We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good price, nice clean room, just what we needed for one night. Yes it is next to a roundabout but its not that busy in the mornings / night time that you wouldn't be able to sleep.

If your coming to Newquay on a holiday you may prefer to stay in a hotel nearer the town centre but if you have a car or are passing through then this hotel is fine.

The attached bar/ restaurant was good

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellsamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We are local to the village and usually use the Clomes because it is simply superb. But, by way of a change, the kids chose the Trefry (premier inn) for our dinner tonight. To be completely honest it was excellent.
The food was good, very good. I had a mixed grill and the portions were perfect. None of the plates were overloaded with chips and everything was hot and fresh and well presented. Even my fried egg was done to perfection (its the little things that count). It was reasonably busy and the waiting time was minimal.
The thing that made it really special was our waitress, Fay. She was completely brilliant. My kids warmed to her immediately. She was informative, polite and had an appropriate sense of humour. Always smiling and eager to help and exceptionally good at her job. She is a huge asset to the inn/tavern and I would like to thank the management for employing such a wonderful girl. Thank you Fay! We are local and will be returning.
The venue is very clean. The toilets were spotless and odour free. The food was tasty and not overwhelming. It is like very good pub grub, what you would expect from a premier inn but a couple of links higher in the chain.
The only down side was the cost of certain drinks. Magners bottle was £4.25 (ouch). The mixed grill was £13.99 and all the meat was great quality, especially the steak.
Loads of parking and dead easy to find. Its not really in competition with The Two Clomes because they are so different. Both well worth a visit but the Clomes has that 'extra special' touch. But, having said that, the Trefry for us on this occasion ticked all the boxes. Our waitress was utterly fantastic and we came away with full tummies and smiles on our faces.
Thank you very much.
Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studiologic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Highly recommended and value for money! We stopped over for a night before our flight out from Newquay Airport the next morning. We chose it primarily because of its proximity to the Airport but was bowled over by the comfort of the rooms and friendliness of the staff. We had a family room and the travel cot was all made up when we arrived. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. We ate at the adjoining restaurant and it was great not to have to leave the hotel for something to eat. We shall definitely come back should we ever go to the Newquay area again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Had a couple of problems when staying at this Premier Inn, but have to say we received the best customer service that we have ever had. The response was quick and the problems were cleared up without hesitation. We would like to thanks both staff and management and we have already booked to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Premier Inns across to UK tend to vary a little. At Manchester Airport, for example, Runger Lane North is noticeably better than Runger Lane South - although both are on the same site.
The Premier Inn at Quintrell Downs was what my wife and I would regard as a 'good average'.

When we arrived, we were allocated a room on the road side. Noisy. Chris, on reception soon put this right and offered us a choice of rooms overlooking the large car park. Much better. The smell in Room 135 was soon dissipated when the air-con was turned up. Likewise extra towels were immediately provided when requested. (Only one hand towel and one bath towel for two people?). Chris also addressed the problem of the drummer across the way.

The best aspect of our stay was the standard of the staff service. When advised, our waitress soon sorted out the error of me paying for the rump steak consumed by the gentleman at the next table in the restaurant. When we had to forgo our morning toast due to a small boy having been dispatched to toast more than half a loaf for the benefit of his extended family our waitress apologised explaining that the toast machine tended to be unreliable sometimes.

Apart from these minor problems our stay at this Premier Inn was quite satisfactory - having regard to the price paid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road. Those overlooking the car park tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel for one night only as a stop over to visit newquay. It is situated a little out of town but this posed no major issue. Greeting on arrival was vert friendly check in was fast and room was excellent valye for money. Tv signal in the room was the only negative as it kept breaking up. The table table restaurant attached was busy but there were plenty of staff and all were friendly and helpful. Decor was very comfortable. The buffalo wings lacked sauce and heat for my taste but otherwise were nice. The pumpkin and chilli soup which wasnt actually on the menu but was made available was also very nice but lacked a little kick. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would highly recommend it..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shn-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My family and I stayed here during the first week of Easter. Hotel is very well located if you want a good base to visit all the small towns/villages in North Cornwall. Location was very quiet and although there is a road/roundabout directly outside, the traffic noise was minimal. Hotel was immaculately clean and staff very friendly and helpful (always seem to find this in Cornwall as opposed to other Premier Inns we have stayed in )! Stayed in room 214 - a very large family room with loads of extra space for storing luggage etc. On site restaurant served the usual pub grub but all very tasty, reasonably priced and something for everyone. Good selection at breakfast and all cooked to order - which makes a change from the usual dried out buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 214 - very large family room as it is on the corner so you get extra space for luggage etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopaholic248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquayquintrell, Manager at Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Guest

It is always nice to receive such a positive review such as yours, and to read that the reviewer would stay with us again, as well as recommend us to friends and family.
So on behalf of myself and my staff, I would like to extend a big thank you.

Likewise thank you for the kind comments on the service you received.
We always pride ourselves on providing each guest we welcome through the doors with friendly and helpful service and in making each one of their stays an enjoyable one, so thank you.
Also, on the comments about cleanliness of the room, I would like to thank you and will be passing your comments to our busy housekeeping team who I am sure will be equally as thankful as myself.

I will also pass on your review or more importantly the comments concerning the restaurant to the management team of the Treffry Tavern and their busy team.

So once again in closing thank you very much for the kind and positive review on your stay with us here at Newquay Quintrell Downs, and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £45 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing