We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We all arrived as 15 overly excited hens on a weekend hen party, from the moment we arrived we were all made so welcome by our two hosts Maxine and John. We were given our rooms straight away which were clean and comfortable. They have gone beyond the call of duty to make our weekend be the best john even organising a Chinese meal at one of the local restaurants and supplying karaoke back in his bar!! The breakfasts were excellent piping hot and a continual supply of coffee and toast! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone right in the centre of town and close to all shops bars and beaches! We all look forward to coming again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAB198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    36
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
63
54
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just have to share my experience with anyone planning on going to Newquay - grab your place at the Minerva!! The hosts Maxine and John are so hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble!! The room was quite small, but spotless and we were able to have tea making facilities, have use of the iron etc on request. Price included breakfast which really was lovely and great value for money. This B and B is central to all
amenities:- a stones throw away from the beach and was seriously great value for money. I would fully recommend anyone visiting Newquay to give this a go. I am sure you wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay at Minerva hotel, I have never stayed somewhere so welcomin. Wanted to stay longer , nothing was too much trouble he carried bags up to our rooms, the rooms are basic but spotless clean white bedding and adequate for all our needs, breakfast was brilliant eggs cooked to perfection and all items hot! There was a large party of us and John and Maxine were fantastic hosts, karaoke on request and even recommending places to go and eat, he even booked the table! The bar was open and drinks were reasonably priced, would go back with my famil. x x the location is fantastic walking distance to everywhere.Thanks again all xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

John and Maxine were absolutely brilliant.Our room was spotless, the location spot on and we had plenty of peace and quiet at bed time.if you want value for money with genuine hard working hosts, then look no further 10/10.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Jon and Maxine are the most welcoming host you could ever expect. We spent 3 nights in the minerva hotel when we went to a friends wedding. We had a family room with a sea view (which was stunning) at a price that you can easily afford on a soldiers wage. The hotel itself is situated in the centre of town close to everything you need and Jon still gave us a lift to the wedding himself (top gadgey). A truly friendly atmosphere was experienced the whole stay. If your not a complete bell end and expect you beans to be on a separate plate to your tomatoes then you'll be more than happy at the minerva hotel. We loved it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wow....! Been coming down to newquay for years and this accommodation is easily in our top ten and the location is number 1, breakfast is brilliant worth every penny in it's self. Kids loved the pool table and open land to the front were me and my son had a kick about. The view is second to none. The owner's john & maxine are down to earth and will help you with anything. Everything you need is here we're coming back.....!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 6 nights at this hotel, john & Maxine were 1st class an extremely friendly. We were welcomed with friendly smiles an they were even kind enough to upgrade us into a sea view room which was stunning. The breakfast was not to much an cooked fresh an very tasty, tea an toast was as much as you wanted. The rooms were clean, tidy an value for money. We would highly recommend this hotel for all of the above an also location for town an beach is just prefect. We will be back for more of the same in the summer. Thanks to John,Maxine & staff Cheers Stu & Michelle.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#15 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing