We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atlantic Reach 4 Bedroom Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atlantic Reach 4 Bedroom Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived on Sat 2nd August at 12pm and managed to get the keys by 3pm (earlier than the 5pm time) so that was good.

The Lodge is big, well maintained (with some minor exceptions) and has some useful utilities.

We stayed in Lodge 74 and had amble parking right outside. It's a stones throw from the Reception, Cafe, Indoor Swimming Pool, Soft Play, Gym and Wifi area.

The Lodge:

Had a overwhelming smell of dogs in the carpet and sofas. Did ask reception to give the Lodge a spray of Fabreeze but disappointingly they didn't bother even though they promised to do it. Shame really. We bought some anyway and had to give the Lodge a good spray everyday. Note to Atlantic Reach - given you are a dog friendly resort wouldn't it be a good idea to have laminate floors instead of carpet? Or offer a different option of Lodge for dog owners and non dog owners?

Cafe:

Quality of food was surprising good. It took a while to come but the wait was worth it. Bacon Sandwiches were packed with Bacon - not just one slice. The healthy smoothies were also very good. Some confusing moments around the closing times though. The board outside says cafe open til 8pm but we were informed they stop serving food at 4pm. They also said that the cafe menu was also available at the main restaurant - not true! So if you are after a cream tea after 4pm - good luck to you! Note to Atlantic Reach - you are missing a opportunity here. Keep the cafe open later!

Swimming Pool(s):

Indoor and outdoor pool very nice. Simple but effective.

Gym:

Nice and big. The machines are a tad old but they do the job. Nice touch having adult swimming between 7/8am so that those wanting a early workout can hit the pool without the interruption of kids.

Soft Play:

Probably the biggest soft play area I have come across at a hotel resort - far better than the Haven Parks for example. Plenty of seating around it, with some Lego tables as well. Added bonus that it overlooks the pool and is close to the Cafe, so you can watch and eat/drink at the same time.

Spa:

I had a massage (£26 charge) and other people in my party had the sauna and steam room (£5 charge).

May need to get booked in the day you arrive as dates / time slots were sparce. Well worth a go though if you can sneak away for 30 minutes.

Restaurant:

Again, quality of food was pretty good, but we had to wait 45 mins for our starters (bread and olive oil) and with 2 kids this was unacceptable. We thought we allowed sufficient time to have dinner before the kids club started - it was not the case. I had to leave dinner with the kids so they got to the club, leaving the rest of my party to wait for their mains. I refused to eat in there after that and chose to go to the nearby Fish and Chips shop (starboard Fish & Chips) which was fantastic food! Note to Atlantic Reach - with only one restaurant on site you have to be quicker or others will go elsewhere.

Bar Food:

With the Cafe out of action from 4pm and the restaurant very slow service, your other choice is the extremely limited bar menu, which is basically Pizza, Chips & Nachos. Unfortunately we had a bad experience here as well. Tried to order twice at the bar (for a 7pm snack for the kids) but was turned away both times for different reasons - one was that they had just taken a large order and couldn't take our order as well(?). Note to Atlantic Reach - don't ever turn away a paying customer!

Conclusion:

Would I come back........Yes I would.

I would however make sure I stated from the very start that I would want a Lodge that didn't smell of Dog. Otherwise my wife will drive the 6hrs home straight away.

I would also do a lot more research around other places to eat close by without having to drive in To Newquay (beware of traffic at the weekend!).

My tip to everyone reading this is rather than go to Newquay beach, travel the 20 mins down the A30 to Perranporth and go there. It's an authentic seaside town, unlike Newquay that has lost its charm over the years.

Room Tip: Beware of the smell of Dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    206
    87
    46
    36
See reviews for
388
50
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice resort with decent family-orientated facilities. The on site restaurant does good meals and the staff were very friendly and professional. Accommodation was well maintained and spacious for a family of three. A great base for exploring North Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCoombes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here last week in a two bed house, excellent base to explore cornwall, both pools very nice and clean.Entertainment was a bit hit and miss was ok in the whole.The king of swing on tuesday was awful, not funny at all in my opnion! had a couple of meals in restraunt and they were fine. would stay again !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbm247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

at the end of June we were about to start our holiday and I chanced reading recent reviews ...I was very disappointed and was very worried about the property I had booked ...whoever wrote these reviews must have been staying at a different resort . We arrived early and chanced being able to settle in our accommodation ...absolutely no problem ...and when we arrived at our house it was fantastic ...clean, spacious, welcome items in the fridge ....we have stayed in much worse hotels ...the bedrooms were superb and great bathrooms ...we had three as our party was large ...overall everything was great ...accommodation ,staff and a great base for touring...four bedroom house absolutely superb

Room Tip: go for the biggest you can afford ...4 bedroom ...superb...anywhere on site is great as it not far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our 3rd stay here and we have noticed some big, but for the better changes. As a family, we love this out of the town area which offers so much. A great base that we can say has a lot to offer. Camping, now. Wow. I am sure they are onto a winner there. Tour caravan too. Café a great plus. Some lovely staff, Sam, keen to help and offer good advice. Entertainment has been thunk, and again a plus.

Room Tip: Builds near the entertainment are great, but you can not quarentee your neighbour will go to bed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one week in two bed chalet with family all had a great time, ideal base, good family entertainment. Was a little concerned after reading some previous comments and must say that I was pleasantly surprised. The two bed chalet was spacious, well equipped and clean. All staff very helpful and generally the park was tidy and well kept. Would be happy to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcestershireJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had an amazing time at this resort with my husband and 2 sons .Amazing staff and facilities and accommodation was superb. We stayed in a 4 bed cottage which was like home from home. Entertainment for the children was great and they loved every minute of it. Adult entertainment was also great and the entertainment team were brilliant .Prices in bar/restaurant were very reasonable. Location of resort is great as very near beautiful local beaches.

Room Tip: all accommodation on site was lovely and contemporary, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
11.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
5.7 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Property: Atlantic Reach
Address: Atlantic Reach Atlantic REACH, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing