We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located hotel with differing restaurant standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A well located hotel with differing restaurant standards.”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights visiting the local point to point at Trebudannon and local gardens. We had to move rooms after my wife had been kept awake on the first night due to noisy kitchen air ducts. We were moved without any fuss. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The evening meals in the adjoining Table Table restaurant were excellent. However,the breakfast could only be said to be satisfactory with the standard of service lacking the evening sparkle and happy service. I could not put my finger on it but the breakfast staff seem to be lacklustre and not particularly interested in the customer. Despite the questionable breakfast service standards we would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park but not near the kitchen air ducts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    235
    64
    20
    15
See reviews for
309
284
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed for one night in a family room but happened to stay without them. (long story!). The room was absolutely fine but noisy as it was next to the kitchen air con duct. So my wife asked to move rooms which was no problem for the staff and we were in our new abode within 5 minutes. All staff we encountered were very polite, happy to help and had a smile on their faces. So rare in this country these days!

The breakfast was ok. Plenty of choice but nothing outstanding. All in all the hotel was clean and tidy, the staff very good and the food ok. It is a car trip outside Newquay but there are plenty of things to do nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we got a really great deal on a bank holiday weekend. The room was lovely, spacious, comfortable. There were 4 of us, myself, hubby and 2 kids). The room was perfect for us. We were on the ground floor. We heard nothing during the night. I expected to hear people coming in and out as it was a bank holiday weekend and almost expect hen/stag parties... however didn't hear a single thing and slept like a dream. The hotel is about 2 miles away from Newquay beaches / town. We were away from home for less than 24 hours, but we came home feeling like we'd had a holiday! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. 5*'s for the comfort, cleanliness of room and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good price, nice clean room, just what we needed for one night. Yes it is next to a roundabout but its not that busy in the mornings / night time that you wouldn't be able to sleep.

If your coming to Newquay on a holiday you may prefer to stay in a hotel nearer the town centre but if you have a car or are passing through then this hotel is fine.

The attached bar/ restaurant was good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellsamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We are local to the village and usually use the Clomes because it is simply superb. But, by way of a change, the kids chose the Trefry (premier inn) for our dinner tonight. To be completely honest it was excellent.
The food was good, very good. I had a mixed grill and the portions were perfect. None of the plates were overloaded with chips and everything was hot and fresh and well presented. Even my fried egg was done to perfection (its the little things that count). It was reasonably busy and the waiting time was minimal.
The thing that made it really special was our waitress, Fay. She was completely brilliant. My kids warmed to her immediately. She was informative, polite and had an appropriate sense of humour. Always smiling and eager to help and exceptionally good at her job. She is a huge asset to the inn/tavern and I would like to thank the management for employing such a wonderful girl. Thank you Fay! We are local and will be returning.
The venue is very clean. The toilets were spotless and odour free. The food was tasty and not overwhelming. It is like very good pub grub, what you would expect from a premier inn but a couple of links higher in the chain.
The only down side was the cost of certain drinks. Magners bottle was £4.25 (ouch). The mixed grill was £13.99 and all the meat was great quality, especially the steak.
Loads of parking and dead easy to find. Its not really in competition with The Two Clomes because they are so different. Both well worth a visit but the Clomes has that 'extra special' touch. But, having said that, the Trefry for us on this occasion ticked all the boxes. Our waitress was utterly fantastic and we came away with full tummies and smiles on our faces.
Thank you very much.
Thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studiologic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Highly recommended and value for money! We stopped over for a night before our flight out from Newquay Airport the next morning. We chose it primarily because of its proximity to the Airport but was bowled over by the comfort of the rooms and friendliness of the staff. We had a family room and the travel cot was all made up when we arrived. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. We ate at the adjoining restaurant and it was great not to have to leave the hotel for something to eat. We shall definitely come back should we ever go to the Newquay area again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Had a couple of problems when staying at this Premier Inn, but have to say we received the best customer service that we have ever had. The response was quick and the problems were cleared up without hesitation. We would like to thanks both staff and management and we have already booked to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Address: Quintrell Downs, Newquay TR8 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#6 Business Hotel in Newquay
#6 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from the stunning beaches of Newquay – so grab your shorts, sunnies and surfboard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Newquay
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing