We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place in the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pennasville Holidays
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The owners and staff are always friendly and helpful, the villas are always clean on our arrival. If you want a relaxing holiday this is the ideal place, away from noisy crowds, but near enough to Newquay for the shops. We love that we can take the dogs when we go in late September. As soon as you leave the complex you are on a fabulous beach that is National Trust that has life guards. There are dog bins for being a responsible dog owner.
This is my favourite place in the world by some margin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. Its lovely to hear that Pennasville and Holywell Bay is so special to you. We hope you have many more lovely holidays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year sometimes 3 times a year and we have never once been disappointed with our accommodation or had a bad nights sleep!
The location is amazing with a very short walk to beach and staff are always so helpful and friendly.
Even when it's fully booked is so quiet and peaceful as it's family orientated.
We look forward to coming back with our son in 2014.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Mrscsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for you lovely review. Its lovely to hear that you always have such a lovely stay with us. We always love seeing our regulars customers year after year. We look forward to seeing you again in 2014. Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from our second stay at Pennasville. Cottages are not large or fancy, but perfectly acceptable and clean, when you're on holiday you only need a place to crash at night! Really close to a great surfing beach, two pubs and some shops. Lots of lovely walks nearby too. Fantastic place to go for stargazing as there is no light pollution. Really helpful and friendly owners who helped on both occasions when my son was unwell. Definitely service with a smile. We'll be back...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for you lovely review. Its lovely to hear that you all had such a lovely stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The location cannot be faulted,almost on the beach and a pub next door and another a short walk away.The cottages however were a little dissapointing and though they give a floor plan on their website it doesnt give a true picture of how small they are, and the breeze blocks were a little prison like,we were in a 3 bed while my sister was opposite in a 2 bed and they were both the same size downstairs,so the more people in your party the more on top of each other you are.Its well equipped dishwasher microwave etc but is in need of more plug points only one free one in the kitchen there was also a hook rack behind the microwave which was next to useless.Though mostly clean and Im not usually a picky person we found 2 huge cobweb at eye level that looked like they had been there for ages.The bathroom had no hooks at all though it had a towel rail so all clothes towel etc had to be perfectly balanced on it or the other option was the floor!!! The owner was very pleasant but a follow up call would have been nice as the reception was open for 45 mins.The fact that we had to put on our own bedding wasnt an issue personally nor the fact you couldnt get a signal as you are on holiday who needs mobile phones when you are in such a wonderful setting.PS there is a pay phone a short distance away had to remember how to use them.

Room Tip: Try to choose a cottage with a view we booked a 3 bed quite early...no view- my sister booked a 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We were sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us.
You are correct, the 3 bedrooms cottages are exactly the same size as the 2 bedroom cottages downstairs with the additional bedroom upstairs. This is reflected in the small price difference between the 2 and 3 bedrooms.
The 4 bedroom cottages are a lot bigger with an extra shower room and downstairs toilet, these are best suited to 2 families sharing. The 3 bedrooms are better suited to families with 3 or 4 children as there is only one bathroom. We are sorry if you found this mis leading when you booked online.
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it and we will look at the other points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family & I were delighted With our 4 bedroom house, although situated next to the games room and children's play park we never had any noise issues.
Think we had one of he larger self contained gardens which again was great. The accommodation was a typical holiday let with a mix of boh modern and dated fittings, the place was absolutely spotless when we arrived which was an excellent start. Any concerns over coin meter electricity were unfounded as we only spent about five pounds over the week.
Couple of strange rules included a request not too hang towels over balcony as this is unsightly - although the accommodation was comfortable we are not exactly talking 5 star here and as already commented on in earlier reviews, the houses do have a somewhat dated appearance. Couldn't understand why we were provided with passes for electric security gates when here are other gates that you can simply drive or walk through! Never met the owners and only contact was when I telephoned to pay balance and to confirm arrival instructions. Both of which I was told were sent in emails which I never received and was advised 'would be in my spam folder' - as I received original booking confirmation I'm not sure if subsequent emails actually sent. However when I did speak to the owners they were very friendly and were not concerned that I was late in paying balance. The above were just small issues and we had a superb holiday. It was obvious the owners had taken notice of previous customer comments as the trees which obscured views of beach were long gone. After a day out it was great sitting in garden just relaxing and listening to the small burn, later we would all sit on balcony.
Superb location for access to the beach.
Would we return? Without a shadow of a doubt! Our 3 children, aged between 7 & 13 are already asking me to book next year - but for two weeks! Great location, accommodation comfortable and met all our requirements, a great base from where to explore Cornwall

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Many thanks for you lovely review. Its lovely to hear that you all had such a lovely stay with us. It's great to hear that it was clean for your arrival too, the 4 bedroom houses take a fair amount of time to clean on a saturday and our cleaners work hard to clean them all in a limited time. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Fantastic place to stay, stayed in various cottages and bungalows in holywell bay around 17 years ago and was pleased to see it is just the same wonderful place it has always been.
The cottages are more or less on the beach and very comfortable, the only downside is you cannot get a mobile signal in holywell bay but who's wants their mobile on holiday! There is wifi in the games room if desperately needed.
We had a wonderful time and were very sad to return home.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jadl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Many thanks for you lovely review. Its lovely to hear that you all had such a lovely stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was the second time we have been here and we had the best time. The cottages are clean and the beach is the most beautiful place you can imagine. We will be booking to return next year...... and the year after .............. and the year after !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennasville, Owner at Pennasville Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, It's great to hear you had such a lovely time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holywell Bay B & B
Holywell Bay B & B
#43 of 78 in Newquay
4 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Blue Room
The Blue Room
#33 of 78 in Newquay
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 78 in Newquay
437 reviews
3.1 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
2.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennasville Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennasville Holidays

Address: Holywell Bay, Newquay TR8 5PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Pennasville Holidays Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing