We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner & I and two friends had the pleasure of staying at the Minerva Hotel for the August bank holiday weekend after someone cancelled luckily for us! John and Maxine were ever so welcoming and made us feel really at home. The location is just brilliant, we got a parking right outside the front door and actually we didnt have to drive anywhere because everything is so close. Towan beach is straight out the front door to the left, Newquay town centre just to the right and you're surrounded by not only the beautiful blue sea but lots of great bars, restaurants and shops! The hotel itself was great, comfy airy rooms, breakfast (cooked by John) was delicious and just such a lovely friendly vibe from staff and other people staying there! We will definitely be returning next year but this time for longer!!! Thanks again John and Maxine...from Nicola, Matt, Kristin & Darran

Room Tip: Our room 22 was great except at 5am the Seagulls were extremely noisy, but our friends who were in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    38
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
65
55
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Perfect location right in the town centre with fantastic views of (Towan?) beach from the entrance and front-facing bedrooms.

Excellent customer service of a quality that's very hard to find in a B&B. We were treated like old friends right from the first e-mail and phone call through to check out. John & Maxine were very helpful, so much so that our 6 year old daughter remarked "it's not like a normal B&B..!"

The family room was comfortable and clean, and John organised a last-minute swap to a room on a lower floor to make things easier for my 12 year old daughter who was on crutches having broken her toe 2 days before the holiday.

The breakfast was tasty and offered flexible options - Maxine was friendly and attentive throughout.

Thoroughly recommended - will definitely try to book again when next back in Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

My wife, 2 teenage daughters and I recently stayed at the Minerva for a week. John and Maxine are 2 lovely people who made us feel right at home. The location is absolutely perfect....beaches only a minutes walk away and plenty of good restaurants to choose from, all within easy walking distance. John cooks up a really good breakfast and the service from Maxine and Jonathan was great!GOOD VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Due to a unforeseen problem elsewhere, I needed somewhere for myself and my 2 children. I couldn't of asked for a better place. So very helpful and had a lovely evening and breakfast was good too. We were warned at time of booking that I would have to park elsewhere, so that didn't cause a problem at all. I just feel some people want 5 star service at a fraction of the price. Room was lovely and clean. Would highly recommend and will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A hotel with a view to die for ... Excellent room ... Friendly staff ....situation was exactly what I wanted right near the beach .. With a large grassed area in front of the Hotel ... Sunday entertainment in the front on the Hotel was provided by a brass band in the bandstand .. Excellent ... The evening bought us an open air viewing of a movie ... Shame the weather interred the viewing ...
The only problems I could see was parking .or rather the lack of it .... But this I have to say was a problem of the whole road ... As the Hotel owner said to me when I mentioned the parking problem .. When the Hotel was built the locals used horse and carts as a form of transport .. So enough said Ii. Had a thoroughly enjoyable time . Thank-you for your hospitality...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The owners of this hotel were very helpful however the hotel itself needs attention. Lack of parking spaces, Our room was small, had not tea making facilities, had an over powering smell of air freshener, bathroom was dirty with hairs in the toilet, on the floor & in the shower. Pulled back the quilt & found hairs in the bed! We kept the window open overnight as it was stuffy and was woken at 1am by a load of lads shouting & swearing as they past the hotel. Breakfast was ok ( i had toast & tea) however a number of guests orders were mixed up as only 1 person taking orders and serving.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant location,
The staff are kind and friendly and will do their best to find you a car parking space, the breakfast was lovely (however we only managed to get up early enough for it once) but the hotel is very well run and the owner is a great laugh

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Review2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing