We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked It, packed 4 it, loved it, missing it, returning 4 it”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked It, packed 4 it, loved it, missing it, returning 4 it”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

When booking accommodation , we all know it can be hit & miss, We've stopped in many hotels & won't be returning to most of them. The Minerva was different, from booking in - departure, we received service with a smile A small inviting reception area leading to a very clean & well kept bar & relaxing lounge area. Our rooms very clean and comfortable, the sea view is stunning, with its relaxing coastal echo. Breakfast was superb & plentiful & John & Max will do whatever it takes to make their home become 'your home' during your stay. If you have a problem they will be only too happy to sort it, I.s Any hotelier can provide a room, but the Minerva provides a service, a smile and satisfaction, See you soon x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    36
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
64
54
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Had a fantastic break in the Minerva. John and Max made us feel so very very welcome and we're booking to go back next year just before our wedding!! (Relaxation required so no better place on earth). Hotel is warm and welcoming as are the staff. Everything was clean, tidy and held a homely feel ( compared to the standardised routine of chain hotels). I would definatly recommend the Minerva to anyone looking for a holiday to remember!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyKate86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

great host, great hotel, great breakfasts, great time, will go again without doubt

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dez1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The room was filthy! the bathroom was disgusting! the lager was off! the breakfast was economy to say the least! the bed was filth! shower was cold!

overall awful i had to leave early and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Our family stayed in the Minerva Hotel, all 7 of us and the hotel manager John and all the staff were very helpful and very down to earth, very approachable about anything from helping with luggage, directions to various locations in Newquay, where to go with our teenage children and young 4 year old grandson, right down to asking how we like our eggs cooked, absolutely fantastic and everyone made us very comfortable, Our room had a brilliant view of the island and all around the towan bay, the bar inside the hotel was reasonably priced and if John didnt have a certain beverage he would make sure you had it the next evening.

Thanks John for a very enjoyable stay we will be coming back soon.........promise

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDEE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

fantastic stay at this hotel friendly management perfect location with the beach on your door step and town centre also too i look forward to returning next year already after a great holiday this year :) many thanks to john and max couldnt of felt more welcome !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taliadeeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Myself and my children have stayed a few times and booked in for this year too. It's not posh or fancy, it's homely and welcoming. The friendliest place we've stayed by far, hence why we continue going. It's always clean and tidy. John and the staff bend over backwards to be helpful. Children are very welcome here. There's a pool room with big screen and music, a friendly bar and lounge area, Breafast is always lovely and the location is inbeatable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2-3 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minerva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing