We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We spent 6 nights at this premier inn. It was clean, modern comfortable with everything you needed. Tea/coffee in room which was handy first thing in the morning. Clean towels and hot water in the bathroom which was great as some have warm water. The restaurant Breakfast was excellent. with the Continental buffet choice which again was better than other Premier Inns. The choice of Cooked Breakfast was again tops. The Staff of both Inn and Restaurant were very attentive and concerned that you were having the best. There was no noise from the road but as we were staying in October with windows shut maybe Summer may be different but there is Air Conditioning in the room. There is a lift if you have heavy luggage or wheelchair or Buggy. The only down side..we had to leave. Reccommended and will definately come again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaygee2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have stayed at Premier Inn in the past and been more than happy with the accommodation and this stay was the same as before. The problem was every time we went to eat in the restaurant something went wrong. On the first night our main course was delayed by 40 minutes because the waitress forgot to tell the chef we had finished our starter. In breakfast the following morning the same happened with out cooked breakfast, we waited 35 mins and then just left. Then on the final meal we waited 20 mins for our coffee's only to be told that our waitress thought someone else had brought them to us. The food itself was nice but the poor service let down our stay. I must point out that it was not always busy when we went to eat so I could not put down the poor service to being understaffed. I would happily stay again at the premier inn to sleep but I would not eat again in the pub as I hate to complain or have to ask people where is my food / or drinks.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0adR1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Arrived tired after a long journey and the welcome could not have been warmer. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and gave us lots of local information which came in really handy. The room was as we would expect from Premier Inn, clean & comfortable. Although the road outside was busy it did not disturb us. Overall a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheParkers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked a family room for the 4 of us for just one night. Room size was good plenty big enough for all of us. We were located on the second floor of the hotel directly overlooking the busy road not great but the double glazing kept out the noise of the traffic. Whilst the room was good in terms of size and cleanliness a few things let it down. There seemed to be a stale tobacco smell coming from the aircon, this wasn't too much of an issue bit was much stronger in the bathroom. Second issue was a noise coming from a internal wall which ran through the night and the last issue was a bent folding bed leg.... this was easily fixed.

Despite the few issues the helpfullness of the staff made up the difference. All were willing to help and on reporting the issues in the morning we were given a refund with no quibbles or questions. Really great customer service and I would stay there again next time we're heading to Newquay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here a few years ago, tried somewhere else last year but came back this year.
Plenty of parking, helpful and pleasant staff, good room and bed, nice bar and outside area and a good, well-priced menu.
The breakfast, individually cooked to order, is several rungs above the self-service version we've had in much more expensive hotels, with its hard fried eggs and dried out beans.
The location, though on a busy roundabout, is very quiet and only a few minutes drive from our friends on the outskirts of Newquay.
While we were there we drove the 1.5 miles to Trerice, a lovely old National Trust property, and walked around the corner to a garden centre.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I spend a lot of time in hotels around the country. She is a wheelchair user so before we can plan where to stay we have to ensure that parking, access and toilet facilties meet our needs. She is also a strict vegetarian so this can really complicate our hotel of choice. We have spent a lot of time at Premier Inn hotels as this chain really do seem to have a genuine understanding for the needs of a disabled person and don't just play lip service to them. When we arrived at Quintrel Downs, as expected there was plenty of disabled parking available very close to the Reception entrance - a great start. Automatic, wide doors into the Recption were a huge bonus on arrival especially when my wife's wheelchair is carer propelled. As usual, we were greeted by a friendly, polite and professional receptionist and our check-in went very smoothly. Premier take security very seriously and in this paricular hotel, a key-card entry system is used from the Reception into the accommodation area. I have to say, this presented us with big problems when entering this area, The card reader is fitted to the door and once activated only gives the user about 5 seconds to open the door - not long enough for me to move the wheelchair and push to the door. We are very used to transiting doors in reverse now but on this occasion, it was a poor solution because we than had to travel the length of the corridor backwards as there was not sufficient room to turn the chair. We usually were offered assistance by the receptionist, but we were there for 4 days and frequently the desk was unmanned so we had to wait for someone to assist us. The room was great - we reserved a wetroom which was marvellous. It was equipped with plenty of grab rails and had plenty of space for manouvering and carer assisted bathing. Plenty of space in the room and everything was accessible for a wheelchair user. A Table Table resaurant services this hotel and I have to say the food was great, especially the beakfast which if you opted for a full English, was always cooked to order and served piping hot by exceptionally friendly staff. Whenever we ate there, all the staff were always very helpful and friendly. There is only limited choices of vegetarian food (but generally, that is the same everywhere) but what was available was enjoyed by my wife. All in all, another good stay at a Premier Inn, only marred by the tricky entrance into the accommodation area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at a Premier Inn in England. The rooms are nice and clean. Good hotel for the price and the location was good to get to an EARLY flight out of Newquay airport.
BTW, love the purple! LOL!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prudence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £45 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing