We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for one night over the Easter break, we stayed in a family room which was large enough for 2 adults and 2 children and was clean and comfortable. We usually only have the breakfast at the hotel but as it was late when we arrived we decided to eat there. We were very disappointed with food, a lot of the choices were not available and what we did get was very poor. Both the children meals came with brown, limp, dried up carrots, my daughter had a burger, which was just a burnt burger in a bun (no relish, salad etc) and my wife’s baked camembert was burned. The excuse was that they had run out of food over the busy bank holiday, however, running out of food should not effect the preparation of the remaining items on the menu! The food may have been bad but the service was not, despite being clearly short staffed the staff tried their best to keep the customers happy (which considering the circumstances was not an easy thing to do).

Fortunately normal service was resumed the following morning with the all you can eat/buffet breakfast being up to its usual good standard. We have stayed here previously and will do in the future but will not be eating there during the day/evening.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitsunegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great helpful staff on reception made booking in quick and easy - just what is needed after a long journey. Staff booked us a table in the restaurant and informed us about breakfast costs . Breakfasts are well worth the money.

Staff in the restaurant work very hard. We stayed 2 nights so had 4 meals there - varied menu though mainly the expected 'pub chain' selections. that having been said service and quality were good.

Good friday and easter saturday there was an easter bunny giving out easter eggs to the children - a nice touch.

Would always recommend Premier Inns as quality is guaranteed, and accommodation is clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123 at the back of the hotel over looking car park and restaurant entrance. I thi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

we stayed sunday 15th april 12 in a family room the room was very clean we had a very comfortable night as the hotel is situated just outside of newquay on a roundabout we did have some traffic noise it must have been a night for emergency services 3 or 4 went passed during the night with sirens on apart from that everything else was good we paid 38pounds super saver so exceptional value for money for us for anight away then off to cornwall for the day would definately come back for an overnight stay again its a no frills hotel we didnt bother with the breakfast as we wanted to explore watergate bay , padstow and newquay for food

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Really great place to stay, easy check-in with the advice to book for evening meal and breakfast.
Couldn't fault the choice of breakfast, kids loved it! Decent beds and lovely duvets. Nice and quiet so a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

hotel situated a couple of miles outside Newquay on a roundabout - had a room facing the road, but very little noise.

Family room with really comfortable beds - for sixty quid including breakfast you can't really go wrong.

Second time I've stayed here (always for one night on the way to west Cornwall), and also stay and visit a lot of hotels in my job, what stands out here is the staff - work really well as a team and show a lot of proudness in what they do. I stay in hotels costing five times the price and the beds are most comfortable I experience

Only slight quibble was that this year (Good Friday morning) breakfast was chaotic with not enough staff - but the staff tackled it with professionalism and tenacity - even the Easter Bunny was helping out!

For those that are too snobbish to try a Premier Inn, give it a go; far better than dreadful Travelodge, and better than Ramada Encore and Express by Holiday Inn in my opinion

Room Tip: try and avoid a room overlooking the road
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for one night during the Easter Half Term. Check in was extremely friendly and simple. Our room was a large family room with air conditioning. The king sized bed was a little hard, but still quite comfortable. The boys had their own put you up single beds, which were good, not like the sofa beds that pull out on the floor, they were very comfortable and didn't disturb each other during the night. The shower was very good. Breakfast was also very good, an all you can eat cooked breakfast option where the kids eat free. My husband particularly liked the vegetarian sausages. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil41yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed her for a short stay, choise as the price was good and it tuned out to be a very good hotel. Resturant was nice and the breakfast was excellent, kids eat free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing