We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* hotel for 2* price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5* hotel for 2* price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This review is a tad late, as we stayed in mid February. We arrived and were plesantly greeted by Mel, who made every effort to accommodate our request of a top floor room.
We have stayed in several other Premier Inns, and this one is one of the best. OK it's nothing to look at from the outside, but the people certainly make up for the drab exterior.
We dined a couple of times in the connected TT, (but honestly - try the pub The Quint - 30 seconds walk away - (Thurs - Sat for food), 'cos the food is exquisite!!)
Located in the heart of the village, train station, shop, pubs, all within a 2 minute walk of hotel! After a completely silent night's sleep :). At breakfast EVERY morning, the smiles and cheery chatter of Donna & Sally were such a breath of fresh air - and certainly motivated us for the morning. We couldn't praise them enough. If you want an inexpensive trip to Cornwall, within easy reach of everything, choose this hotel, as it is superb on all fronts. We WILL return - and I for one can't wait!
One slight problem if you have an internet capable phone - no 3G in this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to firstly thank you for taking time to sit and write such a lovely review on your stay with us at Premier Inn Newquay/Quintrell Downs.

We take pride in providing great service to everyone that stays with us, and to have people such as yourselves take 5 minutes to sit and write a review shows us that we are doing our jobs properly and that our efforts haven't gone unnoticed.

Thank you also for your comments on the restaurant team, I have passed on your review to the managment team.

Once again many thank you for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back at Quintrell Downs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    227
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
287
265
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Had a really nice time at this hotel, happy staff throughout, lovely breakfast. Nice room and quiet sleep....maybe use a better quality sausage and a safety device on the shower to prevent the water being too hot as you check would be my only negatives, but well worth the stay! Good central location not to near to the town if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Watch the shower is'nt to hot when you get in as no safety contol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjoyce4054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We just had a couple of nights here but it was clean and fresh and the staff were friendly and helpful. Standard Table Table restaurant on site but local pubs were more homely. Situated outside Newquay on a roundabout but didn't seem to detract from getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringolumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I booked with my daughter for a 3 nigt stay during the half term holiday.

We were impressed with the ease of check in as well as very friendly staff who had good knowledge of the local area. We were able to catch the 527 to eden project right outside the hotel which was great.

The room was well maintained, clean and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfy and the room was warm. I had a booked a double room for me and my daughter but they had kindly put in a single bed for her.

One night my daughter was feeling unwell and didn't want to eat in the restaurantt so the staff kindly took my order and brought the food to our room which was very kind and helpful of them.

Would definatley stay here again and highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

After a 400 mile drive and a funeral, we arrived at our hotel rather weary and tired and received a very friendly welcome. The lady on reception ordered us a taxi whilst we unpacked which turned up very promptly. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy and very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and served by 2 great ladies in the dining room who were very friendly and were doing a great job looking after everyone, a real 10/10 goes to them!
A great hotel for a night or two on the road or a weekend in Newquay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We used this hotel due to its location. However some things need to change. When we checked in to our room we went to pug in our toothbrush in the bathroom to find no power point. I went down to reception the only way to speak to anybody as no phone in the room to contact reception. The lady on reception advised that the only rooms with power points in them a the disabled rooms!! Is there some reason for this strange policy ???
The room itself was of a reasonable standard .
Never accept room 104 as the hotel is on a roundabout and this room over looks the roundabout.The soundproofing is awful and you get constant road noise all day and all night. So much for the good sleep promise ! We were there at a quite time for the roads in Cornwall , I hate to think what it must be like in the height of the season.
There were 2 adults and 1 child in the room but housekeeping seemed to think that only 2 people needed a hand towel. One day we put the towels on the bath to be changed , to return to find no clean towels had been left. We went down to reception to find other people also asking for towels.
The following day despite having to ask for three towels once again we were down to two towels.
The cups were also left unwashed on several days when we returned.
I fully accept this is not a 5* hotel but basic checks should still be made . Does nobody do a quality check on the housekeeping standards.
Why not have a guest review card in the room.
The only plus side was the breakfast and the service from Sally , who could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take all feedback seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate these issues further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We use prem inn all the time around the country and this one at quintrell is excellent, very good location for exploring cornwall. Rooms are huge very clean everything you expect from prem inn. The only negative is the attached table/table restaurant, each morning we only saw 2 staff who were run ragged with a busy room trying to keep food replenished was all but impossible. T&T dont do buffet help yourself instead the "waitress" takes your order you then enjoy the cereals etc then between 8 and 38 minutes later your brekkie turns up, why dont they just do as other prem inns do and its all help yourself that way the customer eats what they want when they want and leaves the restaurant much quicker saves the staff rushing round taking orders while people are just sat there waiting. They also cater for the locals quite a lot and as a hotel guest its a case of join the Q if they have room for you fine if not tuf you eat somewhere else. Whislt we were there they even had a wake in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing