We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation in the perfect location”
Review of Cotehele Lodge

Cotehele Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotehele Lodge
Ranked #90 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accomodation in the perfect location”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I decided to visit Newquay for a few nights from the 25th July 2010. We were about to abandon the idea of having a break in Newquay as many of the main hotels wanted over £400 for a 3 night stay which is out of our price range.

After trawling the internet for several hours I found the Cotehele Lodge. I was slightly aprehensive about booking into a B and B as we have never done so before, but after reading other reviews on here I decided to take a chance. I booked the superior double room by phone after looking at the Cotehele Lodge web-site, and to my delight there was an additional £20 taken off the room price for booking early which was honoured when I phoned up. We got an amazing price for a 3 night stay and it was within our budget that we were looking for.

We arrived around 2pm and were greated with a very friendly smile and a very neat, and tidy hallway. It looked as though the entire building had recently received a full refurbishment which was lovely.

We were shown straight up to our room which was number 5 and were greeted with a large double bed, clean carpets and a clean and immaculate bathroom. The wardrobe had ample hangers for your clothes and beside each side of the bed were handy 3 chest of drawers for your personal belongings. There was also a complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray - I recommend the hot chocolate it is lovely! There was also free internet within the building which was great as we brought our laptop.

If you require breakfast in the morning it is served in your room and we had fold away chairs and tables to eat off which was very handy and convenient. Breakfast was lovely and is served between 8am and 9am. Whatever time you asked for it, it was there on time and it was hot and there is plenty to choose from so I really recommend it. After browsing the town centre the £5 they charge for breakfast is very reasonable since I did not find breakfast cheaper anywhere else.

The lodge is very conveniently placed. There is a Spar shop across the road and a large Sainsbury's which is a 3 minute walk away. The town centre of Newquay is a 5 minute walk if that.

The owners are lovely and are always on hand to offer advise on the best places to visit. We were recommended to go to the Healeys Cyder Farm which is free to go in and you get to sample cider, wine and jams for free. Beware though as it all tastes so good you end up spending a fortune! We went back to the cider farm twice to pick up more homemade jams and cider to bring home!

All in all we had a lovely few days away and the Cotehele Lodge is a lovely place and I would highly recommend it for great value for money and its good location. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The accommodation is absolutely perfect. The bedroom is very well decorated, and noticeably well cleaned and maintained. All rooms include a TV with freeview and a DVD player. There is also a lovely dining table in the window of the room upon which breakfast is served. The breakfast is amazing!!! All ingredients are locally sourced and perfectly cooked. The en-suite bathroom is very clean and ideally sized, including both a bath and shower. The bed is very comfortable and the bedding is very tasteful and clean. All-in-all the accommodation was far superior to any other accommodation I have found in Newquay and is within 5 minutes walking distance to both Fistral beach and Newquay shops in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We've been coming Newquay for many years and stayed at various guest houses but this has got to be the best one so far and we will be stopping there again in the near future. The location is really good only 5 minutes away from town centre and beach. Very friendly hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them. The breakfast is really good. With free range eggs and real thick cut bacon.I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

All the best
Ady, Vicky and Tyler from Leicester x

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adyleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We enjoyed the spacious room with four-poster bed and a comfortable bed-sofa as well as the friendly service and the excellent breakfast. Beaches, shops and pubs are within easy walking distance. Thank you, Nick, for making our stay in Newquay a special one.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Coethele Lodge was very easy to find and is possibly one of the only B&B's in the area to offer their own off road parking. The owner and their family were very helpfuly and welcoming. We had a large room that had a sea view and was big enough for our two childrens blow up beds and was very clean and well presented. They offered a large selection at breakfast time and even offered to do non menu items for the children.

We were located just 5mins walk from Newquays main surf beach (fistral) and 10 mins walk from all the town had to offer.

We would deffinately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunnytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone, kent
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My partner and i stayed at cotehele lodge for a week and we both had a brilliant time. The owners of the lodge were very welcoming and friendly.The breakfasts were very nice and easily filled you up until dinner and there was a wide selection to choose from not just a full english!!We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tish1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Once again we returned to cotehele lodge for our yearly family holiday ! As always we were warmly greated by the hosts and yet again had the perfect family room, nicely decorated, clean ,comfy beds and all mod cons ! This guest house is idealy situated about 5min walk to the main town shopping, eating, drinking ,sun ,sea, sand and all the rest of it literally on your doorstep. There is ample parking and the guest house really does offer good rates per week and the breakfast was great !! The only down side to this hotel was when we wanted to extend our holiday another week and unfortuately we couldn"t because the guest house was fully booked !! not surprising really. Would definetly recommend this place to family and friends we love it ...and thankyou cotehele lodge for another fantastic holiday be back soon .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#57 of 105 in Newquay
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotehele Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotehele Lodge

Property: Cotehele Lodge
Address: 84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotehele Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cotehele Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotehele Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing