We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wenden Guest house - The only place to stay in Newquay!”
Review of Wenden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wenden Guest House
Ranked #16 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I would highly recommend staying in this guest house - very clean, tidy, lovely hosts, great choice for breakfast, good location, Large tv, en suite, very very comfy bed - A+ stay

Brilliant service and would not stay anywhere else in Newquay now but the Wenden guesthouse.

Brilliant review for a brilliant stay - Thank you! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 - on the very top and very quiet. With a very comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Wenden B&B for Bank Holiday Weekend. As already mentioned by others, really friendly hosts, good breakfast choice. (you make your choice the day before, but in addition to that, there is cereals, yoghurts and orange juice). Nice and very clean rooms, but you need to keep the curtains closed - people can see in your room from the street on one side and the neighbours on the other side of the house. Car park is a 3-4 min walk away. Fistral beach reachable by foot, more convenient by car though. Would stay again, but it's not the cheapest. Oh, and couples only - they seem to be quite strict on that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathijori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

An excellent stay at Wenden Guest House, stayed in room 1 on first floor at the back of the house. Bedroom very large, loads of storage space, Large flat screen TV and DVD player, and fridge. Bathroom with shower very clean and fresh, look like it had just been re-furnbished.
Cilla and Mike made us feel very welcome. Stayed for 4 nights Breakfast was excellent.
Car park a few minutes walk around the back.
Would stay here again and recommend to my friends if staying in Newquay.
Only a few minutes walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMartinADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A guest house which deserves top notch reviews as I cannot fault anything about the accommodation, food or service we received. My husband and I stayed there for one night and, even from first calling to reserve, was made to feel that nothing would be too much trouble by Cilla, the lovely owner. Attention to detail was amazing, from the gorgeously decorated rooms, to the attractive and pleasant decor of the whole place, down to the little nick-nacks (i.e. jars of sweets & biscuits on reception). Would definitely recommend the B&B to all my friends and family and will definitely book in advance to make sure we stay there on our next trip to Newquay. Special thanks to Cilla and her husband - you made our stay with you a delight! :o) x

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherub32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we were late arriving at this lovely guest house and were met with a happy glorious smiling face. From the time the door was answered to when we left Cilla made us feel welcome throughout. Cilla provided us with information with the best places to eat and drink.The room we stayed in (room 2) was decorated to a high class adn was so comfortable with appropriate neccessities following our long journey such as tea, coffee, en-suite bathroom and (for the other half) a TV. Breakfast was a well presented full english and also the choice of many cereals with fruit jusices and jams and toasts.
The room was warm and welcoming just like the owners.
The gfuset house was close to all amenities and close to the sea front. We were able to walk in both directions towards fistral and towards the opposite direction of lusty glaze with ease and had many coffee and tea stops on the way. Thank you Cilla for a fantastic resting place.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 which was facing the back of the building and was quite. Rooms at the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiepSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

stayed at the Wenden for three nights in January. We recieved a warm and cheerfull welcome from Cilla who is a great host. The rooms are all colour co-ordinated and fitted out to a high standard with all you need for your stay and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was more than ample with a selection of cereals and full english served nice and hot with other options available.
We have stayed in Newquay on several occasions and had some dissapointments, you will not be dissapointed here! This is a well run and looked after guest house and they deserve to be uccesfull. We will certainly stay here next time we are in Newquay, I just hope Cilla has a vacancy. Thanks for a great stay Cilla.

Room Tip: room 7 is at the back and is bright and quiet. You will not hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank one_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a wonderful time at Wenden house! We are 3 couples who traveled from Switzerland (where we live) to visit Cornwall. Cilla and Mike were more than helpful giving us advice on places to visit, places to eat and general information. They were incredibly flexible with breakfast times and menus which really made our stay perfect. Rooms were very well equipped and clean (the best we have found on our many visits to England so far)
We would definitely recommend Wenden house to any couples visiting Cornwall.
The most well kept and colourful house on the road :-) thanks !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.0 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#6 of 106 in Newquay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tregarthen Guesthouse
Tregarthen Guesthouse
#12 of 106 in Newquay
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#8 of 106 in Newquay
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glendeveor
The Glendeveor
#9 of 106 in Newquay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenden Guest House

Address: 11 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £54 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wenden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenden Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing