We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tenth year there and can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hepworth Guest House
Ranked #2 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Ron and Carol once again pulled out all the stops to make our holiday very enjoyable. Meeting up with friends who also return each year also made the holiday. Both Ron and Carol went out of their way to make our holiday as comfortable and pleasant as can be, nothing is ever too much trouble. After our holiday we need little thought as to where we would return next year and have already booked for 2012, see you there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicethemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a fantastic 4 night break at Hepworth. Carol and ron made us feel very welcome,they couldn't do enough for us.
The place was very clean and tidy! The breakast choice was amazing and very tasty too.
We will definately be going back and would recommend it too anyone.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Shld2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Whenever I go on a break I always search for accommodation with good reviews. The Hepworth caught my eye and the reviews certainly did it justice. We stayed from Monday to Friday prior to the Bank Holiday weekend. After a long day travelling we were pleased to find that it was within 5 minutes’ walk of the railway station. We arrived to find Carol working hard in the garden and we chatted as though we had been friends for a long time. Ron came to meet us and sat us down in the guest sitting room where he plied us with coffee and pastries. Again we chatted as though we had known each other for ever and this was the same throughout our stay. We were shown around the hotel and then to our room. We had room one, on the ground floor. What an absolutely lovely room this was. The bedroom was of a nice size accommodating a king size 4 poster bed. It had a 32 inch LCD TV and a very useful silent fridge which was kept stocked with bottled water, soft drinks and snacks. Very nice. The en-suite was very spacious with toiletries and lovely towels. Towelling dressing gowns were also provided, as were slippers. The piece de resistance was that the room had the added bonus of a small conservatory type sitting room with two armchairs and another 32inch LCD TV. We really loved relaxing in this room. Ron is a qualified chef and cooks breakfast to order, between 08:00 and 08:40. The choice is extensive and he makes his own yoghurt, jam and marmalade. He also bakes buns and pastries which are available during the day for anyone to eat as they wish. You certainly need not go hungry here.
In summary – If you want lovely accommodation, excellent customer service, tasty and filling breakfast and very friendly hosts then get yourself booked in at the Hepworth. We certainly will be anytime that we are in Newquay.
Thank you Ron and Carol. We met as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2130arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We booked the Hepworth for 3 nights at the last minute the day before we were due to arrive in Cornwall. From the time we arrived, hosts Ron and Carol could not do enough to ensure our stay was perfect.

The included breakfasts were great, and it was lovely to come back to friendly faces after a days sightseeing. The bed was equipped with a great massaging feature, which was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieL204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend. On arrival we were met by Carol, who showed us into the guest lounge and brought us tea and mini rolls- a very good start! The room was small, but clean, comfortable and full of everything we needed, including an iphone dock (which really impressed my boyfriend!). The breakfasts were amazing, though I have one suggestion. My boyfriend is vegetarian and he was a little disappointed with the choice he had for breakfast, it would be great if you could have offered something like Quorn sausages (which can be kept in the freezer), which would have meant he could have had the full english (which he really wanted!). Ron and Carol were so helpful and very atteniv throughout the weekend. I would recomend the Hepworth to anyone making the trip down to Newquay. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roncarol, Owner at Hepworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Hi chole thank you for the very nice review, just one thing ref vegetarian we do a vegetarian breakfast, did you not see the vegetarian option at the bottom on the menu , we Apologize, love carol,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Had a fab stay, made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you for a lovely stay Ron and Carol, see you again soon. xx

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackweb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

From the moment we arrived the welcome and friendliness we received from the owners Ron and Carol was second to none, We only stayed for 2 nights but wish it could have been longer.

We wanted a hotel close to the centre of Newquay and this was perfectly placed, just far enough away to be peaceful but close enough to walk to restaurants and bars in the evening.

We went with my wifes sister and her husband, they had a superior double room which had recently been tastefully modernised, and had a really well proportioned stylish bathroom. We stayed in a more modest standard room which was a little smaller but perfectly adequate for our needs.

Both rooms were clean, and had tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and board, flat screen TV, and were well stocked with free toiletries. The superior room included additional free snacks and drinks, and had bath robes and slippers which was a really nice touch.

The hotel also has a jaccuzzi which my wife and her sister enjoyed a nice soak in at the end of our second day, but the highlight for me were the fantastic breakfasts which are possibly the best I've had at any hotel I've previously stayed at!

Breakfast consisted of a variety of self serve cereals and pastries, homemade yoghurts and fresh fruit, all fantastic but in addition to this was a whole host of menu options cooked freshly to order, I opted for the Full English breakfast which was cooked to perfection and came grease free, superb!! My wife chose an omlette on the first morning and pancakes with maple syrup and streaky bacon on the second morning, both she reported to be delicious!!

There were a whole host of other breakfast options, too many for me to remember, however I think they included american waffles, smoked salmon, haddock, and vegetarian full english, amongst others!

This was our first stay in Newquay and although we were a little unlucky with the weather, we still had a lovely time, if we get the opportunity to return in the future the Hepworth Hotel will definitely be our first choice!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyBoy071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#1 of 107 in Newquay
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lyncroft Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Newquay
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Door
The Blue Door
#8 of 107 in Newquay
164 reviews
0 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 107 in Newquay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hepworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hepworth Guest House

Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £59 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hepworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location - close to station, buses...free car park. Award-winning extensive menu: 14 plus choices - vegan, vegetarian, celiac. Choice of luxury accommodation: prices to suit all. Luxurious duvets goose feather, down• Pure Egyptian cotton and designer brands fabrics• • Licensed bar• Free WIFI internet access• Jacuzzi and sauna • well situated both for business leisure purposes. Beach close by. We want you to feel special and pampered - guests are our first priority. With reviews you can trust come stay with us, you yourself can review and experience for yourself, what everyone else enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hepworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hepworth Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing