We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Wenden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wenden Guest House
Ranked #15 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely newly decorated room, very clean, with everything we needed, (fridge, kettle etc). Great breakfast and hospitality. Made to feel very welcome. Would recommend to others and would stay again. Good location, not far to walk for evening meals etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Cilla the hotel owner made us feel welcome from the start . Rooms were very clean and newly decorated , breakfast was fantastic would definatley stay again would recommend to anybody ! The hotel was well situated just outside the town centre but only 10 mins walk to everything

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

In the middle of our holiday we were asked to move to a smaller room so that a couple that were arriving later didn't complain about having a small room. It wasn't fair that we were asked that. We felt like we didn't really have much of a choice as we were being guilted so we moved out belongings into the smaller room. When we said we'd like to remain in our original room the owner did not seem very impressed, we did move back but the owner seemed less than impressed. The couple arrived and were more than happy with their room so we would've spent the rest of our holiday in a room we weren't happy in for nothing. Other than that, the breakfast was amazing, the owners were lovely (once the awkwardness had passed) and the room was brilliant (although the aircon was broken which meant we were BOILING)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just stayed here for 3 nights. There was 4 of us, we had rooms 2 and 3. Both rooms and ensuites were spotless. Lovely fresh decor the rooms are being refurbished this winter but they are great already. Breakfast was excellent piping hot and anything you wanted, Nothing was to much trouble for Cilla. We would defiantly go back. Thanks Cilla and Mike for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We found the Wenden on booking.com and decided to go for it with the good reviews it had. Not a bad price for a couple staying for 4 nights in the center of newquay, even though it was a week before end of season. Our room was plenty big enough for us with bay windows. It is going to be refurbished ready for next year when they reopen so it will be interesting to see what has been done to the rooms. So these few niggles I had will probably be sorted out and will be nothing to worry about for future stays like not getting fresh towels automatically and the bathroom and bins not cleaned and changed every day. But like I said....these are my niggles as I've stayed in 3 star places that have made sure these needs were met so maybe it's just my fussyness. Breakfasts were lovely, hot and full of flavour with good choices. There were sweets and biscuits by the door to help yourself which my partner took full advantage of! And everything (including the zoo) was a short walk away. We will stay again if we're ever in Newquay again, thank you Cilla (just wish we could've seen Mike)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katfaerie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

book as a last minute ,,had room 4 which cilla said was there smallest and would be last season of using ..it was a fab room had everthing you wanted from ensuite to fridge hair dryer you name it it was in the room..breakfast was anything you wanted they catered for it .had full English and was the biz...brilliant b&b clean tidy and the selection of sweets and biscuits on the table to help yourself to was an added bonus of which I must have eaten most of the jellies {sorry cilla}thanks for a great stay...x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopyloo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my partner booked to stay at wenden guest house for the August bank holiday weekend from friday to the monday. We had never been there before but while looking through loads of guest houses we came across the wenden and thought we would give it a try cause it looked really nice.
The price was £30 per person per night and that included breakfast every morning. We paid a total of £195 for the 2 of us for the 3 days which I think is brilliant value. On arriving we were welcomed in warmly by the owner cilla. On the way in was a cabinet with a help yourself sign on it for guests, you could help yourself to sweets, biscuits, and fruit teas.
Our room was very modernly decorated inside with lovely bedding and decoration. It had everything we needed. We were provided with little extras in our room, a hair dryer, a plug in fan to use in the hot weather, a mini kettle with tea bags, coffee and sugar, wine glasses and a cork screw opener, plenty of towels, also a TV with built in freeview and DVD player.
Breakfast was served between 8:45 and 9:15am which we got up for every morning. It was so worth it. As you walk into the dining room there is a range of things to help yourself to, orange juice, yoghurts, cereals, chocolate croissants, fresh strawberries and fruit. We were then offered the choice to have toast and a full english breakfast which we had every single day. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and consisted of a piece of fried bread, cooked tomato, a piece of bacon, sausage, mushrooms, and a fried egg it was delicious!
Another good thing was the location of the guest house it was right in the centre of newquay town and the main beach so it was perfect.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at wenden guest house and will definitely be returning next year. One of the best places we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which is right at the front of the house facing the main road, some nights it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenden Guest House

Property: Wenden Guest House
Address: 11 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wenden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wenden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenden Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing