We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My sister and I stayed in the Chalet annex with our elderly mother. It was perfect! It gave us the privacy we needed for Mum but the access to facilities in the main house. We arrived late after a very long journey and John could not have been more welcoming. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic and the staff so attentive,polite and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights as we were going to a family wedding and having that extra little comfort of a small sitting room made us feel very much at home. Everything was spotless and we felt as if we were staying in a top class hotel but with the hospitality of someone's home. Thank you very much John and Jackie - we will definitley recommend you to anyone we know who is travelling to Newquay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you so much for that absolutely beautiful revue. Makes all the hard work well worthwhile.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you all again.
All the very best and thank you.

John Jackie and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a very pleasant stay at an extremely friendly and helpful b+b! John and jackie are fab and very accomodating (exspecially when i booked the wrong room john was on the case to correct my error. Amazing!)

The rooms were spottless and the breakfast was grest and sorted us out until tea!

The honesty bar was a grest idea and will be making a return in the future :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthvader666uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to send us a revue.
You have no idea how important it is to get this feedback from our fantastic Guests.
Sorry we cannot understand your comment on the room. There was no mistake with the room, we felt it good to upgrade you free of charge.
You booked a particular room which you chose from the web site and when you arrived as we had a room more convenient for you so we thought it best to upgrade you to more expensive room at NO additional cost. We always aim to please.
You did not tell us you did not like the room as we always go out of our way to ensure the guest gets top class comfort.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you all again soon

John , Jackie and Trelinda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I only arrived home today from seven weeks holiday overseas but felt compelled to write a fitting review on Trelinda. We have just spent one week there, from 20th-27th July and I must say our stay exceeded all our expectations. We arrived late at night and received a friendly warm welcome from our hosts Jackie and John and immediately felt at home. My husband was so impressed by the fact that there was a cold Guinness waiting for him by way of a refrigerator and honesty box in the guest lounge, (which he took advantage of every night after we had come back from a long day's sightseeing). We had a sleep-in that first morning in our spotlessly clean comfy room on the second floor and went down to a late breakfast cooked by Jackie. Wow, now that's what I call a breakfast! After choosing a table in the delightful sunny dining room with a wonderful sea view, we helped ourselves to fresh seasonal fruit, at least 6 different cereals, fresh juice, yoghurt, etc. If you wish (and mad if you don't), you can request a made-to-order hot breakfast cooked by Jackie and served on piping hot plates by the two friendly waitresses, Patricia and Monica. With full bellies (and armed with a scrumptious muffin each which Jackie bakes fresh every morning) we would head out for the day to explore one of the many wonderful attractions, beautiful rugged coastlines or quaint old fishing villages which Jackie or John had kindly given directions to or taken the time to talk to us about and they have a wide selection of maps, books, brochures and information available for you to take. We can honestly say that we felt like we were staying with family, not complete strangers as they had been to us before they opened their door to us that first night. The location is great as the centre of Newquay is only a 5 minute stroll down the hill. Our room was tastefully decorated and the whole place had that "cosy" feel to it. We have already booked to stay with them for two weeks again next year, what a treat! Jackie and John, you are the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We have always said we only get fantastic guests at our Guest House and you are both very special.
Thanks for staying with us and we do miss you both. I was so impressed with your organised tours of Europe and Cornwall.
Look forward to seeing you again next year as there is so much more to discover.
I will make sure i have the cold Guinness ready.
All the very best to Australia.
John & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This year we stayed in room 5 The Premier Suite and this was our ninth year staying at Trelinda. The suite is very comfortable with plenty of storage and space including outside space on the large balcony with a bench overlooking the amazing view. The communal lounge has plenty of seating, board games, dvd's and books so even if the weather was bad there is plenty to do. There is also an honesty bar with beer, wine and soft drinks, which is a great opportunity to meet other guests. John & Jackie are the most welcoming and friendly people and they have the best staff you could wish for, all very helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean. Breakfast is fit for a king with fruit juice, fruit, cereal, yoghurts, cooked breakfast and fantastic muffins (baked fresh every morning) on offer, you will not leave for your day out feeling hungry!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has plenty of indoor and outdoor space, plenty of storage and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

What can we say. Thanks for a fantastic revue.
Showed it to all the team . WOW.
Big Big thank you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope we can welcome you all again.

Big Thank you from John , Jackie and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Trelinda for 3 nights and there's nothing but praise from the four of us!
From arrival you are made to feel very welcome and at home. Jackie and John can't do enough for you and are genuine lovely people.
Our room was modern, very clean and a lovely big comfy bed, great sea views and close enough to the town. The breakfast was fantastic and plenty of it.
We'll be definitely be back and can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keithwarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

THank you from all the team. We always say at the trelinda that our guests are very special and they are. Meeting all the guests from all over the world and getting reviews makes life and hard work so much more enjoyable.
Thank you for staying at The Trelinda and look forward to welcoming you all again.

From Jackie, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

From arrival right through to leaving you are made to feel very welcome by hosts Jackie and John. We booked room the twin) and room 5 (the suite). The suite is worth the extra as you get a large balcony with a good sea view and also a large seating area which includes a fridge.

As the title suggests the choice for breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurts, juice etc. If you are feeling hungry then go for the large full English which consists of 2 eggs, 2 bacon, 2 sausage, 2 tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, also plenty of toast, white or brown. The breakfast is very hot which is something I like as it tends to go cold very quickly usually. Jackie goes the extra mile by baking from 6:15am every morning different fresh muffins every day. We did not have enough room after breakfast but took them for our lunch, magic!

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk uphill fromshops and restaurants, we tried Truscotts and Rossis, both excellent. Also a similar distance from Towan beach.

All in all a great hotel with lovely hosts and I would not consider anywhere else if I stayed in Newquay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulc051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My main reason for my 5 nights in Newquay was to attend the u.ks toughest ultra run. Now where to stay & i did like the look of Trelinda hotel, well when we arrived john the joint owner welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The hotel is modern has what you need to have the perfect holiday, but above all the hosts are quiet simply the best, very happy to help you with anything you need.just cant believe how helpfull jackie & john are,also the girls who help them out are also very polite and chirpy.I enjoyed our evenings down stairs having a drink (after the run) and talking to the other guests.The breakfast in the morning has plenty of fruit, cereal, and a full english to last you right up till dinner, Jackies muffins are lovely.If you dont stay at the Trelinda you will miss out on a great place to stay with super hosts.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for room 5, it was a bit bigger and with two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelindahotel T, Owner at The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Anybody reading this review, please note, this guy Paul and his wife are two most fantastic people i have ever met. Paul runs for loads of different charities as well as working on the trains. Babs, Paul's wife supports him through all these charity runs. He just ran 70 miles on the coastal path starting at Boscastle at 0800 on Saturday 22 June and finishing in the dark in absolutely terrible conditions, rain wind etc at 0230 hours Sunday 23nd june. All for charity.
Thanks for taking the time to add a review, so kind of you both.
You are both fantastic.
Going to have you in the Newquay half marathon next year. Piece of cake for you Paul, like a walk in the park. Ha.

All the best Paul and Babs.
Absolute pleasure meeting you both. X

John & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#4 of 107 in Newquay
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 107 in Newquay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Breca Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20-22 St. Georges Road, Newquay TR7 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £37 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Rated Trelinda Guest House takes great pride in the number of guests who return year after year. Our TripAdvisor reviews speaks volumes for the quality of service and the cleanliness of the hotel. We offer free car parking, free Wi-Fi, we are 2 minutes walk to town centre, 5 minutes walk to nearest beach. We offer one of the best cooked breakfasts in Cornwall and we guarantee comfort and cleanliness. We will ensure you get all the assistance you require to enjoy all of beautiful Cornwall. Jackie & John, Proprietors. Upgrade from 3 star to 4 star rating September 2011 By Visit England. So pleased for all our fantastic Trelinda Team and the positive feedback we get from our very valued guests. Thank You. See you all soon. Jackie & John Trelinda Guest House. We will look after you. Please look at our Family 2 bedroom adjoining suites, Premier Balcony suite, the detached Chalet with 2 bedrooms en suite lounge and small kitchen, our 3 sea view rooms. Sorry there is one short flight to some and two short flight of stairs to other bedrooms. Chalet on ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trelinda Bed & Breakfast Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing