We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Croft Hotel
Ranked #90 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I am afraid to say we were disappointed by this B&B in terms of value for money, although to be fair as I was 7 months pregnant we just took the option to leave rather than let our hosts rectify the issues as we found somewhere else more suitable. I had notified the hotel we were pregnant, however we were given a very small room with a tiny shower room and toilet, and the bed was small and very uncomfortable, and for £60 per night we expected a little more. The hosts were friendly though and we thought the fact we had to order breakfast the day before a little restricting as it's difficult to know what you will feel like eating! Overall the place is OK, and we relocated due to wanting a romantic break somewhere quiet and comfortable,which this was not unfortunately but would suit people just wanting somewhere to rest their heads during a trip to newquay's highlights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooksie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecroftNewquay, Owner at The Croft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

I am sorry you were disappointed and thought £60 was a lot of money. I had no idea you were pregnant and obviously your hormones got the better of you by not letting us know your problems and just leaving without a by or leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here on our first visit to Cornwall. As soon as we walked through the door we had a warm welcome from the friendly owners Janet and Clive and not forgeting Purbeck and Seven their very friendly dogs. Such a lovely hard working couple, who provided a clean comfy room for us to stay in and have a wealth of suggestions for places to visit, eat etc. The hotel has a cosy breakfast and bar area to which is perfect to have a chat with other guests during breakfast. Clive cooks a fab and filling breakfast! Then in the day/evening you can have a drink and sit outside in the front garden seating area. We would recommend stopping here and will return in the future. Faye and Nige from the Midlands.

Room Tip: Go for the ensuite room to make your stay perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Have stayed here on many a surf trip and have never been let down by Janets bubbly character and Clives amazing breakfasts. Have found as with this trip that the hotel was immaculately clean. Also great location 2 mins from town but far away enough not to hear the noise from the evenings. With both hoteliers having such colourful characters it makes for a real different, personal and fun experience. Would recommend.

Andy LONDON

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DUDAL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

everything about our stay was great location, price, breakfast but most of all the owners janet and clive who made our stay so enjoyable wouldn,t hesitate to back there.thanks again to a lovely couple. sue and john from liverpool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We have gone to various places Cornwall for our holidays for years and years but, for the last seven years ever since we found the Croft, thats the ONLY place we go!
Clive and Janet are so friendly and if you need advice on places to visit or go to eat out they know everything that you need to know - just ask!
As for the breakfast, what can I say but brilliant! I always have the full english of course and it sets me up nicely for the whole day. My partner has a smaller breakfast, eggs and tomatos etc. All you do is place your order for what you want - No problem.
The hotel is clean and you get fresh towels every other day. The bar is small but has all you need and there is a patio outside if you fancy a drink in the sunshine before a walk round town. The location is great because it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre or the nearest beach, but it is on a quieter road so no noise to stop you sleeping.
And all this for less than £30.00 per night - talk about VALUE FOR MONEY!
If you are going to Newquay and if you do like value for your money you must try the Croft, only a complete plonker could fail to have a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_farmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

i have stayed in this smashing B and B on numerous occasions over the past few years and reading some of the reviews on this site i had to take care to ensure we were talking about the same place.This is a friendly,clean and comfortable place to stay which provides excellent value for money and if you spend your time sat in your room then you are not going to experience your hosts hospitality in the bar of an evening often accompanied by a sing song or a wii tournament of some sort.if you order a five year olds breakfast then thats what you get,if you want more then just ask - its not rocket science.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I have just sat and read the previous bad reviews in disbelief. We have recently returned from our 3rd consecutive year staying at The Croft Hotel. How people see things differently.
From our first trip we have been made to feel welcome and almost like part of the family! We are always greeted by hugs and a kiss from the owners Janet and Clive - its almost as if we've never been away!
Formalities are quickly dealt with and are replaced with friendly conversations and good laughs.
The rooms are of a good size and contain everything required for a comfortable stay. Breakfast is always of great quality and cooked to perfection (Well Done Clive!)
The owners always take an interest in what we are going to do that day/evening and will recommend places if we need help choosing.
Alternatively, if a night in is what you need, Janet and Clive will be in the bar area giving it a friendly atmosphere with lovely outside seating in the newquay sunshine - what more could you need!
Overall, another great stay - already looking forward to next year!!!
The Boden Family, Nottingham

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bodens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Trevellis Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Hotel

Address: 37 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £57 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croft Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing