We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and very restful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendra Paul Cottages
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and very restful!”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I spent a lovely, restful week in Spider's Web cottage. Very, very quiet and just what the doctor ordered! The cottages are near to many delightful attractions, but far enough removed, that you can cut out the world. The cottage was lovely and we would certainly love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateA1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We were a group of 9 people including 4 children. We stayed in spider web and badgers sett cottages. Both are well furnished with large TVs and plenty of kitchen and other utilities. The people on farm are very friendly and showed our children their horses. It is conveniently located to explore major Cornwall attractions.

I will strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepakgarguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

After googling 'cottages near Newquay airport' we found and booked Wildflower Cottage as part of Hendra Paul Cottages. We stayed for four nights and had an absolutely lovely time and will definetly return. The cottage was warm, homely, extremely comfortable, spacious, quiet etc etc and the welcome was warm and friendly. Quite the best cottage we have ever stayed in and over the years have stayed in quite a variety. We flew from Manchester to Newquay (cheap and easy) then hired a car with Hertz (cheap and easy) and had fun going to Padstow, hiring bikes on camel trail, walking on coastal paths viewing stunning scenery and relaxing on a nearbu beach. Returned home feeling refreshed and relaxed. Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Just returned from a short break (4 nights) in Wildflower Cottage on Hendra Paul Farm. Wildflower Cottage is cosy and comfortable with the highlight being the wonderful Jacquzzi bath, I spent so much time in there I'm still shrivelled like a prune!!! Both my husband and I were so chilled out at the end of our break, it was all we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My partner and I stayed in the cosy Wildflower cottage. We loved the atmosphere, decor and hospitality from the owners. We are sure to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 227132Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed at the Hendra Paul Cottages from Friday 31st December 2010 until Monday 3rd January 2011.

We were a large group of couples - 6 boys and 6 girls aged between 21 and 27. My friend who also travelled with us found the cottages on Google by simply seaching for 'cottages in Newquay, Cornwall.' The Henrda Paul Cottages were one of the first on the list and have an excellent website - very informative.

We wanted somewhere where we could celebrate the New Year as a large group in one place. This is something you can't always do in a hotel so these cottages were perfect.

The booking process was very simple. I telephoned the cottages to reserve the dates then printed out the boking forms and sent them with a cheque. We stayed at the Barn Owl Cottage and the Spider's Web Cottage.

With the help of a Sat. Nav. th e cottages are easy to find and the drive down to Newquay was beautiful. When we arrived the farm owners were easy to find at the farm house and had even provided us with a mobile number to contact them if needed.

We were shown straight to the cottages (right opposite each other) and allowed to leave our car outside to un-load our luggage. The owners explained how to use the electricity metre and where the recycling bins were then left us alone to relax and settle in.

8 of us were staying in the Barn Owl cottage. There is a double room and twin room upstairs, and the same downstairs. Rooms were very comfortable with soft and clean bed linen. Our only complaint was that the twin room downstairs had one small bed and one normal single bed.

The Barn Owl cottage was perfect. The kitchen is very modern with all modern appliances. There was a dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, range cooker and guger fridge/freezer. As there were 12 of us this kitchen was fantastic as we cooked food for 12 each night. There was a huge range of kitchen equipment! We had everything we could ever need - casserole dishes, tea-towels, glasses,plates,saucepans... everything! There were even 4/5 dishwasher tablets for us to use.

The dining room area was very spacious and comfortable. There is a huge 10-seater dining table and a two-seater setee. There is a lovely antuque dresser and lots of cushions.

I liked the living area of the Barn Owl because it was upstairs. It had a little balcony for those of us who smoked, and had plenty of space for the 12 of us. There are two large three-seater leather setees and a single armchair. We were also able to bring chairs up form downstairs and the floor was also very comfortable. There is a bookcase filled with a wide selection of books, games, dvds and other items. The flat-screen TV is large and has an excellent picture. There is freeview television. We had lots of fun playing on the Wii and Playstation during our stay.

There are two bathrooms downstairs; one has a bath, toilet and sink, the other a shower, toilet and sink. You can pay £3.00 each to hire towels but we just took our own.

All bedrooms have cupboards, drawers and wardrobes for your clothes.

The house was very warm and the heating was provided free of charge as it was winter. It was very cosy, especially as it was about -1 outside!

The Spider's Web cottage was also superb. I had all the amenities that the Barn Owl did, along with lots of charm and cottage-style antique furniture. There was a large kitchen and living area and three bedrooms. The smallest bedroom is only suitable for young children as the beds are very small.

The welcome-pack was very informative and told us everything we wanted to know. Hedra-Paul is only about 3 miles from Newuay town centre, and there were taxi numbers inside the welcome-pack. We had a minibus on New Year's Eve. It was only £2.50 each to go into town and £5 each home at 2.30am. This is very cheap considering the date!

On check-out day we were told the night before that there was no rush to leave the cottages. We left at approximately 12 noon. The owners came to check our cottage but this was simply a quick look at the living room - no spot-checks or interrogation! We were told we left the place spotless and could stay any time.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hendra Paul Cottages! I can imagine they are beautiful in summer as there are plenty of green spaces around. A fantastic trip!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSR1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buscot
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I have stayed at Hendra Paul farm on many occasions since the age of 12, with my parents and younger brother, apparently we were the first family to stay on the farm when Julia and William first started with a caravan in the field. My family are the Bell family that appear in the history of the farm, located in all the cottages.

I have returned many times and stayed in all the cottages apart from the Barn, but on every occasion they have been clean tidy and beautifully furnished.

My partner and I decided we needed a short break leading up to christmas and booked the Wildflower cottage, it was just the break we needed, and the cottage was warm and inviting. The view from the window was a picture

Despite the snow we made it to Cornwall, but had to stay an extra day, due to the snow, Julia and William were really helpful and offered the cottage for an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHBuscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hendrapaul, Owner at Hendra Paul Cottages, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
We were happy to help in any way we could! It was good to see you, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewinnick Lodge
Lewinnick Lodge
#11 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendra Paul Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendra Paul Cottages

Property: Hendra Paul Cottages
Address: Newquay TR8 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendra Paul Cottages are set in 54 acres of its own private land, it used to be a working farm 20 years ago but now only has horses in the fields. Guests are welcome to walk down to our private stream and around the farm freely. We pride ourselves on our quality cottages and gardens, peaceful and relaxing. We are only 5 minutes from the beaches and Newquay and only 10 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendra Paul Cottages Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing