We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dewolf, in Desheep Clothing (The Ryanair of Hostelries)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dewolf Guest House

Dewolf Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dewolf Guest House
Ranked #99 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dewolf, in Desheep Clothing (The Ryanair of Hostelries)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

This guesthouse is located upon Henver road which is the main thoroughfare towards newquay.
If you have come with transport this is ideally situated to be off and exploring the beautiful cornish coast. If you are staying in the house, everything is perfectly adequate and as you would expect and the owners are very attentive.

However, If you are new to the area and thinking of staying a bit longer be very aware that this guesthouse follows the Ryanair model of business - there are lots of additional 'extra' costs which increased the price of stay. This should be factored into any decision as there maybe somewhere else without the additional costs which on the surface is a little bit extra, but works out better value.

The sleep quality I have rated poor for reasons of plastic waterproof sheets on a matress that gives the impression of a poor quality old people's home. Similarly, the cold and damp also affect your sleep and waking up can be miserable as the heaters provided are of poor quality. Not everywhere is cornwall is damp and cold.

Adios

Room Tip: Choose a room inside the house and I'm sure your stay will be perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elAlbano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M D, Owner at Dewolf Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Sorry about the long delay in answering your comments but you did give a false identity making out that you were the person in the Chalet next to yours - but now I know who you really are I can reply.
You claim that we act like the Rayanair of hostelries but you neglected to mention that you had booked in as a single person and then you expected that two people could stay for no extra charge.

You had telephoned several times to book a room for the cheapest possible price - in this case it was £15 per night plus electric via pound coin meter instead of £30 per night including electric - all our booking conditions were explained to you prior to booking and you even told us that you had been on our web site to look at the room.

We gave you ample opportunity to decide if this chalet was right for you - but you still insisted that you wanted to book.

The heaters you mentioned are adequate for the size of Chalet and I'm sure if you had turned them up fully this would have been more than efficient to heat the room. There are extra blankets and duvets provided should you wish to use them and you also had a heated towel rail in the bathroom and there was a Dehumidifyer in the chalet . This also would have sorted out the cold and damp you mentioned and it also helps if you open a window whilst showering.
We try to make things easier for the guests by having the instructions on how to use the various appliances in the room and also contact details in case anything stops working
We had an EPC Report done on the Chalets and they have both come out as average for Cornwall
I am sorry that in this case you thought that £15 instead of the usual £30 was too much money and that paying for the extra guest came as a surprise but any airline will charge extra for more people

We don't do buy one get one free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#45 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#52 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
4.0 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dewolf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewolf Guest House

Property: Dewolf Guest House
Address: 100 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dewolf Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Dewolf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewolf Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing