We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotehele Lodge

Cotehele Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cotehele Lodge
Ranked #96 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in this B and B. Breakfast is not included and you have to ask daily if you want it. The B and B website is not clear on this. that said, the breaskfast was very nice and we had it every day. Dont be shocked tho when you pay extra for it.
We stayed in the Towan suite and i notice a review below someone mentioned no hot water, This was a problem we had also and had to play with the tap for nearly half and hour until the faulty tap produced hot water. When we got it working we didnt touch it again and it was no problem. Jacuzzi bath very nice.
Rooms are advertised as suites but arent suite size. They are "adequite", but not large. Bed was very comfy as was the room.
I had family staying next door in the Fistral suite and they complained everyday how cold it was despite the heating apparently being on. There is no double glazing and has a nice draft.
Also had family staying in another room in the B and B (cant recall which room) in a standard room. Im told this is tiny with only enough room for the bed. The table and chairs in this room are tiny like school ones!!
Location is great as only a 5 minute walk to Newquay town.
Would stay again but only in the Towan suite!!

Room Tip: Towan Suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Undercover_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Spent there 2 nights and was very happy with what I got for the price. The room was spacious and clean and bed comfortable. Shower was hot and powerful - nothing more to ask for! I enjoyed my stay, the only downside was a breakfast - way too oily in my opinion and bit bland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aventuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The B and B was very clean and comfortable. Great location just minutes to the town. Very nicely renovated. Though didnt like having breakfast in the room and did feel the breakfast should have been included in the price. Nick was very friendly and welcoming..Just felt the breakfast situation let the place down.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthLIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
hi i am glad you found the room comfortable . we find most guests really like having their breakfast served to the dinning table in the comfort of their own room . we do not include breakfast in the price because many guests prefer to have a lie in and skip breakfast and we feel it is unfair to charge them for something they do not want . I think many hotels offer room only and b&b rates these days. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked the Tower Suite for 2 nights to attend a friends wedding in Newquay. My first criticism lies with the title of this room, for room is all it was and not a suite as the name suggests. However, the room is nicely decorated and the ensuite bathroom is lovely with jacuzzi bath and shower over bath. Trouble was we could not get any hot water from either bath or shower. Could not use the bath at all as water was almost cold. Had to just have very bracing shower. The owner did do his best to fix it for us but to no avail. When I decided to have warming cup of tea after shower I found that the tea bags (which were just loose on a tray) looked very old and pretty sad looking so had to have coffee instead. There is no dining room so if you want breakfast it is served to the room at a charge of £5.00 per head. My husband ordered breakfast, which was standard English, it came with a jug of orange juice but no tea or coffee. At the cost of £5.00 he expected at least a decent cup of coffee and not just the little pack of instant provided in the room. All day breakfasts are served in a cafe just around the corner for £1.99 and come with real coffee and free refils. It was a shame these things let the place down as it has the potential to be a super B&B.

Having said all of the above, the bed was very comfortable and there was no street noise as the room is to the back. The standard of cleanliness was very high.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
hi during your stay you did have some problems with the thermostatic taps I did come to your room and get the hot water through twice so you had no need to have a cold shower we have since removed these taps and fitted standard ones as a couple of guests have had problems with them. The tea bags are on a condiment tray in you room they are used and changed continually you said the tea bags look sad I am sorry but i fail to see how Iwill make a tea bag look happy. There are breakfast menus in the room and you can have 3 coarses and as much tea ,coffee ,hot chocolate, etc as you like however if you do not tell us what you want we dont guess and just bring anything . We do not put you under any pressure to have our breakfast and their are lots of places nearby where you can get breakfast personally i think £5 for what we offer is very reasonable .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

When we arrived we was standing outside for ages as there was no one in to greet us. The Owner seemed too eager to get the money off us even before we had seen the room. Dispite phoning the hotel before hand to inform them that we only wanted to have the 3 nights instead of 4 due to medical reasons. He seemed pretty desperate, telling me all about his financial worries. Not acceptable. States that its a 4 star on web when its a 3 outside the Lodge.
Even knocked on our room door when we were undressed, to take the money for the night we were not going to stay.
The room was ok looks ok, fancy taps took ages to fill up the bath.
Had the greeting of a window cleaner bashing around our window at 8.30am when we were still inbed was awful. Breakfast is not included and you have to pay extra.
For what we got it was not at all value for money. There are nicer B&B's in Newquay as we discovered for better value for money.
Its a shame we felt so uncomfortable but this us being honest.

Room Tip: ensuite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma118London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
sorry you only had a ok experience . we cannot refund bookings for early departure as it states on our terms and conditions (normal practice for everywhere) however i did offer to refund if i could re let the room even though you slammed the phone down on me i think this is fair .you were asked several time for your balance to be paid but made no effort to pay it this is why i came to your room and asked yet again for it and you were not undressed . we do not partake in any star rating scheme or advertise as star rated . if the window cleaner woke you i am sorry i will ask him to try and be quieter in future , but i always find it is nice to be able to see through the windows . I think you may be angry that i would not give you a refund and have given us a negitive review for that reason . To make up for any bad feeling i will give you an extra night free if you book again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We just stayed at Cotehele Lodge this weekend gone (8th July - 12th July). We stayed in the Towan Suite at £90 per night. The room was very spacious, very well decorated, and clean on arrival. It was not really a "Suite" as such, just more like a room with an on-suite bathroom. The owner (Nick) was very friendly on arrival and let us check in early 11am, but i did let him know in advance of our time of arrival. The location was very good, about a 5-10 min walk from Fistral Beach, 5 min walk into the town centre and there was a Sainsbury's 2 mins away.
We had a really good stay. The only things i would improve were the houskeeping. We asked for our room to be cleaned and were told we would need to put the sign on out door. This was on the reverse on the "Do not disturb" sign but we were not told this when we checked in, which is why we asked for it to be cleaned. On the second day we put the make up our room sign on the door, but the room wasn't vacumed, the bed linen was not changed throughout our stay (4 nights) and the bath was not cleaned. There was also a funny smell on the towels! We requested late checkout on the day of our departure and were unable to do so as there were more guest coming to our room, so we had to check out at 10am which i feel is very early as checkout is normally 12noon in most hotels and B&B's.
Breakffast was served between 8am-9am which once again was very early when you are on holiday so we just got breakfast from the cafe down the road. All in all it was good stay just a few improvements to be made,and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Towan Suite and Fistral Suite both quite good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aman_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Sorry but if a guest puts do not disturb on the door I generally leave them alone and do not go in their room . On the second day the cleaner went in your room but she could not hoover as all your belongings were on the floor .she did not no what to do with the bath as you had tipped candle wax all over it . we only make your bed on a daily basis and change every 3 days . Most hotels and b&b s i have stopped in operate a 10am ish check out time but many do not let you check in till after 3pm we are a small b&b and try and get the rooms ready for you as soon as possible especially if we no you would like the room early a lot of wedding guests require this however in off peak times we can sometimes offer late checkout but not in july sorry .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

a very good hotel that is well furnished and decorated to a high standard, the owners nick and sonja are great hosts and run pobably the best b and b in newquay

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotehele Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotehele Lodge

Property: Cotehele Lodge
Address: 84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotehele Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cotehele Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing