We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Atlantic Reach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Reach
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Ok you drive up to the location and to be honest you think what have you let yourself in for. But we must say that a pleasant surprise was about to be upon us.
We stayed in a 8 person house and it was just perfect in every way, clean and attention to detail was just spot on inthe house. The beds were even comfy.
The club house was just as you would expect a little of something for everyone ...... echo the dolphin for the young ones whom really really worked his/her stuff to get the tiny ones involved to the king of swing for the older people.... didnt stay for that thou.... and pig racing..... that to would have been a giggle.
The whole complex was well maintained including the grounds.The staff are pleasant.

The only draw backs we found are:

The resturant does not cater for gluten free diets.

You can not not walk to the local train station to get the train into Newquay as there is no public footpath to the village where the station is and you are risking a walk on a busy bendy main road.

Also we were advised that there ws no local bus service that serviced the complex area so you need to rely on your car or pay taxi fares!!!

But on the whole the area is a good central location and we would defo go back again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathrine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    217
    92
    51
    37
See reviews for
416
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

please please!!dont be put off by previous reviews on atlantic reach!!we have just spent a week for half term there with our 2 boys aged 8 an 12 who said it was the best holiday ever!!the minute we arrived we were greeted at reception by lucy and paula who were fantastic along with all the reception girls for the entire length of our stay!we stayed in a 4 bed gold villa that was 6*!!everything you could possible need was in it and fully working!the best was the jacuzzi bath in main bathroom!!we all had hours of fun soaking in it!the site was very clean and spacious the boys loved the park and zip wire!!and my 12 yr old liked the teen den!it was a shame that the outside pool was not open or the trampoline an bouncy castle up but they played golf many times.there was good entertainment in the day for all age kids but we spent most days out an about the cornish coasts!we did go to the pm shows an captain krazy was good fun!the pool is open till 8 and is fully manned by life guards.the gym is well equiped and the instructor derek was really helpful to me as i needed help and advice which he gave willingly.We ate in the restaurant which was good food an excellent service!THE SPA !!!pure heaven an a must to use if you go there!lovely therapists leanne! and i had a massage with paula using hot stones and it was the best massage i have ever had and i have them regulary back home.The chinese rest up the road is good and the fish chip rest/take way was the best!we are just about to book again for next year so if you are looking for a great place to stay in cornwall you must stay at the atlantic reach country club GREAT FAMILY HOLIDAY

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckinghamshireAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

myself and four hiking buddies stayed at Atlantic Reach while walking on the SW coastal path. We found the accomodation really spacious and comfortable. Generally the house(we stayed in the 4 bed) very light and airey. As a location it gave us easy access to several towns in the locale - Newquay, Padstow and Truro. Not far away there is a large supermarket for shopping for essentials like wine and beer! The site itself is very pleasant and safe. Saw lots of families there enjoying themselves, many who had foreign holidays ruined by the ash cloud. We would definitely return here again. Also noticed that there were several wedding parties happening in the main buildings - seemed an ideal location for such an event

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiefaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I am unsure how Hoseasons managed to do such a good job on disguising this place for what it really is in their brochure and website.

The vision that greets you after an extremely long drive is a 1960's council estate that looks extremely tatty and is overrun with cars with nowhere to park by your house. It rained on nearly all of the days that we were there in the summer holidays, however, I still jealously eyed the overcrowded campsites down the road as they had a better outlook than I did in my £900 per week lodge.

What else can I say to put you off staying at this place. Please look anywhere else but here, it WILL disappoint you. Cornwall is such a beautiful county and there are many more places to stay than Atlantic Reach that would enhance your Cornish experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lonangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARWICKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2009

This was our 1st visit to Alantic Reach it was recommended to us by a friend. The location was far away from the hussle and bussle of life, but near enough to local shops, and not to far from main roads to go exploring!

The accommodation I have stayed in each time is the Superior 2 Bed house which is about a minutes walk from car park/ reception/ gym and pool facilities. The house had a double bed, and 2 single beds that were clean, comfy ! The kitchen was well equipted, electric cooker , microwave.The bathroom was clean, shower was excellent. We stayed in a few nights and watch TV and DVDS,


We cant comment on the restaurant facility as we didnt use it, but the option was given to us on arrival.

The gym was clean, well maintained.

I mainly use this resort as a base for visiting the sites of Cornwall so find it hard to review the bar/restaurant facilities as I haven't really used them but the staff that I have spoken to seem to be very friendly.

We were in a good base point, to go travelling around and enjoying the sites of cornwall.

We would definatley go back again without any hesistation!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITALIAN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

After having read all the negative reviews on this website - I was really dreading going there - we stayed in a Atlantic Premier 2 bedroom. Yes there was a bit of a musty smell in the place when we got there, but this was soon eliminated with some air freshener that I had taken (after having read previous comments). It was very clean, well equipped and my 7 yr old son loved the pool - although it couldve been a couple of degrees warmer for me ( I like it more like a bath!) The only downside really was the evening entertainment - we did 2 nights and that was enough! - not our cup of tea really, but A lot of the other residents seemed to really enjoy themselves. Drinks at bar are expensive, we also had dinner in the restaurant on our last night - it was lovely - I had ribeye steak and it was cooked to perfection! (medium rare). Never got a chance to use the spa - unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krazykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

we love it here.been a few times going again on halloween staying for bonfire night.nice pool,gym well equipt only if you are 16 and over.not much for tenagers been in atlantic premier and gold couldnt fault them.reception very friendly and helpful restaraunt a little expencive.nice pub restaraunt down the road 2 cloms newquay not far in the car also morrisons aldi and mc donnalds.lots going on in hight of season we went go carting,did archery,each to their own.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyhaywood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
6.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
136 reviews
5.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Reach

Property: Atlantic Reach
Address: Atlantic Reach, Whitecross, Newquay TR8 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Reach is a leading family holiday resort set in 50 acres of countryside, close to Newquay in Cornwall and is open all year round. It is easily accessible from the A30, and allows easy access to all the beautiful sights of Cornwall including The Eden Project and some of Cornwall's top beaches. The South West Coast Path offers some spectacular walking along cliffs, headlands and beaches. Our facilities include swimming pools, large gym with regular activities for children and adults, Spa with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, golf course, indoor soft play centre, bar, restaurant, entertainment during school holidays and more. We have 2 bedroom and 4 bedroom holiday homes at Atlantic Reach and some are available with private Hot Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Reach Hotel Newquay
Atlantic Reach Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing