We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I have stayed here previously on a few occasions and generally it is quite a good Premier Inn. I stayed for 2 nights in November at £19 per night which is pretty good value. The room I had was next to the busy road and there was a lot of traffic noise although there seemed to be very little traffic at night so it wasn't too much of a problem. The location of the hotel is one of the best aspects of choosing the Quintrell Downs Premier Inn. It's about 3 miles from Newquay town centre and about 2 miles from the nearest beach.
The room was clean and comfortable, the staff at Reception were pleasant and the continental breakfast in the Treffry Tavern next door was good.
The one thing that lets this Premier Inn down is if you use the Treffry Tavern for an evening meal. The meal I had on the first night, rump steak, was as tough as old boots and the portion size was poor. I ate here on the second night and the food was fine. Not exactly good value or huge portions but it was edible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

A last minute booking as ever was accommodated and the off season rate was excellent. Great service a warm welcome and staff who care about their customers remembered us from the last visit. Quiet rooms, spacious and clean with excellent car parking and close to main routes into Newquay and back to the A30. Asking for more coffee wasn't a problem and a smooth check in check out made the one night stay pain free. Have stayed here previously and would reccommend it to others as a reliable dependable hotel.

Room Tip: Mobile reception is variable in rooms closer to the centre of the hotel. 30 mins free internet helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for a family gathering - the hotel itself is OK, clean with reasonably good very basic rooms, however, we parked our car (brand new vehicle) right under the CCTV camera on arrival and checked it the following morning at 09.30am - everything was fine. We went out for the day in another car and between the hours of 09.30 and 15.00 it was badly damaged. We reported this to reception who said that they would check the CCTV but miraculously 'could see nothing' how a car gets its bumper and wheel arch scraped on its own is beyond me. I felt that our concerns were not taken seriously by the staff despite calling the police they appeared indifferent and we had to keep chasing them to ask if they had viewed the security footage. There was no apology or any offer of assistance but a bizzarre story relayed by the receptionist of how another guest had parked next to us and told the receptionist that 'we would be pee'd off' because our new vehicle has been damaged??? . If you value your car stay elsewhere...

Room Tip: Not good if you are a light sleeper - If you stay on the lower levels you can hear stomping about ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your review.

I was most concerned to learn of your recent experience with Premier Inn.

Please be assured we take the security of our guests very seriously and we are currently investigating this matter with the Management Team and we will be in contact with you directly.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I would recommend this location to anyone. The car parking was extensive, check in facilities swift, and the room quality is something that PI have obviosuly worked on. Clean and everyhting you need. Very convenient location for Newquay and easily accessible from the A30 for the rest of the area. Staff were always helpful and attentive. If you are on Vodafone don't expect mobile telephone reception to be good inside the hotel - but perhaps thats a good thing anyway?

Room Tip: A room at the rear overlooking the car park may be a little quieter, as the cows in the nearby field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The rooms were good, clean and cosy and would certainly book another room.. However the restuarant when we went in for breakfast, we were greeted by a loud mouthed waitress, who showed us to our seats, took orders from everyone else after us and we had to approach her to take our order. When the food eventually arrived it was cold, and the eggs although we asked for scrambled looked like a plate of solidified omlette. We had twin grandsons with us and they thought the food was awful too. We ended up going to Morrisons for breakfast who cooked a fantastic breakfast for much less than we had paid. I certainly would not recommend eating there, which is a shame because other Premier Inns that I have stayed at have always given excellant quality on the food side.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank lynjoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we thought the hotel was great, very clean etc. the food was very good indeed all the staff were very friendly we booked the english breakfast every morning and the only down side was that me and my son have good appetites and it was all you can eat ,and when we ordered it with the lady she had this habit of shouting the order out so every body could here it but other than that it was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavingritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in a family room on a Friday night. It is located in what feels like a quiet and safe area with ample parking. Check-in was quick and friendly.

The room was a good size and was clean and modern. Unlike other Premier Inns the mattress was firm and very comfortable. The choice of different types of pillows also made for an extremely good night's sleep.

The only (very tiny) criticism was that "free wifi" was advertised on large hoardings outside but once in the room we discovered that it was just 30 mins free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing