We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Brilliant!! couldn't of asked for a better place to stay"”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

John and Maxine are wonderful people couldn't of asked for better hospitality. The location is perfect, all local shops nearby beach on your doorstep. We had a sea view room which was great,the room clean and more than comfortable for are family of 4. Breakfast great start to the day. Will defiantly be returning to Newquay and most certainly to this hotel. Wonderful stay !! Joanne and David an kids

Room Tip: Sea view room are limited but if your lucky to get one then its a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel is well located. It is ran by very welcoming people. A traditional Cornish seaside hotel. Family orientated and despite being a little aged in places, well kept and clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and service was second to none.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is the worst hotel we HAVE EVER STAYED IN should be called a HOSTEL not a hotel , our room was more like a cupboard , no hooks on doors to hang coats , no glass in bathroom basics I would expect.The kettle was plugged in via a extension lead that went over the top of the wardrobe JUST PLAIN DANGEROUS, bathroom light did not work , had to put cases in the bathroom as no space to put them in the room. Disgusting kept warm breakfast. doesn't look like it has been decorated since 1980 needless to say we only stayed one night then booked into another hotel for the same price which was beautiful. ONE PIECE OFF ADVICE DON'T GO THERE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W00ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandsally76, Owner at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

we were sorry this couple were not happy with their stay ,we do try our best as previous reveiws will show.it was unfortunate that they had booked a twin room through a booking site when they actually wanted a double room which are more spacious. if we had one available on their arrival we would have gladly exchanged.Our breakfasts are all freshly cooked, the room they had, had been completely re-decorated only two days before and we have now changed the bulb in the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

John and Maxine are a credit to the hospitality industry in Newquay. Although the hotel is actually more of a large B and B than other more expensive places in Newquay, the service standards are five star.
The location is perfect, in the centre of town with great sea views but on a quiet street. My children have assured me its the best holiday we've ever had in Cornwall and I have to agree.
The other customers were a great friendly bunch and everyone got along famously in the bar at the end of the day. It's easy to see why the British bucket and spade holiday is having a revival with places like The Minerva. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Staying at the Minerva is as good as it gets. Nothing is too much trouble for John and Maxine, always a smile and perfect service. Its a old hotel but the couple keep on top of the maintenance with pride, we especially liked the chrome stand. Wonderful views from the front bedrooms and great tv's if the weather changes (Newquay seems to do its own thing weather wise). Breakfast is amazing. Cant wait to revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122jow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I recently returned from a break away with my 2 boys, we had a fantastic time. Nothing was ever too much for John and Maxine, breakfast was very scrummy and they even got hot chocolate in especially for the boys in the morning. Would definitely return again. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Views in some of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LkendallTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just got home from a short break in Newquay. My wife booked this hotel after checking reviews on Tripadvisor ! We were NOT disappointed !!! Upon arrival we met the owner John who was really helpful and even helped carry our luggage to our room. John gave us a choice of two rooms as we had our children with us. The rooms were clean and had new bathrooms. They also had lcd televisions and some had sea views. At breakfast we met Johns partner Maxine, who was as equally friendly and helpful. During a conversation with John I mentioned needing some fishing bait " No problem leave it with me ! "he said. The following day John whisked me across town to pick up my bait from the local fishing shop ! I dont think i've had that service at any 5 star hotel ! They also told us which were the best restaurants to dine at and again we weren't disappointed ! Overall the hotel has needed modernising which John has been doing and once finished will rival any top hotel in Newquay ! A great family run hotel which I would recommend to anyone travelling to Cornwall.... we will be returning in the summer !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea room if you dont have kids ! As the views are to die for !! The Towan beach is 200 yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing