We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Stavros Greek Taverna
Ranked #58 of 231 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hereford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Food was very good and service was excellent. Went there twice while on holiday and loved complimentary brandy too. Pineapple desert was superb! Steffado slightly dull for me but otherwise enjoyed enough to return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    99
    49
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good value combined with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The lamb dish I ordered was delicious and the dessert that followed was even better! Well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMacca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice drink on the house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Have been to this resturant last year. I had the same moussaka but was a little dry this time , salad was nice , pitta bread in basket, portion of chips .hubby had lamb kofta which was lamb shank with onion tomato sauce . 1 bottle lager and a coke came to over £30 was offered free brandy or oozo on the house which was nice
meal average not so nice this time.
Table by the door draughty when customers could not shut it would not like to sit there in winter ..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nessbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Visited with my husband and another couple. Restaurant is nice but very small with lots of tables squeezed in so you feel like your sitting with everyone else in there. Was there half an hour before receiving our first drink, which was wrong. After an hour we got our starters and was told our main (kleftiko) which 3 of us ordered had ran out so we had to choose something else. I only had pitta & a dip for starter which was ok. For our mains we had a lamb tava which was very watery & so was the rice. There was no taste to the food, very bland, and we do really enjoy Greek food! Our friend had moussaka which he said was also bland and didn't eat it.
We were very disappointed as we thought its a lovely little place and nothing else like it in the area. The staff are friendly but with only 3 of them working they get rushed & get things wrong. A real shame about the food, tastes like nothing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Proper Cypriot food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

As a lover of Cypriot food, we tried Stavros in Newquay, we was a little dubious due to its prime location in Newquay on the clubbing strip, however the food was very authentic and the atmosphere friendly. I was slightly disappointed with the lack of pitta bread offered throughout our meze and a little dissapoinred with the selection of fish that was given, the whitebait inparticular was dissapointing and overly fishy In taste. However the rest was very enjoyable and would probably return, (maybe not on a Saturday night ).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay191280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stavros Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Stavros Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing