We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Kennford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and had a very nice time. Very convenient for moving about. The staff were just excellent. Could do with a business lounge though for work.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    227
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
287
265
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just this morning returned from a night here. The place is clean and comfortable, situated just off a roundabout. We were on the first floor, facing the roundabout in our room (number 115) and though quite noisy by day, the traffic noise did not disturb us by night as the amount of vehicles was greatly reduced, however should you be a very light sleeper, ask for one away from the Roundabout. Our room was also above the main entrance of the restaurant but noise from people leaving was not a problem. This particular room seemed a little smaller than some other Premier Inns we'd stayed in recently but was not tiny by any means. The car park is shared by the Table Table restaurant but finding a space wasn't a problem.
We ate at the restaurant in the evening and the staff, food and service were excellent.
The Premier Inn staff though always present, seem a bit preoccupied. The checking Inn process was easy enough but on checking out, we waited at reception, 2 were on duty, one on the telephone, so fair enough was busy, the other was looking at the computer screen and seemed oblivious to us stood right in front of her, she eventually glanced up and said 'Oh, you're checking out' smiled. But that wasn't much of a problem all in all, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the roundabout if you are a light sleeper. . . . And There is a lift if you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Arrived the 4th may 2012 for one night, must say the hotel staff were excellent!
Had booked breakfast for next morning, on arrival 10-30am, had to wait ages to be seated,(wasnt busy!) Then no plates for toast, no cereal spoons, staff seemed in a world of there own!
They started to clear breakfast stuff away before we had our cooked breakfast, had to ask for tea bags, which were handed unpackaged to me by Mandy c(pigtails) who coughed over them,
was 15 minutes before she came to take our order for cooked breakfast! Then girl started clearing and spraying disenfectant on next table, which we had to breathe! Also the noise of clattering around us was awful, instead of being left to enjoy our breakfast! All in all was a terrible experience.I used Premier inn all week on holiday in cornwall, this wasnt good.

Room Tip: Rooms fine,restaurant awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Quintrell downs premier inn has the best staff of most prem inns in Cornwall cannot do enough for you very disable friendly with lifts etc
Restaurant good value for money and don't have to wait to long for the food which of th six times I have stayed has always been fresh and hot''

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsoapy202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitsunegari
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for one night over the Easter break, we stayed in a family room which was large enough for 2 adults and 2 children and was clean and comfortable. We usually only have the breakfast at the hotel but as it was late when we arrived we decided to eat there. We were very disappointed with food, a lot of the choices were not available and what we did get was very poor. Both the children meals came with brown, limp, dried up carrots, my daughter had a burger, which was just a burnt burger in a bun (no relish, salad etc) and my wife’s baked camembert was burned. The excuse was that they had run out of food over the busy bank holiday, however, running out of food should not effect the preparation of the remaining items on the menu! The food may have been bad but the service was not, despite being clearly short staffed the staff tried their best to keep the customers happy (which considering the circumstances was not an easy thing to do).

Fortunately normal service was resumed the following morning with the all you can eat/buffet breakfast being up to its usual good standard. We have stayed here previously and will do in the future but will not be eating there during the day/evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsunegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great helpful staff on reception made booking in quick and easy - just what is needed after a long journey. Staff booked us a table in the restaurant and informed us about breakfast costs . Breakfasts are well worth the money.

Staff in the restaurant work very hard. We stayed 2 nights so had 4 meals there - varied menu though mainly the expected 'pub chain' selections. that having been said service and quality were good.

Good friday and easter saturday there was an easter bunny giving out easter eggs to the children - a nice touch.

Would always recommend Premier Inns as quality is guaranteed, and accommodation is clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123 at the back of the hotel over looking car park and restaurant entrance. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

we stayed sunday 15th april 12 in a family room the room was very clean we had a very comfortable night as the hotel is situated just outside of newquay on a roundabout we did have some traffic noise it must have been a night for emergency services 3 or 4 went passed during the night with sirens on apart from that everything else was good we paid 38pounds super saver so exceptional value for money for us for anight away then off to cornwall for the day would definately come back for an overnight stay again its a no frills hotel we didnt bother with the breakfast as we wanted to explore watergate bay , padstow and newquay for food

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing