We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Godolphin Arms Hotel
Ranked #60 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a four night coach tour and stayed at the Godolphin.
What can I say except the whole experience was fantastic.
My room, number 25, was compact. However, the big surprise was the bathroom which contained a king sized bath tub and shower.
The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV on which all channels could be obtained.
The bedding and towels were immaculate and the room was properly serviced every day.
Breakfast was of an excellent quality and poached or scrambled eggs were made to order. Wholemeal toast if requested was quickly available.
Evening meals; choice of three starters, three mains and sumptuous puddings, followed by tea or coffee were of an excellent standard. All food was fresh, locally sourced and cooked to perfection. I was very surprised the day I chose chicken and had a choice of either leg or breast. Yes, they cook whole chickens and do not serve the catering packs of only legs.
To ensure quality and availability they have a system where you select your main at breakfast. Bravo full marks.
The wait staff were fantastic as were the staff in their extremely welcoming bar. The drink prices were correct and they even had Guinness on tap. To try though is the on tap pear cider which comes from a cider farm only a few miles away. It's absolutely fantastic.
High speed Wifi is available in all the public areas and in the bar garden.
The only problem is that they do not have a lift, however, one of the men will take your suitcase to your room if you cannot manage it yourself.
For getting into Newquay there is a regular bus service just down the road or a taxi will only charge £4-£5. To get to Truro or the Eden project the bus stop is just across the road by the pedestrian crossing. Time tables are clearly posted and busses are on time.
I would highly recommend the Godolphin and will most certainly return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Norah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and liked everything about us. Hopefully see you again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    20
    19
    21
See reviews for
25
54
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Godolophin is for us our favourite hotel/restaurant to visit in Cornwall . Credit for this must be afforded to Robin and Angela as since they took over the management they have transformed the atmosphere into a very warm, welcoming and friendly place to visit with staff who are all genuinely willing to help. As locals we missed our frequent visits during the refurbishments so was thrilled when the doors opened again in time for Easter. The renovations are simply stunning...and it was wonderful to see the staff ,many who feel like old friends, again. We have enjoyed a variety of delicious food especially the beer-battered fish and chips followed by Emma's chocolate brownie. However the enormous volume of people visiting is noticeable and I would imagine initially challenging for the staff who are adjusting to new systems plus all the additional changes. We have read with dismay some of the negatve reviews about waiting times etc. Please give the staff a chance and instead of complaining be grateful that you can take time sit back and enjoy the atmosphere and magnificent views...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajsamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Got this last minute, was good price, pulled up and was disappointed, our room wasn't like the pictures at all, breakfast was ok, nice staff, we were put in a room next to lots young drunks, even though we had a baby, woken up at early hours not impressed, could hear every noise from next door, wouldn't stay here again, felt like a bedsit on a loud council estate

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Holliefrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We were sorry to learn you didn't enjoy your stay last weekend. All of our rooms are furnished to the same standard as pictures online. We also as requested put a travel cot in your hotel room.We can only apologise for any noise you may of heard from the room next door which was two ladies. We have never been described as a 'bedsit' or 'on a council estate' as we are situated on the main road in Newquay along with other guest houses and a college.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a lovely break at the Godolphin, was a bit anxious after reading the reviews on here before we went...shouldn't have worried. The Hotel is really nice, all the staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. We had tea and coffee on arrival in the lounge bar which was spotlessly clean. We had room 20 which was a twin, once again everything was spotlessly clean (well done to Sue and her staff). Beds were comfortable with nice white bedding and throws and cushions. For our meal the first evening we had beef with all the usual trimmings, followed by a choice of desserts or chesse & cracker's. Breakfast was very good a choice of cereal or fruit juice, full english followed by toast and tea or coffee. The waitress would also give you extra toast and tea if you asked. My hubby used to have scrambled egg or beans on toast with bacon and sausage. All in all the breakfast was excellent and very filling!! As was the evening meal.I had garlic mushrooms for my starter one evening followed by chicken which was really nice. Also had gammon and pineapple one evening. The food was very tasty. There was entertainment on the Tuesday evening which consisted of Bingo, quiz and a chap playing music. Thurs was a local singer who was excellent and had everyone dancing. I read a review on here that the locals don't talk to you...completely wrong, they were dancing and joining in with us. Even in the bar which was full of locals. Would definately stay here again. Thanks once again for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Room 20 or 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wongieUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks you for your great review. We are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Never have I stayed in such a prison like hotel not disimilar to a concentration camp. On arrival we were told where we were going to sit for our eveing meal - not allowed to chose and we ended up with total strangers. Other hotels do not tell you where you should sit and that is your place for the rest of your holiday like it or not. We had to fill our cards for the remainder of the holiday stating what we wanted to eat for eveing meal. The food was tasteless and very small portions. Breakfast was supposed to be a full english - one bacon, one sausage one egg and half a slice of fried bread. One day you were given beans one day one tinned tomato - no choice. the dining area was operated by a locked door only those who ventured in on time got served. If you were late you were locked out. Again you could have cereal or juice not both as in most hotels. I am gald there was a chinese restaurant over the road and a wetherspoons in the town.

On arrival the bedrooms were cold and the outdated heaters took a lot of time to heat up. Contravening health and safety the landing lights and coridor lights were turned off and were dark. The carpets in places on the stairs were worn.

However the linen on the beds were fresh and so were the towels. but not much sleep as you could hear other guests moving around during the night.

I was glad so glad to go home.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank missgoody2shoes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Firstly thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. As I have mentioned on other review replies should you of brought to the Managements attention we would of addressed your issues. We pride our hotel on our service, cleanliness and food quality. On arrival at the hotel you were welcomed and offered a cup of tea or coffee in our lounge and advised Evening Meal is at 6.30pm. On your arrival for Evening Meal you are asked to sit on tables with other guests on your coach, should you of requested a table for 2 or 4 this would of been offered. We have a menu card on the tables for guests completion each morning for their choice of main course for their Evening Meal it doesn't have to be filled in on a Monday night. We have always been complimented on our food standards and quality of it. Breakfast is a full English served with a starter and toast. Our dining room door is only locked when the dining room is shut, during service the door is unlocked at all times. All our rooms have heating for our guests to use as and when they require. All emergency lights are on constantly for health and safety reasons and the landing lights are put on as and when guests go upstairs.

Glad to read you were pleased with the bedlinen and towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for a Stag party for a weekend stay . Was surprised by the high level of the Hotel ( I expected it to be ready for stag do's wrecking the place) but the hotel was well furnished , clean and the staff were very friendly indeed. Would recommend this for groups or couples wishing to stay in Newquay . The Hotel is local to the town centre but not too close to be right in the middle of it all so is ideal . I look forward to coming again to the hotel !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0nyb144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here last week. A bit disappointed at the size of the room but it was fine once we put our things away. The towels were white and fluffy, good quality bed linen. Everywhere was clean, all the staff were friendly and there was plenty to choose from on the menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godolphin88, Front Office Manager at Godolphin Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#21 of 38 in Newquay
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godolphin Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godolphin Arms Hotel

Property: Godolphin Arms Hotel
Address: Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Godolphin Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Godolphin Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godolphin Arms Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing