We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value for money”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super value for money”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really worried about holiday having read reviews but we felt that for the money this was a very good break. Stayed in a 2 bed private villa at open pool end which was great - all essentials in place. Boys loved gym and pool. Book early to use spa - missed out this time. Weather great. Tried to view 4 bed accom for a return trip but management busy. Good to have wifi at all villas and not just at reception.

Room Tip: Overall we liked the villas at open pool/ play area best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basilsboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    211
    88
    48
    37
See reviews for
396
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We came here with a large family which took up 3 villa's. These are big houses with plenty of room for relaxing and eating/cooking. There were 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms which is plenty and make things easy for a large family. The cleanliness wasn't perfect but it was good. The complex itself was good too. There is a play area, swimming pools, bars and a restaurant and is only a short drive to Newquay. My only complaint would be that the "double" beds are not wide enough for two adults and are really not very comfortable. I would definitely suggest that you ask for extra bedding to pad out the mattress or bring your own. Otherwise this is a very good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Justcharlotte88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and 7 others stayed in a privately owned house on the Atlantic reach complex (the only one with solar panels). It was in a great location just off the main road and was surrounded by beautiful views. There was lots of space in each bedroom and I'm the living/dining areas. The resort itself offers a gym (which is great and full of different style machines), and outdoor and indoor swimming pool (neither of which we used due to the excellent nearby beaches), and a bar area. We had a big back garden at our house which seemed a privilege as many other houses did not (which may be a down for most people). We did make the most of this and had bbq's on the bench outside. Different houses on the complex offer different facilities, for example, the house next door to us had a hot tub in the back garden so look at what your booking and book a house that suits your needs. I would definitely visit this complex again, but would most probably stay in the same house again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 1 Week in a two bedroom house all was very clean and tidy, everything you needed in good condition, couple of things needed attention but was not a problem. Swimming pool and soft play room were excellent and included in the price. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Used restaurant and bar only once on the last night and both were very good. For the price we paid we could not complain and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First time to Cornwall and we will never stay here again. Apart from it looking like a housing estate there were many other probs.
1) check in was 4 pm. Really u have to be out of the room by 10 am so it takes 6 hours to clean a room mmmm
2) no towels or tea towels in the room or a plug for the kitchen sink?
3) nothing to hang wet clothes on after going to the beach
4) bet sheets too small for the bed
5) place was clean apart from the kitchen chrs which were filthy
6) on arrival in reception no welcome pack..ie..map or leaflets on local attractions
7) restaurant was poor with a very small menu and very average food, also no atmosphere and was always empty..I wonder why
8) pool and cafe ok but staff happy to talk amongst themselves, pool and gym seem to be more important than us on holiday
9) supposed to be dog friendly, but there was no dog areas and no dog poo bins?
10) hand rails near our room were broken and dangerous
11) check out time was 10 am, we were advised on arrival if we were late checking out we would be charged £20 for every half. Hour over, what's funny is when we checked out we went to reception at 9 am and they were SHUT! They didn't open till 10 am, hey hope there not late lol
12) pls also be aware the walls are paper thin, we had a family put next to us and u can here everything

In short we were deeply disappointed with the site the location the customer services the lack of help to make our holiday enjoyable, please avoid unless u want to swim and go to the gym all of ur holiday then it's fine.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at Atlantic Reach through Hoseasons i explained to the booking agent at time of booking that my husband was wheelchair bound and could not walk i was told that the chalet i wanted to book was on one level but it might be a squeeze manovering the wheel chair and that there was one step over the thresshold i had no problem moving furniture or with the one step so i booked.
we were given a 2 bedroom villa ? with 2 bedrooms and bathroom and toilet upstairs? when i went back to reception to tell them it was not any good due to my husbands disability i was told i had to ring hoseasons myself to try and rectify the problem.
The receptionist did say that there was a 4 bedroom villa available but i would have to pay £100 upgrade.
the fact that i had just travelled over 230 miles to get to the holiday park didnt seem to matter to the park they wanted the extra £100 upgrade money or they wouldnt be able to help me.
I phoned Hoseasons and was told that i could have a refund or be moved to another site in Newquay.after 2 hours of phone calls hoseasons finally agreed to pay the upgrade for me as there was not any vacancies at there other parks.
The first chalet we were offered was nice.if my husband had been able bodied we would have been more than satisfied to stay there.
Our 4 bed house was fantastic disabled bedroom and bathroom downstairs and 3 large bedrooms upstairs one on suite and the seperate bathroom had a shower and jaccuzi .there was parking right outside the house. the living room/kitchen diner was huge.the whole house was immaculate.
The downside to this site is that its about 5 miles to the nearest shop or pub there is no shop on site which i found strange as all the units are self catering.
There was no evening entertainment on the site at all. the indoor pool was open and so was the gym but apart from that there was nothing.we did go to the bar a couple of times but there was no atmosphere just a couple of people playing pool. my husband drinks Guinness and every pint had a massive head on it so he really was getting 3/4 of a pint i did ask the barman to top up the glass once but didnt want to keep going to the bar to ask for a top up.Had the site been near to a pub we would have gone there.
Most of the pathways are uneven and there are hills everywhere.making it unsuitable for disabled people. i will not be returning nor would i recommend this site.The customer service here is ZERO

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a week at this park in the contemporary cottage that sleeps 8, upon arrival the park looked ok, but after checking in and trying to find our cottage it turned out that there were roadworks all over the site, and annoyingly right in front of our cottage so we couldn't access it by car. When we got in to the place, we found scaffolding on the rear of the property and a strong smell of wet paint, after investigating it turned out the whole house had been painted that morning, when opening the back door I ended up with wet paint on my hand!


When checking the place out inside we found mud on the sofas (we hope it was mud!) and a horrid musky smell upstairs with bedding that looked like it was from the 70's... The mattress felt knackered too.

The staff at reception refunded us in full after we complained as they had nothing else available away from the roadworks etc. We felt really let down and had to find alternative accommodation at the last minute.

I would avoid at all costs, we will never visit this holiday park again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R18MSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
4.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
4.5 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Property: Atlantic Reach
Address: Atlantic Reach Atlantic REACH, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing