Address: Atlantic Reach, Whitecross, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £60 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing