We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

John and Max were the perfect hosts. Nothing was a problem, not that there was any, during our stay. Even used his own car as a taxi.
View of bay, fantastic. Breakfast great. Weather hot, but John can't do anything about that (I think).
Denis. Pete. + Derby lot.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank DenisHiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a great room with my husband and our four year old son, we had a double room with an adjoining room for our son - it was so relaxing all having our own space, plenty of storage room for all our stuff - a great location, right by the beach and shops etc, and the hosts are so friendly and welcoming!!! We enjoyed a lovely full english each morning and just had a wonderful time, will be back every year!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank marfmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days visiting from Australia, the hotel was excellent, extremely clean, very well located close to the town centre and the beach and has a fantastic view. The owners John and Maxine are fantastic, they gave us great advice about the area and cook a great breakfast, I would definety recommend staying. Pete

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteJacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

A great value for money hotel in a fab location. Stunning views included!
We were greeted with a friendly face and some good advice on where to go. Throughout the stay John and Maxine made us feel really welcome without invading our space.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and Maxine was a friendly host every morning.
An extra bonus was being able to park the car free at the hotel.
Would definitely recommend this hotel (unless you are very picky or want 6 star accommodation!) and would book again.
Thanks Maxine and John for a lovely welcoming stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorrnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a stag party. Facilities are basic, but you really want somewhere to rest your head. Decor is a bit random but seemed clean enough.

Breakfast was fantastic although could do with extending the serving time which is currently 8-9. Worth getting up for though.

Pool table in the lobby was a bonus.

The owners made us very welcome and made our stay a very nice one. Thanks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank colinsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We all arrived as 15 overly excited hens on a weekend hen party, from the moment we arrived we were all made so welcome by our two hosts Maxine and John. We were given our rooms straight away which were clean and comfortable. They have gone beyond the call of duty to make our weekend be the best john even organising a Chinese meal at one of the local restaurants and supplying karaoke back in his bar!! The breakfasts were excellent piping hot and a continual supply of coffee and toast! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone right in the centre of town and close to all shops bars and beaches! We all look forward to coming again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAB198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just have to share my experience with anyone planning on going to Newquay - grab your place at the Minerva!! The hosts Maxine and John are so hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble!! The room was quite small, but spotless and we were able to have tea making facilities, have use of the iron etc on request. Price included breakfast which really was lovely and great value for money. This B and B is central to all
amenities:- a stones throw away from the beach and was seriously great value for money. I would fully recommend anyone visiting Newquay to give this a go. I am sure you wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing