We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, will definitely be returning next year.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newquay Reef Surf Lodge
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, will definitely be returning next year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

For £20 a night we were expecting your bog standard roof over your head jobby, what we found was the perfect accommodation for a group of girls for the weekend, we stayed in a room of 4 and a room of 2, the room of 4 had an en suite with a very spacious shower, and the mirrors were very handy in both rooms when it came to getting ready for the evening. The communal area was fantastic, and we made full use of it on the first night whilst watching TV and was great to have a drink in on the Saturday before heading out!
The lady who I'm assuming was the owner (although I didn't catch her name sorry!) was more than welcoming and beyond helpful! On the journey there we blew a tyre, and on the Saturday she helped me find a garage that would be open, even going as far as to walk with me! Even though I'm sure she had things more important to do, she was also very helpful with any questions we had.

Overall a great stay, this was my first trip to Newquay although some of the group had been before, however we will definitely be returning, and we will definitely be using this lodge again, fantastic thankyou so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraDee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed for a weekend for a surf trip. Staff are so friendly and helpful, rooms are nice and more than affordable. Perfect location with the city centre and Tolcarne beach pretty much at the doorstep. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElReedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobowen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Myself and a group of 15 other students aged between 17-18 stayed for a week last summer, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves whilst we were there. So much so, we are now booking again for this year.

The accommodation is perfect for young people, particularly a group of friends as although it is basic, it is excellent value for money and you have all the facilities you could possibly need. There is a communal kitchen, which saved us a lot of money as we could cook instead of having to eat out all of the time. There’s also a room to chill out in, with sofa’s and a telly, and also a pool table. Right around the corner is an Asda, which we found very handy for getting supplies on the cheap.

The location is very central, meaning it’s just a short walk to reach the shops, restaurants, beach and nightlife. There is plenty of things to do in Newquay for all ages. Although half of our group were under 18, we were pleasantly surprised as to what was on offer in the evenings for this age group. For those over 18, Newquay has a vibrant night life. Reps visited the lodge to inform us of what was available to do during our stay, so we found our week packed with a variety of things.

If you are looking for a fun, cheap and memorable holiday Newquay is the perfect place to visit. We loved the lodge, it’s clean and has friendly and helpful staff, perfect for a student holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Seven of us booked into the Newquay reef surf lodge for the first time and our first new years eve away.
Really nice ensuite rooms and comfy beds. We brought our own drinks in and were able to party in the lounge all in our fancy dress until we went out on the town.
This lodge is wicked. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap town centre location. Thanks to the staff :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becks22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We’re a university surf club from Huddersfield and we always have at least one annual trip to Newquay, we’ve always stayed at the Reef Surf Lodge, normally for the weekend but we have also stayed for the week in the past. I’ve been the last two years and this is the nicest hostel I’ve been too.

The hostel has a variety of rooms from 5 bed rooms right down to 2 beds, a lot of the rooms have en-suites but even if you don’t have an en-suite in your room it doesn’t really matter as there’s toilets and showers on each floor. On the ground floor there is a big lounge with one half having a pool table in and the other half sofas and a TV, we found it great for all meeting up, drinking and playing games in before we went out!

There’s also a kitchen that is more than big enough and got everything to prepare a meal for a large group. And also there’s a drying room to bring all your wetsuits in after a days surf to dry them a bit before putting them on the next morning (which is always nice so you’re not having to put a cold wet wetsuit back on in winter!) There is plenty of parking at the back of the lodge as well which is rare for a hostel in the centre of Newquay.

The location is fantastic! It is less than a minute away from a supermarket and then another few minutes and you’re in town with the shops, pubs, and clubs and behind them you have some great beaches. It’s not even that far from the Fistral beach which all 31 of us walked to in about 15 minutes!!

There’s no curfews, so we could come and go as we liked, they give you a code for the front door so that the hostel is still safe and secure.

The whole hostel was pretty spotless! All the bedrooms, showers, toilets and Lounge and Kitchen were clean. The staff were really friendly and couldn’t be more helpful, the first night we arrived at the hostel around 1:30 in the morning after a very long drive and the they greeted us with a smile and made it as easy as possible to get everyone in and sorted into their rooms.

The hostel is great value for money; I have paid a lot more for rooms that have been nowhere near as nice as this hostel!

This is a great place for everyone from uni groups, stag/hen parties to smaller groups of friends or families. It is central in Newquay and close to all the surf, shops and Nightlife!! Perfect for our surf club!

Can’t wait to come back next year once again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

A number of us girls stayed for the weekend for our friends hen night, we have stayed in a few surf lodges in Newquay before, this was one of the nicest. It was clean, with comfortable bunk beds and en suite rooms. It is also extremely close to the train station, town and the beaches so good for getting around. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay and we would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_G_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I went to Newquay for a holiday with some friends. First impressions of the hotel were not good at all. There was litter on the front part of the building (kebab wrappers) etc. I thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt and went on inside with a fresh mind only to find that the woman was extremely rude. (Short tempered/ snappy). We were also waiting a good 45 mins in the lounge area before going to our rooms because they weren't clean in time for us (4pm in the afternoon)!!
The owners then came and gave everybody a lecture and demanded a deposit which we were told we would get back. (out of the large group that went, none of us actually did) We were all by this time tired, frustrated and hungry as we had already been travelling for around 6 hours. When we were finally shown to our room it absolutely stank of sweat and there was lipstick smeared all over the walls.
Throughout the holiday the owners were very rude (both man and woman), and I found if very difficult staying in a place that I did not feel welcome. I am a reasonable person and expected a bit more from these people. It's a real shame because the night life and area was really lovely!! :) it was just the hotel that ruined it for me.
If you are thinking about staying here then I'd seriously reconsider your options.. Newquay itself is fantastic and I recommend it to everybody!! :)
Also - you are not allowed food or drinks in your room, and you are limited to the level of noise that you are allowed to make. (No playing music etc) rather silly.
I'm not suggesting that every person would dislike this hotel although be prepared for an unclean, claustrophobic room, and be prepared to be treated like a primary school child.
On that note I shall leave you to make your own decision, I'm just stating my opinion. I come from a normal working class background and don't expect anything special but this was below average.
Although if you're going to Newquay have an awesome time :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisePl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Lodge
Seascape Lodge
#36 of 74 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#49 of 74 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kandi Lodge
Kandi Lodge
#16 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Griffin
The Griffin
#29 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
AbreakAway
AbreakAway
#37 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newquay Reef Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newquay Reef Surf Lodge

Property: Newquay Reef Surf Lodge
Address: 5-7 Springfield Road, Newquay TR7 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Newquay Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Newquay Reef Surf Lodge Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing