We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I could have ever imagined.”
Review of Chynoweth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chynoweth Lodge
Ranked #16 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than I could have ever imagined.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a weekend away for my girlfriends birthday, we stumbled across this B&B online and decided to book a couple of nights.

The entire place is clean and well decorated, the breakfasts were amazing and Glenn and Alison's hospitality and advice made it truly a weekend to remember, we're planning on staying here again the next time we plan a few days break, they've probably landed themselves with another regular customer here :).

We loved it so much we stayed an extra night on top of our original booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
116
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Good location in a quiet part of Newquay. Alison and Glenn made us feel at home! The rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was great and they did everything to help us plan our day excursions. They gave us brilliant restaurant recommendations and even made table reservations for us. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport south wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A lovely 2 night break was spent in Newquay staying at chynoweth...what a fantastic guest house,the hosts were the nicest couple you could wish to meet..The room was lovely the bed was so comfortable i slept like a log..The omeletts i had for my breakfast were delicious (thankyou Alison)..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you go to Newquay, then Chynoweth Lodge in Eliot Gardens is the Bees Knees of Guest Houses
run by two of the nicest couple you could ever wish to meet. "Glenn & Alison"
My wife and i have stayed there many times and would not stay anywhere else,
Guests are always made very welcome, the rooms are first class as is the Breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble,
Chynoweth Lodge is in a lovely tree lined street only minutes from the sea and town.

Room Tip: All rooms are modern and very Comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank videotec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Booked a 5 night stay after reading the reviews and loved it. Chynoweth is as good as the reviews say. Fantastic, homely guest house where you,re made very welcome by the owners Glenn and Alison. Couldn't, fault anything. Could relax at night, the breakfast were perfect with plenty to choose from. Rooms were spotless and there is plenty of parking. It makes a good base for travelling around Cornwall and is walking distance to Newquay. On the advice of Glenn we took the train to st. Ives. A gorgeous and scenic route along the coast. Do it if you get the chance, it's well worth it. Many thanks to Glenn and Alison for your hospitality and making our stay perfect. Looking forward to our next stay at Chynoweth Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Chynoweth Lodge is located in an ideal place - very close walking distance to the town centre as well as other attractions like the Zoo, Blue Reef Aquarium and many restaurants and pubs, but at the same time is very quiet.

Alison and Glenn were such friendly and helpful hosts, guiding us to places we wanted to walk to, letting us know where the food was good and cooking the most wonderful breakfasts! Nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with a smile - even the dog was amazing! I really appreciate accommodation that allows dogs to stay as it seems to make it that little more welcoming.

The room was always spotlessly clean when we came back in the evenings and parking was very secure and tucked behind the B&B which reassured us that our car was safe. The value for money was also brilliant.

Chynoweth Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Having had an excellent stay at Chynoweth Lodge in 2012 we returned in 2013. Everything about our second stay was perfect yet again. Alison & Glenn are great hosts - it's like you're stopping with friends. We were given the same room as our last visit which had also been freshened up (not that it needed it!). Breakfast was great, so much choice on offer. We will be back, there's no question of that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 105 in Newquay
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#9 of 105 in Newquay
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chynoweth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chynoweth Lodge

Property: Chynoweth Lodge
Address: 1 Eliot Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chynoweth Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest house located in the Centre of Newquay. Visit Britain Four Star, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chynoweth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chynoweth Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing