We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week break”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great week break”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 1 Week in a two bedroom house all was very clean and tidy, everything you needed in good condition, couple of things needed attention but was not a problem. Swimming pool and soft play room were excellent and included in the price. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Used restaurant and bar only once on the last night and both were very good. For the price we paid we could not complain and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    214
    88
    48
    37
See reviews for
404
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First time to Cornwall and we will never stay here again. Apart from it looking like a housing estate there were many other probs.
1) check in was 4 pm. Really u have to be out of the room by 10 am so it takes 6 hours to clean a room mmmm
2) no towels or tea towels in the room or a plug for the kitchen sink?
3) nothing to hang wet clothes on after going to the beach
4) bet sheets too small for the bed
5) place was clean apart from the kitchen chrs which were filthy
6) on arrival in reception no welcome pack..ie..map or leaflets on local attractions
7) restaurant was poor with a very small menu and very average food, also no atmosphere and was always empty..I wonder why
8) pool and cafe ok but staff happy to talk amongst themselves, pool and gym seem to be more important than us on holiday
9) supposed to be dog friendly, but there was no dog areas and no dog poo bins?
10) hand rails near our room were broken and dangerous
11) check out time was 10 am, we were advised on arrival if we were late checking out we would be charged £20 for every half. Hour over, what's funny is when we checked out we went to reception at 9 am and they were SHUT! They didn't open till 10 am, hey hope there not late lol
12) pls also be aware the walls are paper thin, we had a family put next to us and u can here everything

In short we were deeply disappointed with the site the location the customer services the lack of help to make our holiday enjoyable, please avoid unless u want to swim and go to the gym all of ur holiday then it's fine.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at Atlantic Reach through Hoseasons i explained to the booking agent at time of booking that my husband was wheelchair bound and could not walk i was told that the chalet i wanted to book was on one level but it might be a squeeze manovering the wheel chair and that there was one step over the thresshold i had no problem moving furniture or with the one step so i booked.
we were given a 2 bedroom villa ? with 2 bedrooms and bathroom and toilet upstairs? when i went back to reception to tell them it was not any good due to my husbands disability i was told i had to ring hoseasons myself to try and rectify the problem.
The receptionist did say that there was a 4 bedroom villa available but i would have to pay £100 upgrade.
the fact that i had just travelled over 230 miles to get to the holiday park didnt seem to matter to the park they wanted the extra £100 upgrade money or they wouldnt be able to help me.
I phoned Hoseasons and was told that i could have a refund or be moved to another site in Newquay.after 2 hours of phone calls hoseasons finally agreed to pay the upgrade for me as there was not any vacancies at there other parks.
The first chalet we were offered was nice.if my husband had been able bodied we would have been more than satisfied to stay there.
Our 4 bed house was fantastic disabled bedroom and bathroom downstairs and 3 large bedrooms upstairs one on suite and the seperate bathroom had a shower and jaccuzi .there was parking right outside the house. the living room/kitchen diner was huge.the whole house was immaculate.
The downside to this site is that its about 5 miles to the nearest shop or pub there is no shop on site which i found strange as all the units are self catering.
There was no evening entertainment on the site at all. the indoor pool was open and so was the gym but apart from that there was nothing.we did go to the bar a couple of times but there was no atmosphere just a couple of people playing pool. my husband drinks Guinness and every pint had a massive head on it so he really was getting 3/4 of a pint i did ask the barman to top up the glass once but didnt want to keep going to the bar to ask for a top up.Had the site been near to a pub we would have gone there.
Most of the pathways are uneven and there are hills everywhere.making it unsuitable for disabled people. i will not be returning nor would i recommend this site.The customer service here is ZERO

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a week at this park in the contemporary cottage that sleeps 8, upon arrival the park looked ok, but after checking in and trying to find our cottage it turned out that there were roadworks all over the site, and annoyingly right in front of our cottage so we couldn't access it by car. When we got in to the place, we found scaffolding on the rear of the property and a strong smell of wet paint, after investigating it turned out the whole house had been painted that morning, when opening the back door I ended up with wet paint on my hand!


When checking the place out inside we found mud on the sofas (we hope it was mud!) and a horrid musky smell upstairs with bedding that looked like it was from the 70's... The mattress felt knackered too.

The staff at reception refunded us in full after we complained as they had nothing else available away from the roadworks etc. We felt really let down and had to find alternative accommodation at the last minute.

I would avoid at all costs, we will never visit this holiday park again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R18MSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

we stayed here for 3 nights we took the dog and two relatives. accommodation was fantastic it slept 8 people double room and disabled shower down stairs. then 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms upstairs.the indoor pool was great for adults and kids. the gym was fantastic very spacious and that was all included. the nearest beach was 5 miles away and the atlantic reach give you a list of nearest beaches(dog friendly) very usefull,big supermarkets etc. the only down side was there was no entertainment there was a bar in the manor house but music goes off at 10 because of the guests ! i will be going back again as it is hard to find good accommodation with great facilities that take dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Atlantic Reach. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday, and in particular our accommodation and leisure facilities. We run limited evening entertainment outside of the school holidays (typically on Friday and Saturday nights from May - September), but is always worth checking our website to see whats on.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We booked atlantic reach for 10 days as it was a really good price and well situated for what we wanted. The staff are all friendly and very helpful and the gym is really good but that's where it ends. The accommodation was very basic, which would be fine if the contents was of an ok standard. We had lots of problems with a very uncomfortable bed, broken shelves in the fridge (which for self catering makes it difficult to store food), kitchen utensils and knives that were either blunt or broken. The sofa was old and uncomfortable and cover with a bed sheet to try and disguise it.The restaurant looks like a village hall that someone has just stuck tables in and the food was dreadful. We ate there the first night as we'd just done a long drive. I had a steak wrap which was a really fatty and the wrap was drenched in oil. The chef really needs to learn to cook better. The cafe was good for a game of pool and a relaxed drink but there isn't any air conditioning so was unbearable some days. The wifi is non existent most of the time, making it difficult to use the internet to find places to travel to and places to eat. The sun was out most of the time we were there but unfortunately the outdoor pool was closed, even though there was a sign stating guests could use the pool at their own risk if a lifeguard wasn't present. We had a fabulous holiday but couldn't wait to leave the complex. By the looks of things they are trying to make improvements but we won't be going back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CSR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticReachLimited, Owner at Atlantic Reach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of Atlantic Reach. It is great to hear your comments about our staff and the gym, but we are also disappointed to hear that there were other areas of your trip which you did not feel were up to your expectations. We would always encourage problems such as those you have reported about the accommodation are reported to our reception team as soon as possible so we can rectify them. Customer feedback is really important to us and so we are grateful of the information you have provided. We have recently benefitted from an upgrade to the WiFi as fibre broadband is now available.

We have had some really hot weather, which whilst great, can make areas such as our new Café relatively warm on occasions. Unfortunately due to the open plan nature it is not possible to air-condition it, but Pirate Pete’s is air-conditioned and is a great place to cool down with the kids on the really hot days! The outdoor pool is open during July and August every year, and I can understand that it’s a shame if it’s not open during other hot spells.

We would love to welcome you back to Atlantic Reach in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We booked because of the gym and it was cheap, but wouldn't go anywhere to save money again. The staff were very friendly and apologetic but any interaction we had with the resort seemed problematic and made us wish we hadn't. As we arrived we saw our accommodation was grubby looking. Old stained throws were over our sofas, looked like a student flat. We stayed in a 2 bed garden terrace. The 4 bed places were much bigger, newer and looked cleaner looked much nicer. We went for dinner in the hotel restaurant as we had a long drive and just wanted to relax. It's the first time I can remember being unable to eat a meal, I had a pepperoni pizza it was so greasy it was untrue. My girlfriend had a steak wrap, it was 50/50 steak and fat. The steak was untrimmed and was so chewy with fat she too had to leave her dinner. The waitress was apologetic and took off the price of the pizza. Good service from the staff. Then we went to the cafe to get internet, the cafe had just closed a hour early because of a rush in the restaurant. We had just left there and there was a table of 10, a table of 4 and us!! There must be seats for 100 people indoor, in the marquee and on the benches outside. The table of 10 were already seated when we left, they were just been given a run down of all the food options they had run out of. The resort is a 15-20 minute drive to Newquay about £12-£15 in a cab each way. There are no walkways or cycle paths to get there. The internet was 50/50 if it worked or not the first few days we had no luck at all, (McDonalds is a 10 minute drive with free wifi) the last few days were better. A management type told us it was a "intermittent fault", I felt the younger worker summed it up more truthfully when he described it as "dodgy". It was cheap we paid £55 pound a night for 10 nights, the gym was well equipped and clean. The staff were friendly but our memories of here will be of the problems not what u want from a holiday destination

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
913 reviews
4.5 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 77 in Newquay
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Property: Atlantic Reach
Address: Atlantic Reach Atlantic REACH, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing